Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ch9 plumbs new depths

Seriously did anyone manage to sit through the Tigers game with Johns, Fittler and Hadley commentating? We all thought Rabs and Gould were bad for going off and waffling about non RL related topics but these jokers took it to a whole new level. I can honestly say this is the first game of RL I have ever switched off due to being so annoyed by the commentators. Can Ch9 get any worse?

Craigo

Seriously did anyone manage to sit through the Tigers game with Johns, Fittler and Hadley commentating? We all thought Rabs and Gould were bad for going off and waffling about non RL related topics but these jokers took it to a whole new level. I can honestly say this is the first game of RL I have ever switched off due to being so annoyed by the commentators. Can Ch9 get any worse?
What? You turned it off?? Surely not before you heard their riveting discussion about "The Voice", in particular about old mate with 2 first names?
It was great, it was like I had the volume turned down and had "The View" turned UP in the background....:roll:

nrlnrl

I'm glad someone raised this. It was the worst passage of rugby league on tv ever. I don't watch any of that singing contest rubbish, but then cop 2 minutes of slurping about it.

As for the other "commentator", he should be on Sky Racing or TVN. He can't get through more than a few minutes without betting references. How do parents explain things like "framing a market" to their young kids during a rugby league game ?

I've heard a number of people say that their 10 or 12 year old sons refer to teams & what price they are as though it's a normal talking point on rugby league. So you think gambling's a problem these days - wait for these kids who are being brainwashed with it during sporting coverage on tv to reach 18.

aads

The game couldn't keep my concentration - thought i did pay attention right through the whole "Voice" conversation - it was like a few blokes just talking about TV - SHIT!!

At least Rabs tries to keep it brief - RAAAAY is trying to get some comedy mayhem going - this is the f**king game not your radio show you dick

Ads

Garbler

I muted the TV before I eventually turned it off. Hadley is such a self-serving f*ck who puts his own ego before the game; I have no patience with him anymore.

IMHO David Gyngell comes across as an arrogant dinosaur incapable of correcting his course of running Channel 9 into the ground by systemically treating their viewers with contempt.

Fittler is an utter space cadet. How the ef he coached 1st grade is a mystery greater than how Lee Murphy played 1st grade.
Fittler is the only ding dong who said Inglis should change his running style all because one player does not know how to tackle.
Channel 9 are clueless when it comes to commentary teams!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Springs

The first game had Rabs and Gus talking about whether a kid was a girl or not. That was bad enough.

Eddie Lab

what makes the voice discussion worse is that they started it by talking about "what a great line up Sunday night has with the voice and the block starting at 6:30". before that is sunday arvo football and they didn't even talk up the game.

Fittler getting a job as a coach or Fittler getting a job as a commentator, I can't decide which is the most bizarre!

nrlnrl

Speaking of "hours" next Friday nights games coverage is starting at 7pm instead of 7.30pm.

Good news for the younger footy fans and a better timeslot for the 2nd game viewing!

Hope this continues!

sorry to spoil your happiness, but the games will be starting at around 7.35 & the delayed coverage of the 2nd game will still start at 9.30

undertaker

sorry to spoil your happiness, but the games will be starting at around 7.35 & the delayed coverage of the 2nd game will still start at 9.30

Any particular reason for that? Are they simply going to extend the pre-game show by another half hour?:lol: