Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brian Smith Responds to Terry Hill

Hurriflatch

Brian isn't perfect and nobody said he was.

even he'll admit that he has made some bad decisions but you just can't say

Cayless out Stapleton in

There are other factors

When J.Cayless left at the end of 2001 the likes of Lyon, Vella, Hindmarsh, N.Cayless etc were all due for upgrades to their contracts, it may well have come down to keep N.Hindmarsh or J.Cayless now can you imagine what would've happened if he went the other way.

Tonga wouldn't have left if Lyon said he was going 6 mths earlier.

Lyon left 1 game into the year so a suitable replacement couldn't be signed till the 2005 season (Timana Tahu)

David Solomona was proving less effective with the new rule changes by the time he left he wasn't anywhere near the player he was in 2001 yet still getting the same $$$.

Darren Treacy was brought in as a mid season signing to ease the pressure of a ton of injuries in 2003.

There is a fair bit of credibility to go with Strider's comments on the juniors not being ready.

In 2002 Brian said that he thought McKinnon was brought into grade 12-18 mths too early, McKinnon struggled to maintain form and Brian got him about just over 18 mths later and now look at him, Brian would've graded McKinnon for a few games in late 2003 to get ready for a big 2004 season, McKinnon had a big 2004 season despite the clubs standing on the ladder.

Signing Dykes was an error and cost Parra a lot more as other players needed to go to pay Dykes' big $$$ deal this also hamstrung Brian's ability to sign players in 2003 and 2004 to replace the quality players let go in 2002 to sign Dykes.

and there are other cases that were just bad decsions from Brian.

But put simply as I said you can't just say

this player comes in for that player there are many other factors to be considered.

forward pass

Eelementary said:
But if we're fair dinkum, an in-form Adam Dykes is just a brilliant and classy player.

Yes but he was never in form in 3 years. And he is even struggling at the gummy sharks. Give me Morris any day !!!!!! (No PJ thats not what I meant!)

noosa-eel

I didn't see Wags mentioned in Smithys comments.....is he playing on Sunday? cause i think his defence will make all the difference with Hindy & Fui out.

mickdo

noosa-eel said:
I didn't see Wags mentioned in Smithys comments.....is he playing on Sunday? cause i think his defence will make all the difference with Hindy & Fui out.
He's playing.

True EEL

BS did have to respond this time - and it was sweet

i know i have bagged him in the past, but honestly BS, that was one of your absolute best

walker smith

I have been one of Brian Smith's biggest knockers in the past and i wont resile from that criticism! Fact is, thsi year he has signed a bit of real class in Stringer, PJ, Morrison and Tahu...whereas in those lean years following 2001 he made several (beyond) questionable decisions and should have been accountable for them! Im thrilled he has got it right this year and we are travelling great, but i dont think it absolves past transgressions.

I think when his contract ends in 06 he should gracefully resign no matter what happens and we should introduce a generational change by bringing in Taylor as Head Coach. People who are calling for long term contract extensions for Smith are those who refuse to learn from past failures and wish to repeat them ad nauseam.

By the way, even though we are great at the moment, there is still room for improvement. I think that perhaps a more specialist five eighth would perform even better than Morris...but then again its a moot point because we wont find out this year one way or another.

I just hope the club delivers a premiership and we are in the happy position of having this debate in twelve months with success under our belts and an eye toward the best way of preserving that success!

fish eel

walker smith said:
I just hope the club delivers a premiership and we are in the happy position of having this debate in twelve months with success under our belts and an eye toward the best way of preserving that success!

well said.

forward pass

I can't believe how quickly everyone is jumping on the Jason Taylor bandwagon.

Can he coach? How good is he? What do the players think of him or his methods?

We don't know any of these answers and I don't really want to see BS go to find out that JT is not quite up to scratch. Why replace a coach with 20 years experience for one with very little and only in lower grades.

Coaches have to start somewhere, I know, and he may turn out to be a supercoach, but I reckon a lot of other clubs would kill to have Brian Smith as their coach.

walker smith

forward pass said:

We don't know any of these answers and I don't really want to see BS go to find out that JT is not quite up to scratch. Why replace a coach with 20 years experience for one with very little and only in lower grades.

Coaches have to start somewhere, I know, and he may turn out to be a supercoach, but I reckon a lot of other clubs would kill to have Brian Smith as their coach.

I dont how good Jason Taylor is...but it would be the perfect compromise of fresh blood without being too much of a radical change to the status quo!

forward pass said:

mmm - good call....we really know nothing about JT and his coaching ability.

Also, I don't think too many ppl are calling for a long contract extention for BS (only pete :lol:)....i think if we win a GF either this year or next yr then brian might be content to move on anyway - but if he wants to stay then i'd be happy if we renewed him on a year by year basis.

Utey

forward pass said:

Exactly. I would have loved to see Johnny Cartright coach here. Doubt it will ever happen but anyways.

I do agree that eventually we have restored the balance of class that left with new classy players.

Stringer? I'd have him over Jason at the moment, hell yes.

Morrison? I've been a huge fan of his - more so than Ryan.

Same goes for Riddell and Tahu.

And quite frankly - I'm over my initial comment by now lol.

ALL I meant was that we have released more classy players than we have signed if we exclude this year.

Obviously this year makes up for it.

And I do admit I was critical of Brian in the past two years.

But I am fond of him, and believe he is a very good coach.

So I have nothing against him.

The Eels rule.

And our team is the bomb.

Go the bloody brilliant Eels!

lol

And strider....

Are we still cool?

I kind of spat the dummy yesterday.

Sorry about that - I've been under a lot of pressure from everywhere recently.

strider said:
:cool:

its all good - I spat the dummy as much as you

Nah mate.

You merely made a very valid point and aired your opinion.

Which is all sweet.

And like I said - I really am sorry I acted all precious.

Just that uni, work and family are driving me insane at the moment.

In fact, these boards and the Eels are the only things keeping me sane! lol

Hellsy

JT must being doing something right!
His Premier League team also took out the Minor Premiership :clap:
I know this may not mean he can coach the same in the first grade level, but he is another one of Brian's right hand men, and has been doing kicking coaching with our goal kickers as well.

walker smith

strider said:
mmm - good call....we really know nothing about JT and his coaching ability.

Also, I don't think too many ppl are calling for a long contract extention for BS (only pete :lol:)....i think if we win a GF either this year or next yr then brian might be content to move on anyway - but if he wants to stay then i'd be happy if we renewed him on a year by year basis.[/QUOTE]

fair call.

fish eel

I'd say the best thing and possibly most likely would be for him to move into a gus gould type role.

there's one thing about smith, and that is he bleeds blue and gold now. couldnt imagine him coaching another club.

fish eel said:
I'd say the best thing and possibly most likely would be for him to move into a gus gould type role.

there's one thing about smith, and that is he bleeds blue and gold now. couldnt imagine him coaching another club.

not do sure about that, he is a career coach, maybe he'll have another stint in England, what ever happens he won't be short of an offer from here or abroad.