Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane3 - What is needed to make it a successful bid?

Is that gonna be enough? Considering the PNG and Perth clubs will start with several hundred million.
Most of the perth money is going to infrastructure and grassroots. Most of the png money to infrastructure, cost of running the club and to Jnr development. I’m guessing brisbane3 will have a lot of that already in place or not needed, if they go with an existing qrl club?

I wouldn’t swap rugby leagues footprint for any other local sporting code
really? If we had equivalent of afl footprint we’d have had 2 clubs in brisbane (afl perth) , 2 clubs in melbourne (afl Sydney) , 2 clubs in perth (afl brisbane), 2 clubs in nz (afl Adelaide) for years. I’d take that over us still trying to get there!

id say the only advantage nrl has over afl footprint is the regional teams and Canberra (though tassie is their Canberra equivalent) and that’s largely as there aren’t many big regional cities in afl states to make it viable.

MugaB

id say the only advantage nrl has over afl footprint is the regional teams and Canberra (though tassie is their Canberra equivalent) and that’s largely as there aren’t many big regional cities in afl states to make it viable.

tassie dont exist....yet

And add our Newcastle (aka afl's equivalent to geelong)
And plus North Qld

Wb1234

really? If we had equivalent of afl footprint we’d have had 2 clubs in brisbane (afl perth) , 2 clubs in melbourne (afl Sydney) , 2 clubs in perth (afl brisbane), 2 clubs in nz (afl Adelaide) for years. I’d take that over us still trying to get there!

Have you heard of the nz warriors ?

And png ?

V

Tasmanian devils

Similarly Afl has the same number of melb clubs as nrl has Sydney clubs

Red&BlackBear

Is that gonna be enough? Considering the PNG and Perth clubs will start with several hundred million.
Two ways to look at this.

1) No, not even close really. Not if they intend to be a genuine organisation with the resources to bring the best out of both players, administrators and still have fantastic grass roots to filter through their system.

It’s apparent that the actual requirements for a start up franchise (affiliated with previous existing club/brand or not) is a considerably higher cost. The words “business case” get thrown around a lot from NRL HQ and for good measure too.

Whilst $40m is a fantastic amount of money on face value you need to carefully consider that once it’s distributed between infrastructure, pathways, commercial operations, facilities etc (things that the NRL grant don’t necessarily cover) it gets eaten up pretty quickly.

2) However if the $40m is purely for an NRL club’s initial operations over head costs alone and won’t cover any of the other above items then yeah, it can be a decent start up. Theoretically Ipswich bid + NRL + QRL could hop on the coats of the state government Olympic stadia and facilities builds and upgrades to commandeer any facilities based out at Ipswich post-Olympics 2032. That would instantly save them a ton of cash and give them instant infrastructure. It would also very much line up with NRL’s current favouritism of government intervention to fund infrastructure for future proposed clubs.

From a junior footy perspective the thing that’s going for Ipswich and west of Brisbane regions is the amount of junior clubs and already in place pathways: 15/16 junior rugby league clubs in Ipswich, 9 in Toowoomba, 7 in Roma/St George/Miles/Chinchilla. Those are good numbers.

Further to this the population growth of +3% (3.51% between 22 and 23) with projected numbers at around 480k (this is Ipswich alone and doesn’t take into account Toowoomba or any other western regions) by 2041 are also good numbers. I know it’s not what you asked but thought it should be discussed as a point of merit.

Edit: as far as rugby league is concerned once Perth/WA Bears are officially in - you can probably already guess where my energy/time will be spent on next.

SirPies&Beers

Two ways to look at this.

1) No, not even close really. Not if they intend to be a genuine organisation with the resources to bring the best out of both players, administrators and still have fantastic grass roots to filter through their system.

It’s apparent that the actual requirements for a start up franchise (affiliated with previous existing club/brand or not) is a considerably higher cost. The words “business case” get thrown around a lot from NRL HQ and for good measure too.

Whilst $40m is a fantastic amount of money on face value you need to carefully consider that once it’s distributed between infrastructure, pathways, commercial operations, facilities etc (things that the NRL grant don’t necessarily cover) it gets eaten up pretty quickly.

2) However if the $40m is purely for an NRL club’s initial operations over head costs alone and won’t cover any of the other above items then yeah, it can be a decent start up. Theoretically Ipswich bid + NRL + QRL could hop on the coats of the state government Olympic stadia and facilities builds and upgrades to commandeer any facilities based out at Ipswich post-Olympics 2032. That would instantly save them a ton of cash and give them instant infrastructure. It would also very much line up with NRL’s current favouritism of government intervention to fund infrastructure for future proposed clubs.

From a junior footy perspective the thing that’s going for Ipswich and west of Brisbane regions is the amount of junior clubs and already in place pathways: 15/16 junior rugby league clubs in Ipswich, 9 in Toowoomba, 7 in Roma/St George/Miles/Chinchilla. Those are good numbers.

Further to this the population growth of +3% (3.51% between 22 and 23) with projected numbers at around 480k (this is Ipswich alone and doesn’t take into account Toowoomba or any other western regions) by 2041 are also good numbers. I know it’s not what you asked but thought it should be discussed as a point of merit.

Edit: as far as rugby league is concerned once Perth/WA Bears are officially in - you can probably already guess where my energy/time will be spent on next.
good summary.

hope everyone gets in, so long as the game isn’t reckless and had the resources to support them all.

Wb1234

good summary.

hope everyone gets in, so long as the game isn’t reckless and had the resources to support them all.
95 would’ve be fine if Rupert didn’t interfere

Perth cowboys and crushers would’ve prospered

Perth bears and dolphins are way stronger replacements

And with the nrl giving each club 17.5 million vs a cap of 12.5 million even the bad clubs are breaking even

Pippen94

95 would’ve be fine if Rupert didn’t interfere

Perth cowboys and crushers would’ve prospered

Perth bears and dolphins are way stronger replacements

And with the nrl giving each club 17.5 million vs a cap of 12.5 million even the bad clubs are breaking even

Game was peaking in 1994. I sincerely believe tigers & magpies should've been demoted to metro cup at end of season.

Pippen94

Ipswich are better off integrating other “nearby” west of Brisbane regions such as Toowoomba and Darling Downs.

These regions have a rich history of rugby league pedigree. Some of Queensland’s biggest companies originated from Toowoomba and therefore there is a commercial/corporate sweet spot which to this day hasn’t really been drawn on by existing South Queensland based clubs.

Population is there as is junior pathways and foundations for infrastructure. They do require more resources ie money to be poured into it to bring it up to speed.

The Jets own their own fields and have a leagues club already. There are also multiple leagues clubs between Ipswich and Roma which could theoretically be incorporated into one larger business however, that would require a bit of negotiating and savvy business people with vision to pull it off. It is in the realm of possibility though.

QRL or at the very least majority of their powerbrokers see Ipswich and out to the west of Brisbane regions as the area they would prefer to be the next cab off the rank as far as potential Queensland based NRL sides are concerned. Again, money to resource it adequately so it can translate these existing foundations into hot commodity is the main factor.

Yeah nah, money & population is in Brisbane.

SirPies&Beers

Yeah nah, money & population is in Brisbane.
you kinda seem like you don’t know what’s going on with the rugby league landscape in south Queensland and therefore keep repeating same thing over & over. I don’t know what’s happening there either btw. but if geographical location was so important then why not just go with firehawks instead of phins? Phins are still based in Redcliffe regardless.

also I asked ya before do you actually live in south queensland? Only ask because 1. red bears makes some good points about ippy footy and 2. he was answering a question about ippy footy that daddy 3 asked.

Wb1234

you kinda seem like you don’t know what’s going on with the rugby league landscape in south Queensland and therefore keep repeating same thing over & over. I don’t know what’s happening there either btw. but if geographical location was so important then why not just go with firehawks instead of phins? Phins are still based in Redcliffe regardless.

also I asked ya before do you actually live in south queensland? Only ask because 1. red bears makes some good points about ippy footy and 2. he was answering a question about ippy footy that daddy 3 asked.
Dolphins had more money
A better logo than awful firehawks
And broncos didn’t want an inner city club coming in and killing their fan base

Have you heard of the nz warriors ?

And png ?

V

Tasmanian devils

Similarly Afl has the same number of melb clubs as nrl has Sydney clubs
Like I said if you do alike for like comparison AFL having two clubs in Adelaide would be the equivalent of us having two clubs in nz (ie a smaller code heartland location)

a nrl equivalent of AFL’s footprint taking into account heartland v expansion locations would be

9 sydney clubs
2 brisbane clubs
2 nz clubs
2 perth clubs
2 melbourne clubs
newcastle

with canberra entering next

the big difference being expansion areas and the fact they have had this equivalent footprint for many years ahead of us. In fact we may never get to this footprint.

PNG? lol the location literally no one wants.

SirPies&Beers

Dolphins had more money
A better logo than awful firehawks
And broncos didn’t want an inner city club coming in and killing their fan base
it’s not the point I’m making to pippen read it again.he said brissy has more money and population and yet firehawks was a true brissy club and dolphins whilst they play in brissy are still based in redcliffe. if being in brissy is so important then firehawks would’ve won not dolphins. but they didn’t because of reasons you mentioned and for same reasons you mention including others factors jets should win next south qld license when it’s up.

seems like non local yet again talking about area they don’t live in. warped

Pippen94

Don't take my word or any supposed local on here. People make lots of claims of online & none can be confirmed. Listen to bids (easts, jets, brother, bombers) that all talk about importance of Logan - Ipswich corridor.

Pippen94

Like I said if you do alike for like comparison AFL having two clubs in Adelaide would be the equivalent of us having two clubs in nz (ie a smaller code heartland location)

a nrl equivalent of AFL’s footprint taking into account heartland v expansion locations would be

9 sydney clubs
2 brisbane clubs
2 nz clubs
2 perth clubs
2 melbourne clubs
newcastle

with canberra entering next

the big difference being expansion areas and the fact they have had this equivalent footprint for many years ahead of us. In fact we may never get to this footprint.

PNG? lol the location literally no one wants.

..and AFL funds it's expansion clubs. Most leagues demand licence fee & rich backers