Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

cheerleaders Gonski

gunnamatta bay

Dave Q said:
Nothing over here to worry about Ronnie.

The other day I visited Richo and I almost tripped over the couple of Premiership trophies he was using as doorstops.

We have so many, we just dont know what to do with them.

Maybe we can melt a few down to make tap dancing shoes.

After all, its not like we would miss a couple!

Thats when it was the NSWRL wasn't it Dave? Ah the good old days when the furthest you had to travel was Brookvale (pre sharks and panthers) and Bondi Junction was the centre of the universe. Nothing like a bit of nostalgia.

Sheros los Deros said:
Souths won the mid week comp in 1980 beating the Sharks. I watched it but my memory of the actual game is not good.

Rocky Laurie played for them and Ziggy Niscott from memory.

3 days later we played them again and beat 'em.

Dave Q

Yeah Rocky would have played and a high probability of Ziggy. Mario too perhaps.

Greg Pierce for the sharks I suppose. Was this the Kurt and Dane Sorenson era?

I think it would have been under the four-quarter football regime that was so popular in these games.

Those were the days.

The winners got a Thin Lizzy t-shirt and a Torana SLR 5000 look-a-like.

People used to watch Channel nine and Souths had cheerleaders with long eyelashes.

Quigs might be able to help us with the sides.

Just to hop back on topic for a second, if i may, I am not pleased to see the cheerleaders go wholesale.

I used to enjoy their pretty faces and warm smiles. Its part of the game for mine.

spider

Didnt the footballs used have white stripes around them as well, for that form of the game at night?

newman

I applaud Russell Crowe for his progressive, forward thinking attitude and hope more Clubs follow his lead.

God I thought Id never say that.!

Dave Q

SpiderShark said:
Didnt the footballs used have white stripes around them as well, for that form of the game at night?

Yeah and they used to put paint or grease on their faces under their eyes to assist with the glare from the 30 candlelight power towers glistening at Leichardt.

These days its just regular eyeshadow.

From a distance, people used to think the aliens were trying to tractor beam the Balmian power station!

I want the girls back.

I used to love to see them bouncing along.

They gave us something to cheer about for the last few years.

In the name of equality, Rusty's next trick is to send them into the game. Too much time in hollywood I'd say.

spider

Big Russ just needs to let JT do the job at hand.

Im all for his enthusiasm - but keep him away from instructing 'what lines and patterns to run' - lol

Those types of things remind me of another club that 'hopefully' has had its umbilical cord cut preventing the wanna be's from interferring with coaches.

newman

nice person...

I am 100% confident of my sexuality. Not like some people who are so insecure that they feel the need to advertise theirs at every opportunity (like with an avatar on a message board). What are you trying to prove with that anyway? That its original or Impressive to like hot women in bikins? I mean, who doesnt? Geez..

Jimbo

newman said:
I am 100% confident of my sexuality. Not like some people who are so insecure that they feel the need to advertise theirs at every opportunity (like with an avatar on a message board). What are you trying to prove with that anyway? That its original or Impressive to like hot women in bikins? I mean, who doesnt? Geez..

Relax guy, it isn't real!!

Sheesh...

Steel Dragon

I for one am disappointed - when youre at your teams away matches - the cheerleaders doing their thing always seemed to softened the blow when your team had a try scored on them.

Russ is probably trying to save a bit of cash by boning the cheerleaders.

jc155776

I like the ideas of the drums, get it into an insane soccer kinda atmosphere, could be intimidating.

Maybe have the Drums AND Cheerleaders.

I reckon we need some Bagpipes blasting down at Shark Park....

Dave Q

What strange irony Rusticus Gladeratius,

That thee are trying to get women back to the game by taking them out of it.

N'eer a finer sight in thee game than young damsel in glittering attire or less of it.

Thy drum beats as doth the heart for beauty greater than thou and thou of thy same gender!

Drumbeat? Thy tune is out of step my lord. Hollywoodus maximus.

Bendeth over and kisseth thy rabbit.

I always thought the cheergirls were a bit young to be scant clad imo (ok at some stage they wernt too young) but theres an art to it and it gets the youngsters that have put the time in to dance and show off their creative talents.

Theres never a shortage of them and like any performer (Newman) they can take it further to which would result in maybe a feather in thier cap towards whatever goal that that particular art can retain.

Russel Crowe has hurt alot of young up and coming performers from the exposure that they deserve.

He should butt out and so should you ol' matey ;)

sharkadelic

jc155776 said:
I like the ideas of the drums, get it into an insane soccer kinda atmosphere, could be intimidating.

Maybe have the Drums AND Cheerleaders.

I reckon we need some Bagpipes blasting down at Shark Park....

Bagpipes are never a good idea. Never.

Cheerleaders are always a good idea. God forbid Souths fans and unsuspecting away fans have to put up with Thirty Odd Foot of Grunt at half time

newman

If I want sex, Ill go to a strip club. Or you know, have sex. Its got nothing to do with football, never have and never will. And the way some blokes carry on when they see 'em (Ive actually heard a bloke on the hill say in a clear loud voice, "Id love to ram it in her arse" when they walked by) Rustys argument that it makes people uncomfortable (by people, he means women) is dead on, and several mothers, girlfriends and young girls were certainly made to feel uncomfortable by that bogan.

newman said:
And the way some blokes carry on when they see 'em (Ive actually heard a bloke on the hill say in a clear loud voice, "Id love to ram it in her arse" when they walked by) Rustys argument that it makes people uncomfortable (by people, he means women) is dead on, and several mothers, girlfriends and young girls were certainly made to feel uncomfortable by that bogan.

Yeah I got a bit carried away that day. Like talking on a mobile phone, you dont realise how loud you are.
Anyway, I apologised to them both the next day when we woke up.

TheGodFather

Jimbo said:
Souths deserve the wooden spoon for the next five years for this

If it ever happens at Cronulla, there'll be hell to pay...

That's true, the Sharkettes are probably the best sugar and spice in the League. And the junior programs for cheerleading are a great idea. No one forces girls or for that matter guys into cheerleading, they chose it, enjoy it and so do most crowds.

Altho probably lucky the Sharkies have good cheerleaders, cuz the Footy team is woeful and their Grandstand / Leaguesclub in the Sand Dunes in the middle of no where was never a smart idea.