Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Chalk lines up on late scratching Spleen injury floors Frawley

Tokyo_Raider said:
The thing that gets me with Frawley is just how rarely he gets over the line. I mean, he's a bloody winger. They score tries. That's how the whole deal works.

I'd like to say it's because the Raiders direct play to the other wing, but Purtell's record isn't much better.

I really hope that Best is a better (bester?) finisher, 'cause there have to be tries going begging at the moment.

cant blame the wingers for not scoring mate
before carney started coming into his own the only time they saw footy was off kick returns, the furthest it got was the centres in mogg and graham whom are both abit ball hoggish in their own rights (with good reason too, they are awesome)

Tokyo_Raider

True, but from time to time you want someone to gather in their own in-goal and dash off into the sunset.

And, back in my days as a winger (which in my team was for the slowest, most lumbering clod with no ball skills and questionable personal hygene) we were expected to go looking for the ball. They're meant to be the fastest players on the field, and hell...they're only marked by other wingers....surely they've got to cross the line once in a while!

azza

Players who can score tries by creating something out of nothing and running 90 metres are extremely hard to come by in the NRL nowadays, unfortunately. We were blessed with many such wingers in past years, but it's unreasonable to expect such players to come by on a regular basis.

Right now I'd just settle for outside backs who have a combination of good defensive skills (being able to know when to slide and come in is something most of our outside backs have lacked for a few years now) and good finishing skills when we are close to the line. We don't have enough of these types of players at the moment, and it is a definite weakness.

Mal Meninga

Too many times people are pointing to the Souths game... Remember Nathan Merritt has been a big improver this year with the most tries this season!

If we are to point at one game for Howell.... How about the Sharks game? He must've been responsible for atleast 3 tries that game, possibly more against Snails like Phil Bailey. Chalk can't possibly be expected to have a ripper considering he's played backrow all year, and is given half a week of training to get comfortable on the wing.

So long as he runs hard at the line and doesn't drop the pill/brain explosions, he'll be a big asset.

paulquinn49

Most of Merritt's tries have been simple catch the ball and put down tries btw, he just totally owned Chalk that night.

Mal Meninga

paulquinn49 said:
Most of Merritt's tries have been simple catch the ball and put down tries btw, he just totally owned Chalk that night.
I'm not calling Merrit a superstar by any stretch but he's made the Australian train-on for a reason. Let's be happy that one of our backs bar Mogg will actually run straight and hard for a change.... It's a welcome sight.

aussies1st

Tokyo_Raider said:
True, but from time to time you want someone to gather in their own in-goal and dash off into the sunset.

And, back in my days as a winger (which in my team was for the slowest, most lumbering clod with no ball skills and questionable personal hygene) we were expected to go looking for the ball. They're meant to be the fastest players on the field, and hell...they're only marked by other wingers....surely they've got to cross the line once in a while!

Thats definitely not our Purtell or Frawley. They don't have the pace to out run fellow wingers hence they get chased down. Our best hope was with Graham on the wing.

Sydney_Raider

I can't believe Chalk has been so roundly criticised. Sure he had a bad game against the Bunnies but if we are going to crucify players on one game then there wouldn't be one player who would escape criticism. Let's not forget that Chalk hasn't had the luxury of playing in the one position all year and has done an admirable job for the Raiders in 2007. Many were calling for his inclusion in the outside backs earlier in the year when we had to put up with repeated blunders by both Howell and Purtell. One thing is for sure he won't get pushed back when taking the ball back from kicks like Purtell. I don't think the Bulldogs wingers will place too much pressure on any perceived weakness in Chalk's reading of the play defensively, anyway. Anyone hoping on Best being a saviour in that area is in for a long 2007.

Having said all that I would prefer him on the bench to provide some extra thrust in the forwards. His leg speed in noticeably better than nuffies like Kahler. Unfortunately it is not a good time of the season to blood someone like Goodwin on the wing. Chalk is best option.

dubby

aussies1st said:
Thats definitely not our Purtell or Frawley. They don't have the pace to out run fellow wingers hence they get chased down. Our best hope was with Graham on the wing.

Dude, Frawley is NOT slow. He came from the clouds to mow down Todd Byrne this year, and when i saw the Raiders vs Broncos at Suncorp in 03 I remember Frawley made a break down the sideline and was only just caught from behind by Phil.

I think he looks slow because he is seems so darn apathetic about everything he does. Maybe he will show form next year in the centres (which is where we signed him to play).

As for Chalk; he was stood up at Parra Stadium on the wing as well if I recall.

His line defence is shocking when he plays in the forwards too. Please, I'm not bagging him out of anger or hate, but I think Chalky will be lucky to get a spot next year. He wont be required as a forward as we've got Costigan/Turner/Bickerstaff, and for wingers there's Best/Howell/Turtell who are all better than him as wingers (that comment makes me realise how weak we are for wingers). Fullback maybe his only shot.

Raider Ultra

Yeh, his reads in defence are poor. Was against the Broncos I think, bloke just waltzted straight past him to score.

paulquinn49

Sydney_Raider, the reason Chalk hasnt played the one position all year is because he isnt good enough to do so. If he was any good in a position I am sure he would have kept Purtell out of the NRL, still Purtell plays NRL footy and Chalk is a bench player.

Even if Chalk prefers fullback, its missed opportunity, everyone who watches PL seems to think Goodwin would be the better option than Chalk.

Sydney_Raider

Disagree, we obviously needed more strike in the forwards and he was the only one capable of filling the void. Imagine your mate Purtell playing in the second row, he got hammered by Preston Campbell. I would have Chalk on the wing ahead of Purtell any day. As to why he wasn't selected earlier in the year when Purtell and Howell were having shockers, is beyond me. The coach has his favourites and sticks to them.

The good thing about next year is, apart from a new coach, there will be no players i.e. Woolford, Smith, Croker etc that are deemed to be automatic selections and above playing Premier League. I agree Chalk might struggle to play first grade next year, but he won't be alone. I would think the likes of Purtell, Howell, Kahler, Jones, Withers etc will all be under pressure. I was looking at another post re best 2007 side and found it difficult as I am hoping all selections are based on form at the time, something not apparent in 2006.

aussies1st

dubby said:
Dude, Frawley is NOT slow. He came from the clouds to mow down Todd Byrne this year, and when i saw the Raiders vs Broncos at Suncorp in 03 I remember Frawley made a break down the sideline and was only just caught from behind by Phil.

I think he looks slow because he is seems so darn apathetic about everything he does. Maybe he will show form next year in the centres (which is where we signed him to play).

As for Chalk; he was stood up at Parra Stadium on the wing as well if I recall.

His line defence is shocking when he plays in the forwards too. Please, I'm not bagging him out of anger or hate, but I think Chalky will be lucky to get a spot next year. He wont be required as a forward as we've got Costigan/Turner/Bickerstaff, and for wingers there's Best/Howell/Turtell who are all better than him as wingers (that comment makes me realise how weak we are for wingers). Fullback maybe his only shot.

:lol: Byrne got mowed down by Sattler so doesn't say much for Frawley.

SOULS 04

byrne didnt get mowed down by sattler.

satler hAD a decent head start on him and byrne tired to put on a goose step. if he had jsut put the foot down i dare say sattler would never have got him.

byrnes not the fatsed bloke but he is far from slow. i reckon he'd outrun purtell and maybe howell as well... not that we see those 2 in full flight often.

raidz3r

I would also have chalk as a winger over putell...its is still a mystery how purtell is playing fg. I remember during the storm game purtell being put in space 3 times by either carney or graham..other wingers would have scored atleast once.

Also when he takes a run from dummy half it is an automatic -5m gain..he honestly wouldnt be a winger in any other first grade team, including souths.