Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane Most Favoured Draw continues

some11

But the fans don't want it. Get it now? We agree with those fans of other clubs who are sick of seeing the Broncos every Friday night. We agree with you. We agree. We agree. We agree. We agree. We agree.

OK?

We mother f**king agree.

firechild

No need to throw your toys around gUt. I understand that the fans don't want it. Several people have also said though that the club didn't want it and Pete even posted a link to an article that stated as much.

nat,
I'd agree that channel 9 doesn't care much about what the clubs want but I find it interesting that several Brisbane fans have raised the point about NQ wanting Saturday games. That to me seemed irrelevent especially in light of the fact Brisbane claim they prefer Sunday games. I wonder if moving Broncos games to Sunday and having a 2nd Sydney game on a friday would affect rating much if at all (likely higher ratings on Sunday v lower on Friday?).

gUt

Well I'll watch both games on every Friday regardless of who's playing, and I know all of my footy fan mates would too.

Surely any loss of viewers from Brisbane not being on Friday would be made up from extra viewers in Sydney?

Why aren't there more double headers at the SFS on a Friday night? Make a big deal out of it, promote it to all hell all over the country, and Qld would tune in IMO.

dogslife

Sadly that's just the way some Brisbane supporters are, if it doesn't involve their team, it's irrelevant. I'm not saying that doesn't happen at every club, but you've gotta agree its a higher proportion in Brisbane. I've been to every one of the double-headers they've put at Suncorp the last few years, and a lot of people actually get up and leave when the Broncos game is over, that takes the cake. Maybe they're not your team, but it's a free game of RL ffs

JW

I've been to every one of the double-headers they've put at Suncorp the last few years, and a lot of people actually get up and leave when the Broncos game is over, that takes the cake. Maybe they're not your team, but it's a free game of RL ffs

Mate, honestly, who gives a shit. I would likely stick around, but people can do as they please.

Besides, I can really envisage an ANZ crowd sticking around to watch Newcastle or Canberra play the Tits or the Cows, which is akin to what happens with Brisbane double-headers.

It's got nothing to do with any particular group of supporters.

firechild

Besides, I can really envisage an ANZ crowd sticking around to watch Newcastle or Canberra play the Tits or the Cows, which is akin to what happens with Brisbane double-headers.

Not quite. It would be akin to the 2nd game at least having a Sydney team play. The last one was Donks v Manly and Titans v Dogs.

MARSHALL ZHUKOV

they are getting even more friday night games too - see below- round 11

Nine's Friday Night Football: Brisbane Broncos v The BYE From Suncorp Stadium Brisbane

FRIDAY 18TH MAY 2012-

LIVE on IN QLD at 7:30 pm

200301-suncorp5.jpg

dogslife

The second game has always been Dogs v Titans. So basically if they're not gonna stick around and watch the Titans, realistically they won't stick around and watch any team. Personally I don't care what they do, the less Broncos fans around me, the better. I just find it strange

JW

Not quite. It would be akin to the 2nd game at least having a Sydney team play. The last one was Donks v Manly and Titans v Dogs.

Not that it really matters, but the second game in Brisbane obviously doesn't involve another Brisbane team, hence my reference to Newy and Canberra being the substitute for the Tits.

Anyway, carry on.

MARSHALL ZHUKOV

There was a 63% decrease last Friday night in the Brisbane OzTAM ratings between the Broncos/Cowboys and Sea Eagles/Tigers matches (304k to 114k). The large dropoff in ratings between the two matches has been a problem since the 2 FN game format was introduced in 2007. I don't know what you suggest as the solution, but I think most ppl on this forum would gladly like to see the 9:30pm FN game moved to another timeslot.

If thats the case channel 9 may as well replay the Bronco's match just played again at 9:30pm or show an old Bronco's game at 9:30pm - they keep banging on its the home of Rugby league well these figures show clearly it ain't

bildo

I have decided to change my viewing habits and will be recording the Friday night games . I've had it with Queensland teams being shown first ( i live in Queensland) every Friday night regardless of how good a match the other game will be. It is so frustrating. : (
The Missus will be happy and i will be able to fast forward thru the ad's.
Easy fixed. Channel 9 and their advertisers can get rooted. :p

firechild

I think the 9:30 slot would get much lower ratings in general. I almost always watched the 2nd game last year but won't be this year because of the combination of Broncos and Raaaaaay. However, the average league fan will happy watch a game that finishes at 9:30 but not one that starts at 9:30, especially when they can just check the score before going to bed. Saying the 2nd game has lower ratings because it is 2 sydney teams as opposed to 2 qld teams at 7:30 ignores the fact that the time slot simply sux. 9 should have 1 game on friday, one on saturday (or monday) and one on sunday to maximise ratings.

MARSHALL ZHUKOV

I think the 9:30 slot would get much lower ratings in general. I almost always watched the 2nd game last year but won't be this year because of the combination of Broncos and Raaaaaay. However, the average league fan will happy watch a game that finishes at 9:30 but not one that starts at 9:30, especially when they can just check the score before going to bed. Saying the 2nd game has lower ratings because it is 2 sydney teams as opposed to 2 qld teams at 7:30 ignores the fact that the time slot simply sux. 9 should have 1 game on friday, one on saturday (or monday) and one on sunday to maximise ratings.

It could also be people in brisbane/qld maybe worried if they stay up to watch the second game it may fade their curtains.

big country

when the Broncos game comes on that's when I get the BIG20 hoodie on which emphasises my pumping biceps, jump into the $200k shiny black beemer and head to the establishment for many hours of fast action shoom shumming with hot blonde babes which ugly 6 fingered bogan cyclops from north of the border can only dream of, no? :cool:

user_nat

Guys, the ratings for the second game drops by huge amounts in both states.
There is no difference. Both states like to watch local teams and both states don't like watching ad filled games that finish after 11.

This isn't a Queensland exclusive thing.

gUt

I dunno Nat.

I dunno.

For instance, did you know that Brisbane gets lots and lots of Friday night games? And yet their fans still tell us that they get lots and lots of Friday night games? Where's the consistency there? This gives those f**king Donkeys nearly every Friday night game, and you want to know something else?

The Broncos get nearly every Friday night game.

NOW you want me to believe that the Broncos don't get nearly every Friday night game? Is that it??

Well I have news for you pal. Looking back, and indeed looking forward, the Broncos get NEARLY EVERY FRIDAY NIGHT GAME! But if you look at the match schedule from channel 9, it clearly shows that Brisbane gets nearly every Friday night game!

Call me paranoid or a racist or whatever but I just get the feeling that despite what Donkos fans say, they do get almost every Friday night game. Call it a hunch.

And another thing...

Big Pete

Honest question, how many of these first eight Friday night fixtures didn't we deserve over our Queensland counter-parts?

1? 2 tops?

Why wouldn't Channel 9 listen to the Cowboys? Saturday isn't a popular night among clubs and it's an ideal time slot for them. Their crowds rely heavily on a lot of out of towners and they won't be able to make the game if it's on a Friday or a Monday and the harsh climate isn't ideal for Sunday footy. We saw that back in 2007 with the Warriors who look exhausted at half-time.

Comparing that to Brisbane, a crowd that is much more flexible not being granted the most popular time slot on Sunday is apples and oranges. Sundays would definitely be ideal, but it's not as if Friday is a terrible consolation.