Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Canberra v Penrith (SPOILERS ****)

Caged Panther

Congratulations guys. We had our opportunities to put you away and didn't. Always saw this as a tougher encounter than your last two performances would suggest.

Mal Meninga

Don't forget when it's cold, the Raiders are good bets to take the win.
The last two games have been in blistering hot conditions and we just didn't have the legs to match our enthusiasm to go on with the job against the Roosters and the Knights are just freakish.

nickraider

Gutsy win to the boys. Schif under pressure - dead set legend!! Good to see the team put in and for nearly 90 minutes!!!

BRING ON THOSE F***ING BULLDOGS.

Mullins_y2k

u know thoes back to back losses could be a blessing in disguise! for teh next month or 2 were going to be going out there to prove ourselves probebly dig a bit deeper as a result

sydraider

legend said:
Let's not get carried away but there was a lot to like about that performance from the whole team tonight.

Zillman has to stay in the 17 and Thurling is a gun!

Thurling is an ANIMAL This bloke has to be in the side every week, him and miller together, look out.
TLL had a good game as well.

Im just happy we won, even better when ya mate comes over who is a panthers fan expecting to win hehe ;-)

jed

whatwhat said:
Yeah the army were terrible tonight hey, lol.

What about old mate when he took a jog around the stadium? Gold.

Amazing game also, i dont know how we got there.
:lol::lol::lol::lol:

whatwhat, are you the bloke who said bye to me as he left? I'm still not sure who you are :p

ed bbay

the best thing about last night was our bench they where fantastic . thurling was the best thing ive seen in a green jersey since clinton put one on . the only thing i thought was odd was when zillman came on smith did nt seem to want to pass it too him he really had trouble geting his hands on the ball from no fault of his own , when he did get it he was very good . lahrs was great & thompsonmogg was good back to his form from years gone by & purtell was again soild & does a good job taking the pressure off the forwards .
smith still seems to be out of form a little if he could play like last year we might be able to avoid the spoon .

also penrith did nt play that great but we did play better & out played them greatly in extra time so thats a win we ll all rember 4 a while

well done to the team & BRING ON THE BULLDOGS & yes there coming off the by as well so we will have a chance at beating them while they have the by blues .

aussies1st

It seems Mogg and Howell did well both scoring tries.
Its good to see our forward pack looking a lot better than last year.

Howell's last minute try was sensational. He had a lot of work to do and I reckon a lot of centres in the NRL would not have got that ball down. Maybe if he can get some confidence up he may become a solid first grader. He still has trouble communicating and reading the opposition plays in defense. That try to Pritchard was a direct result of Howell commin up out of the line for no apparant reason.

How good is Thurling?? What a effort he should be on the bench if not in the run on side every week.

Hope TLL hamstring is OK we are going to need his go forward and offloads this season.

Great win!

aussies1st

What more Thurling was a Canberra junior, its always that much better when you make a junior from the club into a star.

twistedbydesign

Great result, congrats to the boys who really had a dig after two weeks of adversity.

Thurling has got a lot of praise, and rightly so - he was brilliant, however for me the standout last night was Learoyd Lahrs. The guy looked so dangerous on the fringes and showed he can not only break tackles and run good lines but also has a handy offload. We badly needed a player of this nature and if he can stay fit I think he will compliment our 'workhorse' backrowers in Croker, Tongue and Jones.

Lincoln Withers is trying to do too much. Switching between hooker and halfback, two of the most important positions on the ground, is a tough job for anyone, and to be honest I just don't think Withers is that calibre of player. Elliott needs to stop having a bob each way with this guy - give him a job and let him stick to it.

One thing that we did much better last night was back up our tries with a good set of six. Too often in our first three games we followed up a try with a dropped ball and lost the momentum that we had built up.

We still have a long way to go. Pritchard and Lewis caused us nightmares on the edge of the ruck last night - imagine what Mason, SBW, Ryan, Maitua and Tonga could do to us next week? Overall a much better performance though and hopefully with a little of confidence we can continue to improve.

Theres my monologue.

Mal Meninga

I hope Thurling starts next week in place of Hodgo.
Thurling doesn't know the meaning of a break and just keeps on running!!

From all accounts Weyman was the goods in premier league so it's best we put him into first grade because the Dogs have a huge pack and beasts like Horse, TLL, and Thurling will help negate their size advantage over the likes of Tongue and when Withers moves to hooker.

azza

From comments Elliott made today on ABC, Weyman won't be in first grade next week. Can't say I disagree with the softly softly approach either. I'd say he is still another 2-4 weeks away. In the long run it's better for the club and for him that he is at 100% fitness when he eventually gets back into firsts.

raider_ktj

GO YOU MIGHTY RAIDERS! What a game! TLL was fantastic, solid performance. I still cant wipe the smile off my face.

Army Boys: What was the go tonight? I sat near ya's so that I could get closer to the enthusiasm and see how well yas do and you were heaps quiet! The d!ckhead drunk guys behind me were louder then you all!!!

azza said:
From comments Elliott made today on ABC, Weyman won't be in first grade next week. Can't say I disagree with the softly softly approach either. I'd say he is still another 2-4 weeks away. In the long run it's better for the club and for him that he is at 100% fitness when he eventually gets back into firsts.

Weyman and Tilse were pretty good together last night, would love to see them in 1st grade. Would certainly make our pack bigger. Tilse would probably get a run if Hodgo is injured.