Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brandy's Top 17 Panthers

I think that was the footage they showed? 31-8 down, came back to win 32-31 with a kick from the sideline to seal it. Only saw it during the week and can’t remember who kicked the winning conversation. Early onset dementia must be kicking in.

Is that our biggest come from behind win? I remember the recent game against the Warriors a couple of seasons ago when we were getting flogged at half time and turned it around, I seem to recall a home against the Cowboys where they were out of sight but somehow we ending up winning.

That was Chris Hicks who kicked the winning goal! Had a perfect record that day. What was amusing was that the week before, he was having an absolute shocker. Girdler wasn’t playing due to Origin duties.

It might be our biggest win, coming from behind. From memory, the Warriors game you’re referring to was when we were down 28-6 so that’s 22 points compared to the 23 against the Tigers. Can’t think of any other similar wins off the top of my head

That was Chris Hicks who kicked the winning goal! Had a perfect record that day. What was amusing was that the week before, he was having an absolute shocker. Girdler wasn’t playing due to Origin duties.

It might be our biggest win, coming from behind. From memory, the Warriors game you’re referring to was when we were down 28-6 so that’s 22 points compared to the 23 against the Tigers. Can’t think of any other similar wins off the top of my head

It is our biggest win coming from behind, but its not our biggest comeback.

26 Points: Penrith Panthers came from 32–6 down after 53 minutes to draw 32–32 against the New Zealand Warriors on 1 August 2009 at CUA Stadium.

franklin2323

Na its fresh in my mind from last night. Roycey easily deserved it over everyone but also Fitler and our Fullback were better than Clyde IMO. Brandy could of got it over CLyde and if MG didnt get sat down for 10 he easily had more impact than Clyde. Brad Izzard played a great game off the bench.

The best Canberra player on the field that game was the winger who scored twice, not just because of his tries but he was dangerous constantly that game.

FIttlers defence of Big Mal is underrated for that game, he shut him down by getting in his facr and had that amazing cover tackle on the big guy.

Fox had the replay on. Still no clock though always bugged me as a 9 year old having no idea how long was left when we scored..

Kilkenny

Maybe watch the 1972 home game against the reining premiers Easts we lost 72 to something small,

I remember the game against Manly in the early 70’s where they beat us 70-7 which remains our biggest ever loss.

The Raiders put 74 points on us in 2008 but that was during an era of the four point tries and remains the most points we have ever conceded. Thankfully I have no recollection of this game although I do remember the Manly game as I was present. I was 13 at the time.

soc123_au

I remember the game against Manly in the early 70’s where they beat us 70-7 which remains our biggest ever loss.

The Raiders put 74 points on us in 2008 but that was during an era of the four point tries and remains the most points we have ever conceded. Thankfully I have no recollection of this game although I do remember the Manly game as I was present. I was 13 at the time.
Sadly I remember the Raiders game. Campesie looked like a God & that game made him a fortune, as thats what started his run of form that led to the huge deal he got.

The part that amuses me about that game was apparently the QLD selectors were there to watch Maurice Blair as he was a chance for Origin that year. Obviously he never got his Maroon jersey.

Kilkenny

Sadly I remember the Raiders game. Campesie looked like a God & that game made him a fortune, as thats what started his run of form that led to the huge deal he got.

The part that amuses me about that game was apparently the QLD selectors were there to watch Maurice Blair as he was a chance for Origin that year. Obviously he never got his Maroon jersey.

I liked Maurice Blair as a player. He wasn’t quite top class but overall had a pretty decent career in the NRL and ESL.

panther.mike

Well how about that "Forby' So when the memories go whats left? For fifty years I have convincing myself it was the chooks.

forby

Panther memories are what keep me going sometimes. My first one is the 1968 game against Balmain where Laurie Fagan kicked a field goal to win it 18-17, although for nearly fifty years I thought it was a draw.
It is easy to mix them up when you have a lot of them!

panther.mike

forby...do you remember ron clothier. geary ie daulagiri...zac ole.....nik. john moran bull ryan on the wing they wereeeee the days, if we couldn,t win the game then lets win the fight.

forby

Zac Olejarnik was my favourite and I had number 6 on my first panther jersey (which I still have somewhere). Dollar Geary was one of the toughest no nonsense props ever. John Ryan had the biggest forearms I have ever seen on a footballer. It was a different game back then, and some of the ‘highlights’ were really quite violent.

Kilkenny

Zac Olejarnik was my favourite and I had number 6 on my first panther jersey (which I still have somewhere). Dollar Geary was one of the toughest no nonsense props ever. John Ryan had the biggest forearms I have ever seen on a footballer. It was a different game back then, and some of the ‘highlights’ were really quite violent.

Zac was a fine player, a real live wire in an era where the game was entirely different.

Geary was not only a fine player, but a fine person, career Policeman. Many footy players back in his era were garbo’s long before automation which not allows machine to pick up our bins.

Na its fresh in my mind from last night. Roycey easily deserved it over everyone but also Fitler and our Fullback were better than Clyde IMO. Brandy could of got it over CLyde and if MG didnt get sat down for 10 he easily had more impact than Clyde. Brad Izzard played a great game off the bench.

The best Canberra player on the field that game was the winger who scored twice, not just because of his tries but he was dangerous constantly that game.

FIttlers defence of Big Mal is underrated for that game, he shut him down by getting in his facr and had that amazing cover tackle on the big guy.

Fittlers tackle on a runaway Meninga.