Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

charity shield side

grouch

Oh please, the only reason you think Cook is any good is because he's not playing for us. No one cared when he left.

Yeah nah. When Mitch Rein is your hooker it's natural for any fan to keep aware of the hookers below him within the club. Many fans questioned the wisdom of allowing both King and Cook to leave at the same time. . Especially since peanuts would have kept Cook at the club. He's surpassed Rein comfortably now.

Do people here only think Rein is any good because he plays for us?

Wittenberg

He often seems to misread the play in attack and we miss opportunities. Can't fault him in defence, or his heart, but we need him to take positive options in attack.

BLM01

I can overlook the errors and silly options...but what really worries me is the attacking structure. All afternoon we stood so flat that no one had any chance to show anything in attack. I hope this is not the new attacking structures we have been hearing about. Broncos, Cowboys etc do not stand flat like that but give their backs plenty of space to show their attacking skills.

I wouldn't be too harsh on Lafai just yet..on todays performance I would be keeping Duges at fullback with Aitken/ Lafai in centres and Mann on bench with a roving role
Now that is a perfect summation and 100% agree with

BLM01

A few things of note from the game, it seems the ruck speed has not changed at all with the refs allowing plenty of slow play. The refs also didn't police the 10 at all. The shot clo9ck on the scrums is an interesting one, but still seemed slow.

Our prop rotation looks good with Ah Mau, Packer, Creagh, Cooper and Lui. I look forward to seeing more of Milne and Aitken in the back line as well as Mann at the back.
I have to agree. The wrestle from Souths and good luck to them was superior than ours. And ohhh the play the ball. The crack down wont last to Round 2 as in the All Stars game they let people get up by planting the ball on the ground first (against the rule) and a few got away without playing it properly, So the crack down will diminish as it did 2 years ago..why. cause we cant upset the TV product of a fast game at any cost. Shot clock on scrums and 30 secs? whatever it is is still too long...and who will they penalise for not forming in time.

duck

FIrst trial and coming back from injury, but Benji was pretty average.
Erm. Probably because it was his first trial and coming back from injury.

But this on Rein ...
He often seems to misread the play in attack and we miss opportunities. Can't fault him in defence, or his heart, but we need him to take positive options in attack.
... is spot on.

And just think, we were missing;

GI
johnston
Keary
Reynolds
Kyle Turner
Sam Burgess
George Burgess
Tom Burgess
Dave Tyrell
Chris Grevsmulh

Plus Crichton. He is a star of the future.

Worrying signs for St George supporters.

You saw how good Souths depth is.

In Madge I trust.

:lol: Congrats on your trial win! You guys will obviously go on and win the GF after that performance!:crazy:

You were incorrect re Souths depth. I bet you were shocked. Madge knows what he's doing.

Anyway good luck for the season.

Also, Benji was ordinary, you guys were out enthused and there were worrying signs.

Its a only a trial Big man,take it easy buddy. We had heaps out as well and from what both teams dished up,neither will give the title a shake.

We had 11 out. We had lots of Bears players on the bench.

You had 5 out. On paper your team was definitely stronger.

With 4million of our cap out what Souths dished up was great tbh with you. Very good signs.

You guys really should have won by about 16 points. But you guys were more average than I thought. Worrying signs.

Ha! Game plans; what game plans?!

Straight Shooter

OV on the odd occasion I think you hit the mark on others ??????????

Sometimes the worth of your good comment is lost in the argy bargy or overreaction to your other posts.

I agree we seem to have no game plans we look like chooks with their heads cut off.

I agree we often have apologists for bad performance when this a high performance industry and anything less than 100% effort should be questioned.

I agree that our management has much to answer for re coaching staff, team selections, inability to attract top of their game headline players.

However the club does not get 100% of what it does wrong and after all the players have a lot of ownership in the outcomes as well.

Some positive outcomes are achieved and should be acknowledged and the bad outcomes tempered against them.

Being a realist on a prima facie basis it could be a long hard year ahead because lots of apologies already being offered.

duck

Dear Rabbits20,
I haven't been here long so it's probably not my place to say this. But here's an idea. How about you f&$k off back to the Rabbits forum you arse wipe troll.
Love
Duck

Quote:
Originally Posted by twinkletoes View Post
I can overlook the errors and silly options...but what really worries me is the attacking structure. All afternoon we stood so flat that no one had any chance to show anything in attack. I hope this is not the new attacking structures we have been hearing about. Broncos, Cowboys etc do not stand flat like that but give their backs plenty of space to show their attacking skills.

I wouldn't be too harsh on Lafai just yet..on todays performance I would be keeping Duges at fullback with Aitken/ Lafai in centres and Mann on bench with a roving role
Now that is a perfect summation and 100% agree with

Mann on the bench when he has plainly offered more than Lafai madness for mine.

We have every right to be harsh on Lafai because he came with a reputation, supposedly training the house down and he has to deliver from the get go not just assume a position like a rite of passage.

Remember Gaz and Coops copping plenty of unwarranted criticism when the halves and hooker performed ordinarily.

Lafai like all other centres perform better when they get early ball and some space to move

Big man

Lafai needs to show interest in defence, he was woeful.

Lafi had one ineffective tackle on auava which resulted in try but that's his only real notable blunder. I watched the game again and notice he made three try saving tackles on Sutton, Hunt and another player close to the try line. I think the criticism is a little harsh for a first hit out. Its very hard to judge an outside back in a terrible game like last night. There was no fluency and no momentum for long periods. Both sets of halves were atrocious and didn't give any clean early ball to their respective backs.

Right again Big Man

Are you sure you support Souths ?