Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Canberra should have won

bileduct

A few you say? You're referring to seasons then?

Our last season that could be classified as successful was 2003. Our last season where we were actual title contendors would have been Superleague.
We were title contenders in 2000 until the suspensions prior to the Roosters game in week two of the finals.

sydraider

Therehave been times in the past when I have been very displeased. The Elliott years were absolutely painful, particularly the last few. The start of last year wasn't great, and this one hasn't had the best of starts either.

That said, I've seen enough from our current squad and coach to believe we are on the verge of something great, but I realise it will take time for our potential to be fulfilled. Until then, as long as I see some signs of improvement, I'm happy.

We are on the verge of mediocrity, like we have been for the last 10 years.

There are no more superstars coming to canberra, melbourne and the GC have seen to that.

Get used to it we are here to make up the numbers and thats all we are gonna be!

There are no more superstars coming to canberra, melbourne and the GC have seen to that.

Get used to it we are here to make up the numbers and thats all we are gonna be!

:lol::lol::lol:
laughable mate

i know its been a tough day but geezus, its not that dire mate. We still have the best young talent in the league. Juniors other clubs would die to get their hands on and Josh Dugan aside, they are all here for another 3 years minimum

sydraider

:lol::lol::lol:
laughable mate

i know its been a tough day but geezus, its not that dire mate. We still have the best young talent in the league. Juniors other clubs would die to get their hands on and Josh Dugan aside, they are all here for another 3 years minimum

FFS Nick, who is gonna do what with this talent?

We unearth everything except a halfback and a coach, so tell me please what is the light at the end of the tunnell and who is our saviour?

FFS Nick, who is gonna do what with this talent?

We unearth everything except a halfback and a coach, so tell me please what is the light at the end of the tunnell and who is our saviour?

It took henry 18 months to get our side playing good footy. Furner in his first 12 has done more with less than he did. We were willing to give him more time... why not furner?
He made some poor decisions today, no doubt.

As for the halfback... there is no easy answer, the club cant generate one our thin air. NRL standard halves are a rare breed, we need to find one i agree. But how do we get one when they are all locked up

its not that grim mate... the loss today was tough and its still a bit raw and i think you're projecting frustrations. There is some issues for this side to work on, personnel wise and there are some improvements our coach needs to make to his own game.

Dugan, JT, Vidot, Waddell, Fensom, Croker, Shillington, Harrison, Campese, Tilse, TLL, that is the core of a very young and very talented side... thats the light mate. Keep em together, build with them, it'll be a bumpy road but thats our best chance.

sydraider

just a lil side note nick, Henry has done f**k all with the cowboys and he has arguably one of the best playmakers in the game......

Cryptic

Yeah I'm not so upset about losing Henry... On a similar note I think he got too much credit for the team playing well while he was here...

Finally... Coaches get blamed for too much... They don't tell their players to miss tackles, throw stupid passes, drop the ball, or give away penalties on the fifth tackle... While I think there are some questionable things our coaching staff have done, it's the players who have f**ked us so far this year.

mean_maori_mean

Yeah I'm not so upset about losing Henry... On a similar note I think he got too much credit for the team playing well while he was here...

Finally... Coaches get blamed for too much... They don't tell their players to miss tackles, throw stupid passes, drop the ball, or give away penalties on the fifth tackle... While I think there are some questionable things our coaching staff have done, it's the players who have f**ked us so far this year.

Perhaps its the CEO then.
Because Canberra carry too many players in their squad who are clearly not NRL standard.
While I admire their ability to stick with gun juniors and development - its clear mccrone is no gun.

Chuck another halfback in the squad and canberra will be able to control these killer starts and hold on to the game.
The halfback is the director of the team - seriously how embarrasing are some of mcrone 4th & 5th tackle options. Like the pass who hit a raiders players backside.

All this talk there are no halfs on the market. BS.
There are plenty who are better options
Not just in the NRL but in the NSW / QLD cup probably even NYC.

While I wouldnt look at Matty Head - he is type of player canberra could do with right now. A director w/ strong passing game.
Sign Josh Lewis - who is know behind timmy smith / porter at the sharks.

This would then allow other junior or long term marquee half to be signed or developed.

Mcrone has been in NRL system for long enough at canberra & penrith to develop.
Nothing.

I woulndt sign either McCrone or Herbert.

I thought it was a good display in the 1st half and also I thought we controlled the early parts of the 2nd half.

2 crucial plays , the penalty against Tongue when he was marker , which led to a Tigers try and the drop ball by McCrone which also led to a try on half time. leading 22-4 we would of won , but 22-10.

Its amazing how games this year can turn around , it's not just us.

Compare this to last weeks game we improved our ball handling , our 2nd phase play was happening , but like the tigers do they can score from anywhere. If it was any other team I reckon we win , but the Tigers have some very good strike power ( that hurts to say ) and will be in contention come september.

The Raiders will learn and improve. Some good times are ahead.
If it makes people feel better they can blame the coach, management,the ref , McCrone/Herbert, the pope for farting , whatever.

Its a game of footy and we are playing next week again.

legend

I suppose the silver lining to this sort of performance is that it exposes the fairweather fans. Pretty spectacularly too if Legend's post is anything to go by.

Skeepe, if you can point out to me where I've said something inaccurate or blatantly false, I will delete my tirade and stick my thumb up my butt!

Fairweather my arse! I think we have fairweather players who are leeching off a stupid club to earn money they never could if they were out in the real world. We have a coach who is the bosses son and it is obvious to all and sundry he has no idea onhow to prepare a side to play for eighty minutes.

How many players besides Dugan, Logan, Croker, Tongue and maybe Joel Thompson are really having a dig for the full eighty minutes?

Our playmaker does f**k all with the game on the line. He should be running it to the line every chance he gets. He is nowhere to be seen most of the time.

Our halfback issues are killing this club.

I'm sick of the excuse, we are a young side, we'll get better, we have the best talent in the game and blah f**king blah...

Our previous successful sides had young guys who gave their all for the club.

Face it, we as a club are a big, steaming pile of dogsh*t dressed in green.

Not so much the loss is it syd, its who it was against, just stings that lil bit more eh? \\\\:D/

matt

It took henry 18 months to get our side playing good footy. Furner in his first 12 has done more with less than he did. We were willing to give him more time... why not furner?
He made some poor decisions today, no doubt.

As for the halfback... there is no easy answer, the club cant generate one our thin air. NRL standard halves are a rare breed, we need to find one i agree. But how do we get one when they are all locked up

its not that grim mate... the loss today was tough and its still a bit raw and i think you're projecting frustrations. There is some issues for this side to work on, personnel wise and there are some improvements our coach needs to make to his own game.

Dugan, JT, Vidot, Waddell, Fensom, Croker, Shillington, Harrison, Campese, Tilse, TLL, that is the core of a very young and very talented side... thats the light mate. Keep em together, build with them, it'll be a bumpy road but thats our best chance.

THats the ride,O f**k off idiot...the CEO has the keys to this 16 year ride and this is just another stall tactic for th if's and but's brigade.You delusional types act as if it is the only way,well sir it's not,it's the only way a club devoid of panache can stall for time.

Stick to fanbois sites mate,so you dont get youre feelings hurt,cos the big bad nasty blokes are hitting the club over the head with a brick.

THats the ride,O f**k off idiot...the CEO has the keys to this 16 year ride and this is just another stall tactic for th if's and but's brigade.You delusional types act as if it is the only way,well sir it's not,it's the only way a club devoid of panache can stall for time.

Stick to fanbois sites mate,so you dont get youre feelings hurt,cos the big bad nasty blokes are hitting the club over the head with a brick.

Do you know what you're saying half the time?
Hitting the club over the head with a brick? Those running the club dont even know you or bay or legend exsist. Because you dont hit the club over the head... you dont do anything... you dont email, you dont confront the board, you do anything proactive to fix what you perceive as issues, you all talk the talk but none of you have the guts, determination, balls. What ever you want to call it, to act on your feelings. Spineless really. If i felt the way you guys do, and i have in the past, at the very least i emailed those in charge and express to them my displeasure... you sad sacks cant even grow the courage of your convictions to do that!
You want change but you think having a cry like some emo on an internet forum is the way to achieve it? Gutless, and spineless... if you love this club as most of you claim you do and you want change... how about trying to be proactive for once.
You whinge on an internet forum... hit the club over the head with a brink indeed :lol:
Mate, forget hitting them in the head with a brick on the internet, how about make them aware you exist first! :lol:

as for my feelings, unlike some, i never take the internet to heart... careful matt or ill PM you informing you that we no longer have a friendship :lol:

bileduct

Those running the club dont even know you or bay or legend exsist.
I guess then that Uncle Donnie didn't contact the admins of the Gayhouse on occasion and ask them to tone down the comments being left in the forums. Just something you guys made up.

sh*t dribbler!

I guess then that Uncle Donnie didn't contact the admins of the Gayhouse on occasion and ask them to tone down the comments being left in the forums. Just something you guys made up.

sh*t dribbler!

:lol: gayhouse... what are you? 5? :lol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPRnxwRMiMo.... i love you man, im sorry

But no, the one and only time the administrators have met with the Club was surrounding the Neil Henry departure, we were asked to tone down the abuse towards neil, in particularly they didnt like the banners that had Dave pointing and a fictional caption say "Townsville's that way Neil"

we told them we would not remove those banners and life carried on. Thats the one and only time any at the club has contacted the website re: content.

bileduct

But no, the one and only time the administrators have met with the Club was surrounding the Neil Henry departure, we were asked to tone down the abuse ...
So you're saying that someone at the club monitors the Gayhouse forums, and that they've reacted to comments regarded as "abuse"... but they'd have no idea who people like Bay56 are.

You're a sh*t dribbler.

So you're saying that someone at the club monitors the Gayhouse forums, and that they've reacted to comments regarded as "abuse"... but they'd have no idea who people like Bay56 are.

You're a sh*t dribbler.

Im sorry dude, tell me what i did, i didnt mean it, i swear, i love you!
2250266884_79c4043785.jpg

Im saying why would they know who he is? They didnt know who i was. And i ran the bloody thing... they look at the site, they dont know Bay 56, they dont know who he is, what his membership number is, how long he's been a fan or even if he really exists.
He's done nothing to reach out and make them aware of who he is and what his concerns are.
The club is aware of the site, i have no idea if they monitor it, i imagine if they did we'd have more contact, fact is we've only had one bit of contact and all concerned felt the club didnt really have issues and the meeting was brought about more by Neil Henry rather than the club. Perhaps neil was monitoring it.
The sh*t that gets sprouted there, if they were monitoring it and asking us to tone it down, we'd be having weekly meetings with the guys. We havent herd anything else from them since or before.

so i dont know, you tell me how they'd know Bay 56? And why they'd worry about one guy with a grudge to bare bitching on an internet forum?

Timbo

f**k me dead there are some delusional people out there.

We have been 'rebuilding' and been a 'young side on the verge of greatness' since 2001!

I remember when Mark McLinden and Andrew McFadden were 'two young stars that when they mature will lead the Raiders back to greatness'.

Newsflash - not only did they not lead us back to greatness, but they have both now retired! We were in the building phase then!!!!

I remember when Joel Monaghan, James Evans, Phil Graham and Jamaal Lolesi were four members of an 'exciting three-quarter line who will be thrilling Bruce Stadium crowds for years'.

Terry Martin was the next big thing. So was Jermaine Ale. So was Bronx Goodwin.

Well, where the f**k are the results? We have had teams full of 'the next big things, future rep players and gifted young stars' for the better part of ten years!!!

So please, forgive me when I hear the excuse that 'they just need some time to mature'. I've heard it before. And sadly, they usually stay exactly the same.