Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Charity Shield v Dragons on Sun 19th Feb @ ANZ

foreverinourshadow

who the hell is making madge play tyrrell?or is madge losing it??i knew mcinnes was never going to cut the mustard full time at souths why cant the powers at souths see that if we have a team with (last years mcinnes) and tyrrell and clark and turner and nielsen and the other duds that were on my list how the hell are we going to take on the likes of the broncs or storm or the cowboys or the sharks if we had of mysteriously made the 8 but i know we cant compete. these (5 duds) would not get a spot in any of these 4 teams above and even easts or manly or canberra or the dogs to name a few more clubs would not want these duds in their top 17....for god sake drain the swamp at redfern oval during training...P.S. Here is the team that can possibly make the (8) in 2017 Shadow...

Shadows Top 17:::
1. inglis
2. aj
3. hunt
4. jennings
5. burns
6. walker
7. reynolds
8. tburgi
9. farah
10. musgrove
11. sutton
12. rochow
13. samburgi
bench:cook,gburgi,cherrington,crichton.

Training is training
Unfortunately we have all seen DT get absolutely monstered for the last 2 seasons even by backs
He is making zero impact and f**k all metres
Surely there is a big young metre eater out there ready to rumble Madge must be blind
Spot on BR.

We know what we are talking about mate.

Some of the others are hoping for miracles that won't happen.

dave tyrrell is as useless as mcinnes i love how the fools know nothing its unbelievable at least BR and R20 see where im coming from...tyrrell needs to grab a souths cares tshirt ASAP......Shadow knows......
Correct.

It's a business these days and unfortunately he is past it.

doyen

I hate metre-eaters--they're dumb & mindless!![& boring}.

Where's our classy ball-player?????????????

The only two that have shown any promise in the ball-use dept. in the past are Sutton & Cherrington ,the latter being compared to SBW early in his career!!

Metre-eaters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!??????????????

Tyrrell may not have made a lot of metres but he may have stopped the opposition from making 100s of metres with his solid defence!! Maybe one should add those saved metres to his ordinary go-forward!

southy he is not in rd1 yet cheeky and i doubt he will be although we got heaps of duds you might be right??
For the CS the concern is for the starting pack it'll be left to George and Sam.

When hit ups are needed Tyrrell and Turner don't put their hands up as proven over the years.

alien

Maguire's Insights: Charity Shield
Tue 14th February, 05:30PM

Competition is the key word for Michael Maguire ahead of our Charity Shield clash with the St George Illawarra Dragons. After watching his young Rabbitohs put in a strong performance against the Sea Eagles in last weekend's Campbelltown trial match, Maguire is open to which players will earn a starting spot in Round One.

With Campbelltown providing a good hit-out for his squad, Maguire declares there is a hunger and focus on improving around the Simply Energy High Performance Centre. Bringing back in his senior players, Maguire is expecting the competition for places in his final squad to lift performances.

"There is still obviously a lot of competition in the team," said Maguire.

"It's another opportunity for our players to get out and perform and get close to that round one team. At the end of the day there is plenty of opportunity for our players to put their performances out on the park."

With Maguire opting to rest Inglis for the Charity Shield after his Indigenous All Stars efforts, the coach is excited by the opportunities in his back line as Alex Johnston shifts to fullback.

"Obviously young Sifa (Siosifa Talakai), I thought he performed very well against Manly and he's got the opportunity this week," said Maguire.

"But right across the park - as you look at the guys that are sitting on the bench, I've got a lot of quality sitting there - I'm sure they're going to be ready to go when they get the chance."

One position that is proving especially difficult for the Head Coach to decide on is the hooker role, with both Farah and Cook improving in pre-season.

"Both the boys will get forty minutes (in the Charity Shield)," said Maguire.

"I want to see how they perform and that will lead into what we have in round one. They're two very quality players and I'm looking forward to how we use them moving forward.

"Both can be in the team, Cookie (Damien Cook) is a very versatile player and a very good number nine as well. I'm very spoilt in that area."

Although the on-field battle is going to be an exciting one, the Charity Shield is set to once again shine a spotlight on the great work Souths Cares does in the community and that's a point that Maguire doesn't want overlooked.

"Souths Cares, as everyone knows, is a major part of who we are," said Maguire.

"I think it's something great for our players to focus on outside of footy. We do a lot for the community around here and boys really enjoy doing that and that's a big part of who we are."

http://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2017/02/14/maguire_s_insights_c.html

foreverinourshadow

""damien cookie cook"" is a gun just watch this year when he racks up some brilliant speed-demon tries i just cant wait for this to happen in 2017....Shadow...

Travitoh

""damien cookie cook"" is a gun just watch this year when he racks up some brilliant speed-demon tries i just cant wait for this to happen in 2017....Shadow...

I can't wait either. I've been waiting for him to score at least one or even break the line since round one last season!

doyen

I can't wait either. I've been waiting for him to score at least one or even break the line since round one last season!

I remember watching Zeroman during that final series with the DOGS a couple of years back.

He did some impressive stuff for a short time on the back of the Dogs big forwards. A bit like the end of last season but NOT too impressive in that case, really!

How come he has never given a glimpse of any such form at Sths??? Nothing,ZILCH!!!!

He's been a sorry sight at Sths since his arrival--he has been a disappointment--I have my serious doubts re. his toughness but I hope he proves me wrong!!

Sadly,I don't think he has what is required!!