Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Continuous Call crap loses ratings

Green Machine

Since being punted from the Footy Show (the second time), Hadley has been obsessed with 9.30pm Thursday Night TV Ratings. He has become the biggest fan of Law and Order. I wonder what is Hadley’s real problem with the Storm? On the 10 anniversary of Super War, he had “John Ribot DeBrasac Day”. Saturday’s effort in condemning the Storm was right up with that performance. I wonder is he thinks that if he can contribute to the demise of the Storm that the demons that lead to the demise of his TV career can finally be put to bed?

By the way, his good friend Becky Wilson yesterday mentioned Raaay was beaten in the Sunday ratings

lemon rabbit

iggy plop said:
Ah...I don't think so.

UE are GB's main competitor - both similar commercial stations vying for the same audience.

Well done nevilles on UE for beating rugby league presented as tripe.

Sorry, what I should have said was, 2GB as a station would care that 2UE beat them, but from the rugby league side of things, it's still a victory as they smash the ABC.

lemon rabbit

Green Machine - not believing Melbourne should be in the competition is Ray's OPINION. Which, shock horror, it is his job to give.

Green Machine

lemon rabbit said:
Green Machine - not believing Melbourne should be in the competition is Ray's OPINION. Which, shock horror, it is his job to give.
Lemon Rabbit,
It might be his opinion and he is entitled to his opinion. But being a host of a show, does not mean you should shove that opinion down the throats of listeners for 8 hours. It does not mean that if someone rings in with a different view that he talks over them when they are making a point. It does not mean it is right to let people who ring in to say things that are not correct to support his opinion,

mickdo

Green Machine said:
Lemon Rabbit,
It might be his opinion and he is entitled to his opinion. But being a host of a show, does not mean you should shove that opinion down the throats of listeners for 8 hours. It does not mean that if someone rings in with a different view that he talks over them when they are making a point. It does not mean it is right to let people who ring in to say things that are not correct to support his opinion,
I guess you don't listen to the AM talk jocks during the week do you? That is pretty standard fare for talkback these days. If you don't agree then you get shouted down.

mickdo said:
I guess you don't listen to the AM talk jocks during the week do you? That is pretty standard fare for talkback these days. If you don't agree then you get shouted down.

as far as sports programs go 2KY dont shout you down..

Green Machine said:
Since being punted from the Footy Show (the second time), Hadley has been obsessed with 9.30pm Thursday Night TV Ratings. He has become the biggest fan of Law and Order. I wonder what is Hadley’s real problem with the Storm? On the 10 anniversary of Super War, he had “John Ribot DeBrasac Day”. Saturday’s effort in condemning the Storm was right up with that performance. I wonder is he thinks that if he can contribute to the demise of the Storm that the demons that lead to the demise of his TV career can finally be put to bed?

By the way, his good friend Becky Wilson yesterday mentioned Raaay was beaten in the Sunday ratings

He realy is a sick person.....

The Above Proves it :badgrin:

Green Machine

mickdo said:
Mick,
If I’m out in the car during the week, I like to listen to John Stanley who is Dragons fan. I sometimes listen to Ray for half an hour max, just to see who he has an agenda with. I listen to 2KY for the sport on the way to work and usually listen to 2SM on the way home. If I’m a bit late getting home, I sometimes channel hop between 2UE (Sport Today) and 2SM. In between, I listen to FM music. I personally don’t like the style (or lack of it) Hadley, Price, Jones, Price, Clark and Smith. They basically cater for mindless morons,

mickdo

UndertakerMike said:
It's a Rugby League show Not a shock Jock segment. :x
I agree, but Ray is more weekday jock now than weekend RL commentator. That's why he is like that on the weekends now.

mickdo

Green Machine said:
Mick,
If I’m out in the car during the week, I like to listen to John Stanley who is Dragons fan. I sometimes listen to Ray for half an hour max, just to see who he has an agenda with. I listen to 2KY for the sport on the way to work and usually listen to 2SM on the way home. If I’m a bit late getting home, I sometimes channel hop between 2UE (Sport Today) and 2SM. In between, I listen to FM music. I personally don’t like the style (or lack of it) Hadley, Price, Jones, Price, Clark and Smith. They basically cater for mindless morons,
Stanley won't even mention their name now for fear of jynxing them! :lol:
I agree, talkback is utter rubbish in Sydney. Sports Today and Talkin Sport aren't too bad though, but then again, they aren't true talkback as they have sports oriented people as hosts and not shock jocks.

Green Machine

mickdo said:
Stanley won't even mention their name now for fear of jynxing them! :lol:
I agree, talkback is utter rubbish in Sydney. Sports Today and Talkin Sport aren't too bad though, but then again, they aren't true talkback as they have sports oriented people as hosts and not shock jocks.
The difference with the Sport and Talk shows to normal Talk Back is the S & T are not about “shock” subjects. Hadley, Laws, Jones, etc. will get black and white or Agree/disagree articles out of the Telegraph and start with an opinionate spray. It’s all about appealing to the audience fear factors. Its all about saying “you can trust up, we’ll keep you safe”. A Current Affair on Channel 9 has been doing it for years. Count how many times Ray will say, “Aussie Battler”, “Dole Bludger” or the “Pollies are at it again”. Its all about control of how you think. Its about keeping the dream alive or the cash register ticking

mickdo said:
I agree, but Ray is more weekday jock now than weekend RL commentator. That's why he is like that on the weekends now.

Hopefully from next year he sticks to his weekday bore that appeals to the mindless morons. He has now attracted more mindless morons than Lawsy which was always on the cards.

His weekend bully sessions are obviously becoming tiresome and people are looking for alternatives. In Sydney, they have moved to some 2UE show and in Brisbane, well, the ABC has smashed Ray's call for as long as I can remember.

mickdo

Green Machine said:
The difference with the Sport and Talk shows to normal Talk Back is the S & T are not about “shock” subjects. Hadley, Laws, Jones, etc. will get black and white or Agree/disagree articles out of the Telegraph and start with an opinionate spray. It’s all about appealing to the audience fear factors. Its all about saying “you can trust up, we’ll keep you safe”. A Current Affair on Channel 9 has been doing it for years. Count how many times Ray will say, “Aussie Battler”, “Dole Bludger” or the “Pollies are at it again”. Its all about control of how you think. Its about keeping the dream alive or the cash register ticking
Sports shows could just as easily be about black/white topics if the host wanted them to be. e.g. "Is Shane Warne a good role model?", and pick a side. It's not that hard to do. The difference is usually that the hosts actually like sport and want to talk about it, rather than argue about it. Ray has just fallen in to his weekday mindset and now has a barney with anyone who doesn't think the way he does.

Green Machine

Totally agree Mick,
Sydney’s market has become so diversified. In the 80’s, there was only two commercial FM stations in 2MMM and 2DAY. Today, there is also MIX, 2WS, NOVA and new one that has just started. Al these stations appeal to different demographics. Stations like 2GB are hanging onto the (dieing) grey rinse set. TV ratings and attendances for the NRL are all going up but radio is going down. I can see why the NRL are keen to get the FM networks involved. All this bullsh*t about 2GB winning everything because of their stars does not hold water. 2MMM Dead Set Legends wins the 9.00am – 11.00pm timeslot. I think its because Ray Warren is good on radio as he is good on calling football. If an FM puts on a quality Football Show with new personalities that are under 40 (maybe one or two over 40) they will bring in a whole new audience

mickdo

Lets just hope that someone other than 2GB picks up the RL next year, because from what I've heard 2UE hosts saying, they don't think that they will be picking it up. I don't know what Triple M's ratings are like for their AFL coverage, but you would think it is shyte in Sydney, so maybe that will spur them to jump for league.

iggy plop

mickdo said:
Lets just hope that someone other than 2GB picks up the RL next year, because from what I've heard 2UE hosts saying, they don't think that they will be picking it up. I don't know what Triple M's ratings are like for their AFL coverage, but you would think it is shyte in Sydney, so maybe that will spur them to jump for league.

Triple M are certain to cover league. This has to happen. Gallop has said as much.