Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

burt living life on the edge

Agree, Luke has been one of our better players this year. To say that he was only in the team for his GK is wrong. There is no other player in the club that he was preventing from playing NRL.

FMD if our completion rate was 27/40.

Not Luke's fault at all. Nor should he feel responsible.

?????????

He missed a goal from 22m out adjacent to the posts....

Sure, you can say that the other 12 players should've had us ahead by 20 at that stage - but they got us to the stage where we shouldn't have lost and then the 1 guy who is in the squad for the sole purpose of kicking goals misses an absolute dead set sitter.

He missed 2 tougher kicks against the Knights a couple of months ago - but very makeable kicks - and lost us that game too (if he made just one of them we don't lose).

In reality our halves have been crap all year, but Burt has left 4 competition points on the field by failing in his job too. If he did his job, as rubbish as our halves have been, we're just 1 win away from second place.

Queue all the Burt sponsors now who will makes excuses for how he missed yesterday; how it was wet in Newcastle etc etc :roll:

geez you're a whiny f**kin know it all bitch!

all parra fans might think they are upset about that missed kick yesterday - but there's one person more devastated than any self absorbed, whining dickhead fan - luke burt

Bigfella

I don't blame him whatsoever for us losing the game or missing the finals.

But he sure hasn't been one of our best playuers this season, he's been awful. His kicking, including the rushed kicks, kept us in the game up until then anyway.

That happens with goalkicking. I have no problem with him at all.

oldmancraigy

We wouldn't have even been in the position to draw even yesterday if it wasn't for Burt's earlier kicks.

Article in today's paper has stats that he's been the most accurate kicker in the NRL this season.

Poor guy, but our season ending wasn't his fault - he's kept us in and won matches for us this year, in both his kicking and his general play.

Worth much more than one third of Hayne's wage, especially with the crap superstar Jarryd dished up yesterday with our season on the line.

This is the exact reason why I dish out the crap to Burt.

Fair dinkum mate - Burt is a protected species around this place. Hayne was one of our best yesterday, is an absolute class player and damn near stole the win on the siren for us. (you may not have noticed him scything through the Tigers at the end there? too preoccupied figuring out how it wasn't Burts fault?)

But even if Burt happens to miss a goal with no time left SOMEHOW we manage to blame everyone else and "it's not Burt's fault"

I'm certainly not laying all the blame on Burt for missing the finals - but he has NOT played his best footy this year, and the MAIN JOB that he does in the team he seriously screwed up when it counted.

So I'll take an overly aggressive stand against Burt when he's playing crap - well at least it's somewhat warranted - as opposed to the times that the other blokes who bust their humps get criticised :roll:

oldmancraigy

all parra fans might think they are upset about that missed kick yesterday - but there's one person more devastated than any self absorbed, whining dickhead fan - luke burt

No doubt he is.

But everyone seems allowed to vent against everyone else on the team EXCEPT Burt.

That's the point I've been trying to make for a few weeks - and you've proved it again.

Burt hasn't been great this year - to say that is NOT to "disrespect" a legend - it's just pointing out what's been going on.

TheMoneyBoxMan

LOL @ the people blaming Burt.Get a f**kin grip. Burt didnt ruin our season. Every player and the coach has to take the blame for that. If we had of started the season better to begin with we wouldnt have been in such a desperate situation. If we had of started the game against the Tigers better we wouldnt have been death riding Luke Burt for missing a kick. But just for oldmancraigy's sake lets take a quick look at his logic. Luke is hopeless and only gets picked to kick and stuffs it. Well how many times has he scored a seemingly impossible try to win a game! Inu is on a lot of money and f**ks up regularly. He cant even play the f**kin ball without stuffing it up. His misses in defence cost us dearly but lets blame Burt. Then we have Mateo. Another on big money who only comes out to play 4 games per season. Lazy slob goes missing most of the year but lets blame Burt. Jarryd fails to find touch. That cost us too but lets blame Burt. Cayless throws a f**kin mental pass that had we held the ball for longer we could of scored but lets blame Burt. Not one of our players would be blaming Luke Burt only some of our wonderful supporters! FFS wake up to yourselves.

SeftonBoy

Let's get one thing straight Luke Burt is not a legend of the Parramatta club. He's been a loyal player but not a club legend. The likes of Sterling, Price, Kenny, Hindmarsh, Thornett ect are club legends. I'm sick of people calling this guy a club legend.

The loss yesterday was not Luke Burt's fault because of the missed goal, even though I bet he could of thrown it over from there. They started playing footy with only 20 min to go & left it too late. So i wouldn;t blame him BUT the guy just get's too dominated when he runs the ball. He gives them nothing with his dummy half runs because he gets dominated every time.

It's time that the likes of Cayless (going anyway) & Burt were shown the door & a fresh breed of player have their chance to win Parra a premiership. Hindmarsh is exempt from this because he's an inspiration to not only footballers but for people in life in general to never give up.

Joely01

No doubt he is.

But everyone seems allowed to vent against everyone else on the team EXCEPT Burt.

That's the point I've been trying to make for a few weeks - and you've proved it again.

Burt hasn't been great this year - to say that is NOT to "disrespect" a legend - it's just pointing out what's been going on.
I think part of what you said is correct, there are a handfull of players that on here if you say one bad thing about you are in the firing line. Everyone is allowed an opinion.

BUT....

Yesterday or the Newie game was not Burt's fault, i said to the girlfriend while we were coming back we didnt deserve to win and i stand by what i said its embarrasing to not play for 60mins then play for 20 and almost win. To blame Burt for losing 4 comp points is a joke, the Newie game we scored 1 TRY!!! that alone doesnt deserve to win you a game, yesterday we didnt deserve to win plain and simple we were out played for 60mins the better team won.... DONE.

No doubt he is.

absolute f**king bullsh*t!!!

go find all the "hang sh*t on a single player" threads from this year and i'm willing to bet burt would be right up there

yes - he's had an off period this season .... our whole f**king team has had an off period at times - burts right in there with em no doubt

you just seem all hung up cos there are ppl who aren't willing to blame him for our entire f**king sh*thole season .... news flash - not everyone will agree with all your opinions .... oh boo f**king hoo - i'm not allowed to vent against burt - cry me a f**king river .... you can say anything you want - just like i can say anything i want .... we don't agree - so what!

boxhead

This is the exact reason why I dish out the crap to Burt.

Fair dinkum mate - Burt is a protected species around this place. Hayne was one of our best yesterday, is an absolute class player and damn near stole the win on the siren for us. (you may not have noticed him scything through the Tigers at the end there? too preoccupied figuring out how it wasn't Burts fault?)

But even if Burt happens to miss a goal with no time left SOMEHOW we manage to blame everyone else and "it's not Burt's fault"

I'm certainly not laying all the blame on Burt for missing the finals - but he has NOT played his best footy this year, and the MAIN JOB that he does in the team he seriously screwed up when it counted.

So I'll take an overly aggressive stand against Burt when he's playing crap - well at least it's somewhat warranted - as opposed to the times that the other blokes who bust their humps get criticised :roll:

HOW THE F**K has he screwed up when he we have needed it you clown? How many games HAVE WE WON BECAUSE HE HAS NOT MISSED A KICK. We won the PANTHERS game because he did not miss a kick. He won the two MANLY games because he did not miss a kick. Every single game we have won has been because he HAS kicked the goals needed to win. Grow the f**k up and use facts you d*ckhead.
How do you completely forget all the close games we have won this year BECAUSE of Burt's kicking, huh!? Get a f**king life you tosser.

Let's get one thing straight Luke Burt is not a legend of the Parramatta club. He's been a loyal player but not a club legend. The likes of Sterling, Price, Kenny, Hindmarsh, Thornett ect are club legends. I'm sick of people calling this guy a club legend.

The loss yesterday was not Luke Burt's fault because of the missed goal, even though I bet he could of thrown it over from there. They started playing footy with only 20 min to go & left it too late. So i wouldn;t blame him BUT the guy just get's too dominated when he runs the ball. He gives them nothing with his dummy half runs because he gets dominated every time.

It's time that the likes of Cayless (going anyway) & Burt were shown the door & a fresh breed of player have their chance to win Parra a premiership. Hindmarsh is exempt from this because he's an inspiration to not only footballers but for people in life in general to never give up.

mate - the word legend is just that - a word .... its basically an opinion - everyone has a different one .... people may call him a legend but still not necessarily consider him at the same level as sterlo, kenny, etc etc ... whatever, in their eyes he's still a "legend" .... in your opinion he's far from it - all that means is you have a different interpretation of the word

btaag

Anyone blaming Luke Burt for losing that game, and subsequently seeing the Eels knocked out of the Finals is a cretin. That is all.

84 Baby

Why stop there? Surely Price's comments in the paper need to go away too, Hindy couldn't stop Fifita from 2 metres out, Kenny is supposedly a rubbish coach, as is Sterlo apparently looking at our halves and the less said about the Thornett stand the better... :roll:

On a not entirely unrelated topic, else notice with Sterlo's commentary that he was annoyed with Robson & Keating being on the wrong sides of the field? As he helps coach them the issues this drudges up are:
1. Sterlo isn't good enough a coach to instruct to them something as basic as "you stand this side of the field, you stand that side of the field" - Possible
2. Robbo & Keating don't listen. If so, fantastic move to get rid of Keating. It could more likely be that in the heat of the battle, they crap themselves and forget any coaching - Probable
3. Anderson tells them the opposite to Sterlo. Poor communication if that's the case... as well as causing me to worry about young Murray as perhaps the issue is that Ando doesn't know what to coach halves or how to get them into a gameplan. In NZ he had Stacey Jones, St Helens he had Sean Long, both players had established themselves long before Ando arrived and we've never seen him develop a young half - Scarily possible, time will tell

SeftonBoy

Great & legend are descriptions used too much. Luke Burt is neither of these. The next coach will see this guy missing goals for Wenty A-Reserves.

^Agreed. Usually when you debut at 17 you're pretty damn talented and will at least play Origin. I've never seen anything special in Burt.

oldmancraigy

Anyone blaming Luke Burt for losing that game, and subsequently seeing the Eels knocked out of the Finals is a cretin. That is all.

You can say whatever you want mate - but with 2 minutes to go we were lining up a kick for extra time 2 meters to the side of the posts and 22 out.

I think it's justified to be more than a little upset that an absolute specialist goalkicker misses that don't you?

oldmancraigy

.... you can say anything you want - just like i can say anything i want .... we don't agree - so what!

so true.

Difference is that you're not talking footy, you're just taking the chance to abuse someone.

Go right ahead champ - if it makes you feel bigger/ better - whatever it takes!

sorry if I've mortally offended you by something I've said against you personally - but I don't think I've gone there. You chose to, that's your bed, you can lie in it or not - that's your decision not mine.

Why not type some more swear words in at me? That should be fun.