Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Change cap now or face exodus, stars warn

fish eel

The salary cap, IMO, to a certain extent does promote mediocrity. It levels the playing field and acts as a disincentive for clubs to do genuine long term planning.

Ron Jeremy

Still no one has bagged Inu? i mean he just signed a new lucrative contract yet is already talking about more? talk about greedy. Just shows the double standards on this board, i bet my good looks if this was Hayne we would've had 5 threads about it already.

Inu=Selfish prick, sook!

The French clubs can buy elite players, but they rarely produce their own. So they are actually parasitic on union and league since the pilfer talent but contribute little to the game of rugby union at an international level.

Not sure what you mean about the French at international level

French World Cup results

1987 2nd (Au 4th)
1995 3rd (Au 1st)
1999 2nd (Au 6th)
2003 4th (Au 2nd)
2007 4th (Au 5th)

They have been more consistent that us !

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/s...016365,00.html

Expert Opinion

Article from: The Courier-Mail

Canterbury serious about winning Sonny Bill test case

Warren Ryan | July 30, 2008 12:00am

THE Sonny Bill Williams walkout on his contract with the Bulldogs is an important test case and one Canterbury is very serious about winning.

Legal advice provided for this column by a prominent Sydney QC has been invaluable in unravelling what may lay ahead for Sonny Bill and his manager Khoder Nasser.

The subpoena served on Nasser is evidently a tactic to locate the whereabouts of Sonny Bill so that the Bulldogs can take out an interlocutory injunction on him in the NSW Supreme Court to prevent him playing rugby in France.

Apparently French law is part of European Union law and a European court will give effect to a ruling by a competent court in Australia.

Which means the Dogs are after a home-ground victory before they go to France for an away result.

David Gallop's initial hope that the International Rugby Board would intervene was wide of the mark. The IRB is concerned with matters affecting international teams and does not presume to have jurisdiction over club level football.

Sonny Bill is in breach of his contract by not turning up for the Dogs. His manager's puerile attempt to distance himself from his client is seen as a tactic to avoid having papers served on Sonny Bill via him.

The manoeuvre has failed.

My question to my legal source, "What could Sonny Bill be allowed to do if he elected to give up professional football altogether - lawn bowls, professional fishing or a stage career singing?" was answered briefly - "Rugby union is a rival league to the NRL, just as Super League was to the ARL."

Any injunction would not normally be granted if losses or damages could be made good, but Sonny Bill is regarded by the club as a key player and cannot readily be replaced. His star quality will be very easy to establish to a court.

NRL boss Gallop wasn't at the top of his game, firing from the hip when he said: "Sonny Bill will never play in the NRL again if he sets foot on a French rugby field." The point is, Williams may actually play a game or two before the legal process takes effect.

If then he's unable to return to the NRL because he's been banned, such a ruling by Gallop, presumably endorsed by the NRL Board, would "discharge" the contract because it would be impossible for Sonny Bill to fulfil it.

Put simply, Gallop banning Williams from playing NRL ever again would free him to do precisely what his Canterbury employers are trying to stop him doing.

It is impossible to interpret Sonny Bill's motives. They may go way deeper than dollar signs. He may also just be a pawn in an agenda being run by his manager. However, what kind of advice must he be getting to risk this year's $500,000 of Canterbury income on a very uncertain outcome in France?

His manager was quoted as saying "He's had enough." At which point we might ask: Enough of what? Fame? A grossly disproportionate amount of publicity for time spent on the field? Has he had enough of being required to accept some responsibility for his numerous off-field incidents? Has he had it with a life-in-a-fishbowl existence?

Craig Gower went to French rugby before the expiry of his contract. He had trouble with the life-in-a-fishbowl existence. He too had trouble off the field. He was also in denial about what he'd done.

Gower was let go without a fuss for good reason. He was near the end of his career and he took out a sizeable chunk of Penrith's salary cap.

Player misbehaviour isn't a modern invention. Lack of accountability, though, and the pathetic notion that it's always someone else's fault seems to be.

It's time Sonny Bill, and plenty of other players for that matter, took a good look at where they're getting their advice.

We all know the main problem with RL atm is News Limited, thing is we are stuck with them till 2017 IIRC. RL could be dead by then. They are bleeding the game dry with sh*thouse TV and Radio deals.

The Foxtel TV deal is an absolute joke, we have to more game's per round than the AFL and get less money :? even though we kill them in the ratings. Last yr RL got shifted to Fox 3, they knew all the League fans would pay for the extra channel and help fund Foxsports. Got back all the money they lost when they had a AFL channel. But AwFuL still get's paid more than League :?

And what is that Turnip Gallop say about this??? Thats right Absolutley nothing. No wonder Gould ripped into him on triple M.

fish eel

All the negative talk about the game, it becomes a self fullfilling prophecy.

Obviously, you dont want to ignore or paper over any cracks in the game - but the constant groping and moaning that comes out of league officials about how tough things are at the moment does nothing to advance the game.

Particuarly in the centenary year. Instead of talking about the world cup, most of the year has been spent talking about whether the lifeblood of the game, Sydney, is a drain on it.

And our CEO is one of the main offenders. All the negative talk does is paint the game in a poor light.

The best response I've heard from anyone in relation to SBW did not come from a league official. It came from the Treasurer, Wayne Swan, who, after giving a press conference had the following exchange with a journalist:

JOURNALIST:
I know you’re a Rugby League fan. Just quickly, the NRL’s facing a $2 million contract breach. Should Sonny Bill be made to honour his contract?

TREASURER:
Let me just say this. It has been a fantastic season for Rugby League and I don’t think Rugby League is going to miss Sonny Bill one bit.

http://www.treasurer.gov.au/Display...2008/101.htm&pageID=004&min=wms&Year=&DocType=

Daneel

Not sure what you mean about the French at international level

French World Cup results

1987 2nd (Au 4th)
1995 3rd (Au 1st)
1999 2nd (Au 6th)
2003 4th (Au 2nd)
2007 4th (Au 5th)

They have been more consistent that us !

I don't know where you got your info from but it is wrong. Aus won it in 91, South Africa won it in 95 not aus and aus won it in 99 not 6th

Daneel

At the end of the season every player who wants to go to french rugby or wherever just go. Give them a window of a month to negotiate and then f*ck off. I'll support the eels no matter who wears the jersey.

Having said that it is quite obvious the Nrl has dropped the ball where tv rights are concerned and it is time for gallop to f*ck off as well. Also that d*ckhead of a premier of Nsw and his pokie tax he can f*ck off and take his tax with him.

I think what's obvious here is that David Gallop is a spineless administrator who has no vision for the game.

All he ever does is wait for something to happen then give a poorly thought out, knee-jerk reaction to it.

Where's this so-called plan, Gallop? Show it to us fans, show it to the Clubs and show it to the players. Maybe then everyone will be able to stop running around like the sky is going to fall in.

Mine's probably not a popular view, but I reckon if $500K a year isn't enough for a player (plus what he and his manager can already organise for himself, if he's marketable enough), then I'm happy for those type of stars to have their exodus. Even if it means a couple of ours chasing the money to France etc.

Raudonikis

i would think hayne should be thinking of lifting his game a few notches before worrying about getting more money down the track

Daneel

Mine's probably not a popular view, but I reckon if $500K a year isn't enough for a player (plus what he and his manager can already organise for himself, if he's marketable enough), then I'm happy for those type of stars to have their exodus. Even if it means a couple of ours chasing the money to France etc.

I like your view and i know a lot of my friends share it. We won't miss the likes of Gasnier or SBW. Even as an eels fan i don't care if Hayne, Inu and Mateo decide to go. We will get by without them.

I agree, as well. If the NRL isn't good enough for them then they can piss off.

I guess I'm not for either side in this argument, more like against both sides, haha.

Raudonikis

i agree if they want that much money when they are already doing well financially let em go.There will always be guys wanting to play league and reach NRL level..Its not like we dont have great production lines and nurseries.

fish eel

The game has changed now Bart.

The best players can now, not only set themselves up for life, but also go along way to setting their family/kids up.

I know it's easy to look at how much they're earning and call them greedy - but geeze, if you were in a situation where you could guarantee yourself a comfortable life, AND your family/kids...what would you do?

TBH, I'd quite happily wear the greedy tag.

Ant

We are stuck between a rock and a hard place.

I don't think we can do much about lifting the salary cap. If clubs can't afford it and there is no new revenue about to come into the game there is no real way of making it higher.

I think the only thing we can do is look at the marque player option ala the A-league. But just remember we do already have similar deals and gasniers fell over.

But if you had perhaps 2 marque players per club, with unlimited 3rd party payments. This would create 36 spots available to our elite players and force them into being equally shared around the league.

So you could have a salary cap for your top 23 and then the top 2 would be outside the cap. I think the only problems would the division it may create within clubs. Say if you were 3rd best player on $400000 and number 1 was on a million.

Some clubs would not be able to afford to pay their marque players as much, but its not like other clubs would be able to steal all the stars. But much of it would have to come from a third party.

The world of sport when it comes to huge unsustainable fees is al driven by wealthy owners or 3rd parties who chip in their own money. Most English and Italian soccer sides are not profitable. Chelsea when they were buying all their stars at times lost 100 million in a year. Thats how french rugby is being driven too.

But the simple fact is we can't ever compete with the amount of money in Europe, NZ rugby have the same problem. Our market is not big enough and too competitive.

Yes the some ARU players are on large fees, but that probably counts for about 20 players over 500000, maybe less. Its not a lot of guys and most professional rugby players (super 14 standard) earn on average less than NRL first graders. Most super 14 teams lose money.

A-league salary cap is only 1.9 mill plus them marque player.

Only the AFL get more money than us, we have a inferior tv deal compared to them, but that deal was a dying packer move to steal afl or force the other networks to pay over the odds for it. The afl deal is over the odds and all analysts say those networks would actually lose money on it.
We should get more, but we are stuck with it for a while.

2 marque players is my only solution.

Slick

Lift the cap by a small amount, say 100 000 - 250 000 per year? Then allow 1 marque player per club who is exempt from the sallary cap, allow any player to earn 3rd party money - as much as they can that is also exempt from the cap [this would have to be policed closely]. Finally give cap discounts for long serving players, say 10 years at the one club over the age of 18 counts as a 50% reduction from that players cap contribution. Easy!

Still no one has bagged Inu? i mean he just signed a new lucrative contract yet is already talking about more? talk about greedy. Just shows the double standards on this board, i bet my good looks if this was Hayne we would've had 5 threads about it already.

Inu=Selfish prick, sook!

Why? All he said was that he's under contract for two more years and hopes that he won't have a difficult decision to make when his contract is up....just because the reporters said it was ominous doesn't mean it really was. All he said was he hoped they fix the issues with the cap by the time his contract is over.

The game has changed now Bart.

The best players can now, not only set themselves up for life, but also go along way to setting their family/kids up.

I know it's easy to look at how much they're earning and call them greedy - but geeze, if you were in a situation where you could guarantee yourself a comfortable life, AND your family/kids...what would you do?

TBH, I'd quite happily wear the greedy tag.
I know it has changed. I was just staing my view of what I think is important in/about the game and for its direction/survival in the future, and stating to an extent my view what type of contest I most enjoy watching.

Even with all our stars in teh code at the moment, the footy being played is generally pretty dire (not just our lot!), and we don't see the skills on display that we used to see imo, even paying these skilled athletes as much as the game can to keep them in the code.

I didn't call them greedy in this post... and I'm probably the wrong person to ask about whether I'd take the money and run or not :lol:.

I understand everyone is different (and this isn't meant to sound judgemental in anyway ;-)), but I have come to know that getting more than an average wage isn't a major driver for me in my life?

But I respect that other people could make a valid choice to do so if they were in that position, even while stating that my personal position is that I wouldn't. I'm not trying to be proscriptive at all.