Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

clarification please mods

Macca said:
You are entitled to question it Willow, but I can tell you that it was prime reason.
No it wasn't. I know it for a fact.
The decision to set up a new domain was made by cssc prior to any discussion with LU.
By all means you're welcomed to make your own decisions but please don't suggest that LU gave you the 'sponsorship clash' reason. You already made your decision before talking about it.

clayderman.jpg

I claim this space as the one hundred and eleventy post. I was here to witness this epic thread. And I love it.

I love all tears.

beekershark

Willow said:
Once again I stress that you make your own commercial decisions and please do so with my best wishes.

But as I said before, I seriously question the 'sponsorship clash' as being the prime reason for the decision. The cssc decision was made before the door was open to discussions or negotiations. As you say, you acted very quickly.

Cheers.

Sorry Willow but you alluded to this earlier in response to what I said and again you question maccas explanation.

Catagorically the new website and forum was definately NOT arranged prior to the sponsorship banner being removed from the old site last week. The minutes of the most recent cssc meeting clearly show this, I;m sure Dreads records of correspondance,payment etc of the new hosting provider etc will reflect this because as a committee member I can hand on heart swear that the decision to move was not planned, rather hastily organised in response to the issue last week when the new sponsorship emerged and was activited by way of banner advertising on the site.

beekershark

Willow said:
No it wasn't. I know it for a fact.
The decision to set up a new domain was made by cssc prior to any discussion with LU.
By all means you're welcomed to make your own decisions but please don't suggest that LU gave you the 'sponsorship clash' reason. You already made your decision before talking about it.

Ahh I see where the confusion may be coming from Willow. I don't see anyone saying that LU gave the sponsorship clash as the reason mate, if thats how it read then it shouldn't. I made no bones about it, and nor did Macca , in saying that the CSSC committee made the call based on financial reasons, I read that macca made that rather clear. The CSSC made the call because of the sponsorship clash, ie stay with LU and the wonderful service you have provided over the past year or so but NOT accept the new sponsorship deal, OR go to a new site and keep the sponsorship deal.

LU was never to be painted as the bad guy here who made the call.

My point being that if the sponsorship issue didnt raise its head late last week ( dates ?? ) then the cssc would still be where it was on LU . But that issue came up, decision was made, no one was the bad guy and as previous correspondance with LU has highlighted,we are all happy to move on and get along.

The people commenting who are not involved at all are the ones that seem to be causing the confusion and/or stirring an imaginary rift between LU and the CSSC that just doesnt exist.

I might be speaking *WAY* out of school here.. but I'm reading the tone of Beeks and Macca as a massive f**k you to LU. And not in one of those manly up-front f**k you kind of ways... more in a sniveling 'no REALLY... thanks HEAPS for your support *snicker*" kind of ways..

But I've been wrong before.

beekershark said:
Catagorically the new website and forum was definately NOT arranged prior to the sponsorship banner being removed from the old site last week.
The claim was that the new website was arranged because of a conflict between sponsors. This is not the case because the new website was arranged before I even mentioned our sponsor.
beekershark said:
Ahh I see where the confusion may be coming from Willow. I don't see anyone saying that LU gave the sponsorship clash as the reason mate, if thats how it read then it shouldn't.
It has been given as the reason here as well as elsewhere.

And yes, that's how it read, but it shouldn't have been. Agreed on that point.

Thanks.

newman

f**king hell.

Just finished all 12 pages.

Ive been trying to quit the forum for ages. This might just be what gets me over the line.

beekershark

Read what I'm saying Willow. LU did not give the sponsorship clash as the reason, the CSSC did.

As for the new website being set up, straight up and down, undeniably it was set up as a direct result of LU not being happy ( understandably in hindsight) with the CSSC putting a new advertising banner on their old website and a short email was sent from you to the cssc about it. Again, LU gave the CSSC no ultimatums and the decision was left entirely in the hands of the CSSC committee and they chose to go elsewhere.

That is how it happened and I fail to see where there is any confusion or any relevance to be honest. it's done, LU have said they are happy to move on and work together, so have the CSSC.

Surely

I'd like to nominate this thread as the LU skirt thread of the year.

All this bitching I'm surprised any of you have time to do a facial.

beekershark

Willow said:
The claim was that the new website was arranged because of a conflict between sponsors. This is not the case because the new website was arranged before I even mentioned our sponsor.It has been given as the reason here as well as elsewhere.

For this to be True Willow, the new cssc website would have had to have been arranged prior to when ? Friday april 20th approx 12.57am ? I use that time because that is the time of the email sent to the committee from our web manager informing the committee that the banner had been pulled that evening of thursday april 19th. The issue and options were discussed at length during the day of April 20th friday and over the following weekend. The web hosting for the new site was not purchased until Monday 23rd April.

Infact it was 6.27pm monday that the new cssc address was confirmed and the committee informed about it via email.

So when was the csscs new advertising banner removed from the old site by yourself and when did you email the cssc web manager to inform him of that ? if it was before friday 20th ie last weekend then its pretty clear that the initiation of said new cssc website was clearly after the sponsorship issue.

Again, it's not and has never been claimed that LU has acted in anyway poorly towards the CSSC, quite the opposite, but facts are facts and if you or anyone feels there is an issue with the facts as I or Macca or anyone portrays here then I feel obligated to state my reasons for understanding things to have happened in a particular order.

Macca and I were just being totally honest as to why we, as members of the committee over discussions last weekend, acted with the rest of the committee to start a new website. It's not anything clandistine, we werent even having a whinge, just played the shot as the delivery was bowled and were happy to live and let live and continue to support LU in their endevours. Nothings changed.

Inferno

millersnose said:
you dont need my permission to do your job

Thats true, but I also like to know what if anything is bothering members of the forum.

i think you are confusing me with someone else

go and check

I may be wrong here, and if so I apologise. I had a quick look for the thread but couldn't find the thread, so I'm retracting this one.

dont take this personally inferno

i couldnt hack it as a mod so i resigned

i am talking about moderating here in its totality

I'm not taking it personally, frankly I am glad someone is speaking up about the moderating and how they want it done.

and as a moderator you arent alarmed by the people in this thread who have declared the unattractiveness of the personal attacks and therefor are reluctant to participate?
To a degree but I found most were giving as good as they get.

tell me inferno

what do you think a mods role is?

Basically nothing, unless people have issues, in which case it is to attempt to resolve them as quickly and amicably as possible. Outside of that I am just a regular poster. At the end of the day though I work for the benefit of all shark forum members, whatever they want I am happy to subscribe to whether I agree with it or not.

well if 'great' is people leaving in droves then congratulations

Well actually I was referring to every 2nd thread turning into a Noddybash and I was joking.

do you think a split is good for the forum?

do you think long term posters who dont want to post here is good for the forum?

Probably not. But if people want to pick up their ball and leave that is their personal choice.

It is a damn shame long term posters are leaving. I got a PM from a guy this morning whose kind of had enough with it all and is leaving, and if he's reading this I hope he changes his mind, because I personally enjoy reading opinions that are the opposite of mine.

DO YOU f**king JOB MODERATORS AND STOP PETTY PERSONAL FUEDS GETTING OUT OF HAND

SIR YES SIR *salutes.

Of course then problem becomes the interpretation of what is getting out of hand. It is a pretty grey area, and what I think is getting out of hand others may think is just warming up.

May have to create a poll to see how the majority of the forum feels about it. The majority might agree with you and thats cool, but if they don't I don't want to go ahead and piss off forumites.

The Nulla

Surely said:
I'd like to nominate this thread as the LU skirt thread of the year.

All this bitching I'm surprised any of you have time to do a facial.

Agreed. So very, very sad.

I would have ended it long ago...

beekershark said:
The web hosting for the new site was not purchased until Monday 23rd April.
Domain was registered on the 22nd actually. CSSC had made their decision already.

So when was the csscs new advertising banner removed from the old site by yourself and when did you email the cssc web manager to inform him of that ?
It was a PM.

It that instance, it was not about the banner being pulled down. Its about it being put up in the first place.
FYI, Garbs (and therefore cssc) agreed to discuss all advertising with LU. That didnt happen.

Now I'm not worried about this, we have been very flexible in the past and that should have meant something. But I did want to talk about it.

In my initial PM, it was a short message asking to have a chat. I never received a reply to that message.

I chased it up a couple of days later.

LU sponsor was not mentioned by me until 23/7/04. And even then, it was part of a message seeking negotiation and discussion (perhaps you didn't know this).
As mentioned, the cssc site was registered on 22/7/04, the day before.

I'm merely trying to set the record straight. Draw from that what you like.

Quite frankly, I think its all very silly. Perhaps if someone had of spoken to us, the matter may have been sorted in five minutes. But for that to happen, it would have required both parties showing a willingness to talk. But I'm now of the view that this move had been coming for sometime.

fizman

Willow said:
Domain was registered on the 22nd actually. CSSC had made their decision already.

It was a PM.

It that instance, it was not about the banner being pulled down. Its about it being put up in the first place.
FYI, Garbs (and therefore cssc) agreed to discuss all advertising with LU. That didnt happen.

Now I'm not worried about this, we have been very flexible in the past and that should have meant something. But I did want to talk about it.

In my initial PM, it was a short message asking to have a chat. I never received a reply to that message.

I chased it up a couple of days later.

LU sponsor was not mentioned by me until 23/7/04. And even then, it was part of a message seeking negotiation and discussion (perhaps you didn't know this).
As mentioned, the cssc site was registered on 22/7/04, the day before.

I'm merely trying to set the record straight. Draw from that what you like.

Quite frankly, I think its all very silly. Perhaps if someone had of spoken to us, the matter may have been sorted in five minutes. But for that to happen, it would have required both parties showing a willingness to talk. But I'm now of the view that this move had been coming for sometime.

I wasn't aware of this new evidence.

millersnose

why are the cssc pretending hat this registration took place after it did?

just be up front about it boys

macca already said the new forum was a financial decision and it is clear the new forum is a vehicle to deny LU any share of income derived from its activities and hosting

and fiz checking a registration is a simple matter

i am amazed at these attempts at muddying the waters

its done now and trying to make yourselves out to be angels may work with some kids who dont care but others can see for themselves

maybe you guys should quit defending it now before you make any more gaffes

millersnose

Inferno said:
Thats true, but I also like to know what if anything is bothering members of the forum.

well you have a nice catalogue in this very thread

I may be wrong here, and if so I apologise. I had a quick look for the thread but couldn't find the thread, so I'm retracting this one.

ok

I'm not taking it personally, frankly I am glad someone is speaking up about the moderating and how they want it done.

To a degree but I found most were giving as good as they get.
well i think clearly that wasnt the case

and look where we are today

Basically nothing, unless people have issues, in which case it is to attempt to resolve them as quickly and amicably as possible. Outside of that I am just a regular poster. At the end of the day though I work for the benefit of all shark forum members, whatever they want I am happy to subscribe to whether I agree with it or not.

here

The vast majority of members join forums to have reasonable and good humoured discussions. However, there are a minority who try to stand out from the crowd by attacking other members.
If one member is being excessively abusive to another member, then deletions of post(s) may be warranted. These are posts which are excessive or by accepted description, are personally threatening.
Additionally, any posts which vilify or aggressively single out another member will be deleted.

Members who repeatedly attack other members in this manner will have their forum membership suspended.

This requires moderator discretion but in basic terms, any member who continually creates disruptions to threads will be advised to cease with their activity. Failure to comply with this advice will result in an expulsion warning or immediate suspension.

Probably not. But if people want to pick up their ball and leave that is their personal choice.

dont you see it as your role to help avoid getting to the point were a clique dominates the forum and turn posters away in droves with spiteful attacks?

It is a damn shame long term posters are leaving. I got a PM from a guy this morning whose kind of had enough with it all and is leaving, and if he's reading this I hope he changes his mind, because I personally enjoy reading opinions that are the opposite of mine.

well perhaps you should listen to his complaints

SIR YES SIR *salutes.

Of course then problem becomes the interpretation of what is getting out of hand. It is a pretty grey area,

well we can safely say this is pretty f**king black and white

May have to create a poll to see how the majority of the forum feels about it.

the majority of the forum that are left will be quite happy with your moderating

but you are not in a popularity contest

as a matter of fact your role necessitates doing unpopular things

The majority might agree with you and thats cool, but if they don't I don't want to go ahead and piss off forumites.

its a little late to be 'pissing off forumites'

we have just suffered a massive walkout

f**k IT....

I've just read 12 pages.

I'm on the blower to ARIES.... we need astroboy back ... and back quickly.

This joints to boring and there's not munch bickering going down.

Fire up bitches.

I was at the Dawn Service the other morning and reflected on what those mighty blokes and fine ladies all served and a bloody lot died for...... yep ...

We've got a lot of serious problems in our world ranking rugby league forum - and so much serious conflicts

I'm off to play wiff me trains. Got to put me new signal box together. Its moulded coloured plastic. True HO scale.

Declared Idiot #88 and Fat Controller