Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brian Smith Leaves Roosters

hewi

Agree with Slippery Morris. The Dragons of this season are similar to what they were when Smith took over in 1991, a rabble. The biggest problem i see is Craig Young, he was sacked to make way for Smith, i suspect there is no love lost between them.

I would love him back at the Dragons. A brilliant coach. Ask Hindmarsh who has been coached by him and he will tell you. He would be ideal for the Dragons as they are the type of playing group that would excel under him. In other words no superstars who think they know it all to cause friction at the club like he probably had at the Chooks with Anasta, Pearce etc.

I broke that story out ages ago as I heard Politis wanted him gone and what he wants he gets. Smithy wanted Perrett and Anasta to stay and Politis wanted them gone. From there it was downhill.

Smithy would still be the Dragons coach and they would have won some more premierships but he left cause there were rumours Saints were merging with the Chooks and that Gould was taking over. He was not sacked from Saints he left cause he felt unwanted. Got Saints to 2 Grand Finals in his first 2 years, can't be that bad. They were great years appart from the Grand Final. Saints were playing well and a joy to watch. NOt like know. They are terrible to watch. Thanks Pricey....

Buy Doust a beer and sit down and have a quiet word with him - remember to speak only words of one syllable and of course speak slowly. Who knows he might listen to you.

Agree with Slippery Morris. The Dragons of this season are similar to what they were when Smith took over in 1991, a rabble. The biggest problem i see is Craig Young, he was sacked to make way for Smith, i suspect there is no love lost between them.

The current Roosters side is a rabble, after 3 years of Smithy......

64 Dragon

Buy Doust a beer and sit down and have a quiet word with him - remember sto speak only words of one syllable and of course speak slowly. Who knows he mught listen to you.

If you write to him, try to spell correctly!

hewi

Only time will tell but i believe the Roosters will do well next year, they have recruited well, and have many good young players. That will be Smiths legacy.

bottle

I'd take Paul McGregor over Price lol, I am scared that may become a reality lol

Come on we all know the person has to have some former affiliation with the club, that Bennett era was just too crazy and outside the box type thinking and as you will attest we only had a modicum of success during his time.

Is this a gee up?

Modicum of success? First premmy in 31 years is a modicum of success?
Please tell me this is a joke, albeit unfunny.

Jubileeboy

It is a pity Price was not off to the warriors and maybe take doust with him as doust has done some good things but seems to take the easy way out on important decisions like when he made his mate Brown coach when the dragons had most of the Australian side playing for them a decent coach would have got at least one premiership with that team and then he follows up one of the nrls best coaches [Bennet] with his [never before coached a first grade] under study Price when all other nrl clubs are signing top coaches which attract top players the dragons have made an attempt to buy just about every good player that has come on the market but no top players want to play under Price and until Doust does the right thing by the club and signs a decent first grade coach no one of note will sign, we have lost Gasnier, Smith, Costigan, Byod, Scott and Young ret. Hornby ret, and have only been able to sign a few ordinary players no big name first grade players.
It is going to be another long season in 2013.:(

Huh?
Are you a deep diver ?
The world's longest sentence

grouch

Got Saints to 2 Grand Finals in his first 2 years, can't be that bad.
Not true, made the grand final in his second year. Funnily enough in his first year of coaching in the top grade (with Illawarra) his team finished 9th. Same as Pricey. Weird that. Why wasn't he sacked?

Smith is not what we want or need.

gorilla

Similar pattern with the Dragons as well:
1991: just missed the finals
92 & 93: made the GF
94: missed the finals and suffered our worst ever loss at that time (61-0 to Manly)
95: out in week one of the finals.

He just seems to peak too early. Good news though, I hear there's a nasal delivery treatment now readily available. Wonder if he's tried it?

Not too shabby.

I'm still disappointed about 1993....

I think he's past history for us, although there's a limited pool of coaches.

He wouldn't get considered anyway, because Price will be coach in 2013.

Not too shabby.

I'm still disappointed about 1993....

I think he's past history for us, although there's a limited pool of coaches.

He wouldn't get considered anyway, because Price will be coach in 2013.

Correct. It's Price's job to lose.
I'm baffled at some of the love here for Smith.
He's yesterday's man.

Correct. It's Price's job to lose.
I'm baffled at some of the love here for Smith.
He's yesterday's man.

Price should have already lost his job. It was Price's job to lose and really he failed and should be out the door.

He had 3 years under Bennett, a full pre-season and a full 2012 season to get the team playing to their potential. We have seen glimses of what the players can do, so it's not the players. It's the game plans and the coaching; nothing else.

Put Potter, Smith, Elliot, Anderson or any other experienced senior NRL coach in charge of the Dragons and we would easily make the 8.

It is a pity Price was not off to the warriors and maybe take doust with him as doust has done some good things but seems to take the easy way out on important decisions like when he made his mate Brown coach when the dragons had most of the Australian side playing for them a decent coach would have got at least one premiership with that team and then he follows up one of the nrls best coaches [Bennet] with his [never before coached a first grade] under study Price when all other nrl clubs are signing top coaches which attract top players the dragons have made an attempt to buy just about every good player that has come on the market but no top players want to play under Price and until Doust does the right thing by the club and signs a decent first grade coach no one of note will sign, we have lost Gasnier, Smith, Costigan, Byod, Scott and Young ret. Hornby ret, and have only been able to sign a few ordinary players no big name first grade players.
It is going to be another long season in 2013.:(
The land that full stops forgot.

hermidale1

This is quite amusing really. All the Price haters coming out and suggesting Brian Smith. It would be like a chocolate high. Yeah we may go well the first year or 2, but come 2015, we would be losing again and back where we started. Then the coach haters would come back out and scream for another coach. A very vicious cycle. Brian Smith has the runs on the board of doing well, then not finishing his contract. Do we really want that????

Put Potter, Smith, Elliot, Anderson or any other experienced senior NRL coach in charge of the Dragons and we would easily make the 8.

That's an easy line to take - "put someone else in and they would've done better". How do you know? The Roosters with Smith have missed the eight the past 2 seasons. Elliott and Anderson missed the eight in the last season of their latest coaching gigs. Potter's never coached in the NRL.

Price should have already lost his job. It was Price's job to lose and really he failed and should be out the door.

So Price should have been sacked already? After one season, where we officially finished 9th? So you reckon he's gone as bad as McClennan at the Warriors then? They went from GF to basket case in one season. And he was a former NZ national coach who'd won 2 Super League premierships with Leeds.

Price will be the coach next year, but will be under review early on. And I for one hopes he does well and silences all you knockers out there.

I'm pretty sure Brian Smith has never seen out a coaching contract. Happy to be corrected, but at the very least he either jumps or gets pushed on the majority of occasions.

64 Dragon

Why would we want a coach who took his team from grand finalists to 11th then 13th in consecutive years? He won't be coming back here!

Minh

Chances of him coming are slim to none, which is not a bad thing, he's a good coach but he wont be much good back at the Dragons seems to do well going to a new establishment.