Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Congrats to the Broncos.

Pantherjim.

Congrats to the Broncos Fans. Your boys played well and were certainly the better team on the day. A Well deserved win.

I'm just praying my boys will bounce back from this slump! [-o<

Pantherjim.

Campbell,P-4040201L.jpg

thuganomics

The Broncos, Storm, Dragons have really stood up this year. This competion has never been harder to pick. #-o

Kaz

junior
Thanks

thuganomics said:
The Broncos, Storm, Dragons have really stood up this year. This competion has never been harder to pick. #-o

The best part about the Broncos, is that they are not playing to their full potential.

miccle

Thanks heaps pantherjim - always a good sport! I think the big congrats also has to go to all panthers, broncs and neutral fans who went there yesterday. 37,745 is a fantastic result for rugby league in brisbane and I was so damn happy to be a part of it.

DRRRAGONS

Great Crowd and great to see the Broncos playing exciting footy, spreading the ball in their own half from mistakes and generally being very entertaining

Shifty

The Broncos are at the top of their game, Barry Berrigan, Darren Lockyer and Gorden Tallis have been consistently strong.

The difference this year can also be put down to good performances across the park. Last year players like Meyers, Webb and Parker didn't contribute consistently.

The Panthers should hit back, they have come up against two quality sides in red hot form.

simon says

I remember at the start of the year,most people were predicting Brisbane to NOT make the top 8.There must be a lot of people with egg on their faces right now.

I just dont see how a team with so many stars isnt an automtaic to make the top 8.I reckon theyll go close to winning it.

Razor

simon says said:
I remember at the start of the year,most people were predicting Brisbane to NOT make the top 8.There must be a lot of people with egg on their faces right now.

The Broncos were first after 14 rounds last year, and finished 8th, and if Parra had won in Round 26, the Broncos would have finisehd 9th.

I thought, and still think the Broncos will make the 8, but in 8th place. I had Warriors, Penrith, Wests, NQ, Eels pencilled in as wins to the Broncos, only tipped to lose Storm and Roosters matches, so they are on track still for me with only 1 extra win.

Azkatro

On current form, and with the side they've got, I'm pretty convinced that the Broncos will run away with the title this season. I realised how strong their side really is in their game against the Roosters. With their stars firing, and Bennett calling the shots as we know he can, I don't think there's a side out there at the moment that can stop them.

Tupac Shakur

Too many errors we had chances but blown them and let in too many soft tries. We do need to win next week against the Tigers thats for sure.

Razor

Azkatro said:
On current form, and with the side they've got, I'm pretty convinced that the Broncos will run away with the title this season. I realised how strong their side really is in their game against the Roosters. With their stars firing, and Bennett calling the shots as we know he can, I don't think there's a side out there at the moment that can stop them.

But don't the Broncos and the Brisbane media say that the Roosters are over the salary cap at the moment because it's impossible to have so much talent and remain under, whilst the Broncos next year will have the same team and bid for Tuqiri and Thorn, making them even stronger. So therefore the Broncos and Brisbane media must think their current team is very poor, if they are under the cap and trying to sign $600k-$700k of players for next season, whilst another club is over the cap at the moment.

miccle

Thorn? I doubt that will happen. But Tuquiri? Well it has already been well documented that gordy may be leaving the club. If he stays, he will apparently take a huge pay cut for the year. It is also hard to see Tony staying on after this year, with Hunt in such amazing form. I think gordy either leaving or being paid less, plus Tony leaving may free up some room in the cap.

I don't think the roosters are over the cap at all, and I'm sure the broncos aren't. If the broncos had some strategy to be over the cap, we wouldn't have let go all those talented players we've had to let go over the last few years. Simple as that.

Kaz

junior
Razor said:
But don't the Broncos and the Brisbane media say that the Roosters are over the salary cap at the moment because it's impossible to have so much talent and remain under, whilst the Broncos next year will have the same team and bid for Tuqiri and Thorn, making them even stronger. So therefore the Broncos and Brisbane media must think their current team is very poor, if they are under the cap and trying to sign $600k-$700k of players for next season, whilst another club is over the cap at the moment.

Provide a link to where the Broncos are saying the Roosters are over the cap.

Just because Tuqiri is making a packet in Union, doesn' mean he will be on the same money if he switches back to League.

Granted Tuqiri is a Union International but is not a current Rep star in League.

So it doesn't mean he will get the so called 600k-$700k that you are saying he is worth.

Razor

Kaz said:
Provide a link to where the Broncos are saying the Roosters are over the cap.

You read the papers, you listen to the radio. You know very well what several journalists say.

Granted Tuqiri is a Union International but is not a current Rep star in League.

So it doesn't mean he will get the so called 600k-$700k that you are saying he is worth.

Tuqiri $400k a year. Thorn $200k a year.

Kaz

junior
Razor said:
You read the papers, you listen to the radio. You know very well what several journalists say.

You said the Broncos & Brisbane Media.

Yes the Media are quizzing about the Roosters.

So where is the link to where the Broncos have mentioned the Roosters & the cap.

If the Broncos mentioned the Roosters & the Cap, it would be in the papers, so I am asking for a link.

Kiwi

Razor said:
Azkatro said:

Don't forget it's alot of young talent. Before the beginning of the year, ever heard of Hunt? The Broncos were being tipped by many not to make the 8, but now we are being told we can't afford a new player because we are winning games against the top sides. Like I said in another thread, take Lockyer, Tallis, and Webcke out and your only left with Petero, Tate, Devere, Carlaw and Berrigan who would be on good money, but they wouldn't be on nearly as much as the big three. The rest one would hardly consider super stars on the open market.

Razor

Kiwi said:

Don't forget it's alot of young talent. Before the beginning of the year, ever heard of Hunt?

Yes, same with a lot of juniors in Australia. I'd seen him play before as well, same with a lot of juniors in SE-QLD.

The rest one would hardly consider super stars on the open market.

Meyers will also be on a lot. He played for Australia, and when he signed his last contract was a current SOO player.

Kiwi

Razor said:
Kiwi said:

Don't forget it's alot of young talent. Before the beginning of the year, ever heard of Hunt?

Yes, same with a lot of juniors in Australia. I'd seen him play before as well, same with a lot of juniors in SE-QLD.

The rest one would hardly consider super stars on the open market.

Meyers will also be on a lot. He played for Australia, and when he signed his last contract was a current SOO player.

Meyers was in a form slump when he signed his last contract, hardly something one can use to get more money.

I liken the Broncos to the KNights, which should help you see where i'm coming from, and probably see it my way ;-)

The Knights have Johns, Kennedy, Buderus and M Gidley that would be on big money. Lets face it, their best players, and very highly priced on the open market as well. Then you have the likes of Tahu, Parsons, Abraham, K Gidley, Perry, Watmough and Simpson. Whilst they are stars, clearly not in the same class as the first four, and clearly would be on not as good money. Wait a second, just realised I named more players that would be on high money for the Knights than the Broncos, you do the math mate. We are being told we have no money left in the cap with our current rosters, how much over are the Knights?

Kaz

junior
Kiwi said:
We are being told we have no money left in the cap with our current rosters, how much over are the Knights?

Don't ask. :lol:

I am still waiting for the NRL to release the Salary Cap breaches if there is any from last season. :roll:

Razor

Kiwi said:
Then you have the likes of Tahu, Parsons, Abraham, K Gidley, Perry, Watmough and Simpson. Whilst they are stars, clearly not in the same class as the first four, and clearly would be on not as good money. Wait a second, just realised I named more players that would be on high money for the Knights than the Broncos, you do the math mate. We are being told we have no money left in the cap with our current rosters, how much over are the Knights?

Good to see you included so many Knights in the good player category, and left a lot of Broncos of equal ability out of the good Broncos.

The fact K Gidley was playing reserve grade when he signed his last contract (off contract at the end of this year) shows he'll be on very little. Tahu had also just 1 year of 1st grade when he signed his last contract.