Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

BREAKING NEWS: Major NRL Star Re-Signs with club

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

Luke Covell, a father figure for some, a brother for others and a driving force for many people in their day to day life has re-signed with his native NRL Club the Cronulla Sharks.

After being originally linked to Canberra earlier in the year, Covell had intereste expressed in him from 9 NRL Clubs, mainly being Penrith, Wests Tigers, Gold Coast and New Zealand Warriors. However this popular stalward and champion utility back, has stayed faithfull to the club who saved him 2 years ago, and now he calls home.

COVELL A SHARK THROUGH TO 2008

Winger Luke Covell has signed a new two year deal which will see him remain at the Sharks at least until the end of the 2008 season.
The Sharks goal-kicker who has been outstanding in 2006 with a success rate of 76 per cent, Covell has also been in tremendous form on the wing for the Sharks, with a feature of his play being his no-nonsense defense and his ability read a game and defuse dangerous situations on his own goal line.

In a career which included a stint at the Wests Tigers before he joined the Sharks, Covell has accumulated 452 points in 58 NRL games. He has scored 310 points in 36 first grade games for the Sharks, coming from 14 tries and 127 goals.
Covell has played all of the Sharks 14 games in the top grade so far this season.
Sharks CEO Greg Pierce announced the signing of Covell this afternoon (Wednesday).
“Luke has been very good for us on the wing and his goal kicking is an obviously another string to his bow,” Pierce said. “We are more than happy he has agreed to stay at the Sharks for a further two years.”
The Sharks are also moving quickly in an attempt to secure a number of off-contract players before the June 30 anti-tampering deadline and will then enter the player market in a bid to bolster their ranks for 2007 and beyond.

http://www.sharks.com.au/index.php?id=48&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=281&tx_ttnews[backPid]=2&cHash=03a9ba05a7
__________________________________________________________-

What a great day for rugby league. Im sick of seeing these big name superstars being poached by rival nrl clubs.

gregstar

thank f*cking christ!!!!!!

i thought with colin worst leaving, there was an outside chance we'd sign this downie.

gregstar said:
thank f*cking christ!!!!!!

i thought with colin worst leaving, there was an outside chance we'd sign this downie.

Scott Minto is on the open market...you are not out of the woods yet

What a move by both parties involved. Should have ousted Growth for the Origin wing spot with his sharks sitting second.

A pivotal move which will see the flag return to the Shire area.

Well done, "Covvey"

gregstar

The Immortal Moron said:
understandable level of intelligence considering your infatuation with a genius
ball bag slapping on butt cheek said:
A pivotal move which will see the flag return to the Shire area.
return? when was it there last? a fly over on the way to canberra or melbourne?

Growth? :lol:

- Sharks are second? Third mate, read the ladder. No such thing as equal - you aren't equal 8th after round 26 is you fall short of actual 8th by F/A remember...
- Covell is not an Origin standard player, there are at least 8 or 9 wingers in front of him
- Covell has declared he is an NZ player if selected to rep.
- You're a wanker.

BWNB

What a week , Covel and Thommo signing new contracts now we can get our minds back on winning the premiership

gregstar

groin sniffer said:
Rich coming from StChoke Illawarra. All your jnrs are from the gong.
hence the name st george illawarra.
please catch up to cretin level, luke's lonely.

Timmah said:
Growth? :lol:

- Sharks are second? Third mate, read the ladder. No such thing as equal - you aren't equal 8th after round 26 is you fall short of actual 8th by F/A remember...
- Covell is not an Origin standard player, there are at least 8 or 9 wingers in front of him
- Covell has declared he is an NZ player if selected to rep.
- You're a wanker.

=Equal second you pedantic little shunt.
=You won't rest until the whole world thinks Hazem is the best winger.
=NZ eh, like Carroll, Thorn, Lam who have all played origin.
=Cap cheating dole bludger

gregstar

smell mefinga said:
Great move by the Sharks and good to see Covell keep loyal when the big bickies were elsewhere.
i presume the sharks are paying him in biscuits

The Immortal Luke Covell said:
=Equal second you pedantic little shunt.
=You won't rest until the whole world thinks Hazem is the best winger.
=NZ eh, like Carroll, Thorn, Lam who have all played origin.
=Cap cheating dole bludger

- Equal second doesn't mean sh*t. Equal fourth won't get you a home semi if you have poorer F/A, and equal eighth won't get you a top eight spot either. YOU ARE THIRD.
- It's quite obvious you've said that to deflect attention away from the fact you think Covell is such. I don't think El Masri is the best, but he certainly rates higher than this nuffy.
- Covell will not play Origin, ever.
- The Bulldogs did it - how does that make me a cap cheat? Dole bludger? :lol: Last resorts huh?