Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cooper Cronk Leaving??????

MilanDragon

Who can afford him and who needs him?

Obviously he'd be good enough to walk into any starting line up, however that doesn't necessarily mean he is needed by those clubs.

Eels would be my bet, though they only just got out of salary trouble.

Could go Dogs too who have no problem with paying out $$ and do need a half.

He won't go Newcastle or tigers. Panthers will probably stick with their 12 year plan and continue developing youngsters. We signed hunt, sharks have Maloney, plus wouldn't be able to afford him. Eagles have got DCE.

Roosters have Pearce and surely would be close on their cap.

TruSaint

Who can afford him and who needs him?

Obviously he'd be good enough to walk into any starting line up, however that doesn't necessarily mean he is needed by those clubs.

Eels would be my bet, though they only just got out of salary trouble.

Could go Dogs too who have no problem with paying out $$ and do need a half.

He won't go Newcastle or tigers. Panthers will probably stick with their 12 year plan and continue developing youngsters. We signed hunt, sharks have Maloney, plus wouldn't be able to afford him. Eagles have got DCE.

Roosters have Pearce and surely would be close on their cap.

Surely he wouldnt make this announcement without having secured a deal ?

TruSaint

Or maybe he wants a bidding war. Might need the money to afford a house in Sydney!

LOL, maybe mate.. but i doubt it. This guy is the ultimate professional. He wouldnt announce this without some substance. Dont think he is short of a quid either BTW :)

My tip is the Dogs however, there are sure to be clubs who want him that are willing to let some players go to make room in the cap.

Cronk being a short term signing, would suit the Dragons surely. Let go Widdop and some deadwood and we have a halves pariing of Hunt / Widdop with Field waiting in the wings to take Cronks place at the end of his contract.

Dez re-signed... Reynolds to 9, and Cooper to 7.
My guess only.

Yes , I believe that you are right T.Saint , that certainly makes sense , however as T.R.V.river mentioned , his decision has come out off the blue , and has caught everyone off-guard - there will be a lot of scrambling going on now . This will prove to be very interesting , perhaps he may really like the Wollongong area and take a huge pay cut ? :rolleyes:

TruSaint

Yes , I believe that you are right T.Saint , that certainly makes sense , however as T.R.V.river mentioned , his decision has come out off the blue , and has caught everyone off-guard - there will be a lot of scrambling going on now . This will prove to be very interesting , perhaps he may really like the Wollongong area and take a huge pay cut ?

With respect Gaz... to replace whom ? We signed a half for 5 years. He will be 34 next year. Hunt deal is done and dusted, so where would a quality player like Cooper slot into our squad ? Even if we cant retain Gareth Widdop ( which i think we will ). Doesnt stack up my mate.

His decision came 24 hours after Dez was re-signed by the Dogs, and also Cleary appointed to Wests. Im guessing he wanted to see what lay ahead of him before going public.

Again, its only an opinion drawn from recent events, so i may be way off. There is no chance he will come to us, as his role has been filled, and we cant afford another 7 figure man.

Coffs dragon

It will all depend where the above average 4 end up, whether they stick with the Tigers or move on for big dollars. If Cronk continues next year I would think both Brad Arthur and Michael Maguire will have a big say having been assistants to Bellamy at the Storm & having a past relationship with Cooper.
The big pulling power of Russell Crowe in the Media and reunited with GI at Souths maybe a good fit. Reynolds at half with Cronk at 5/8

TruSaint

It will all depend where the above average 4 end up, whether they stick with the Tigers or move on for big dollars. If Cronk continues next year I would think both Brad Arthur and Michael Maguire will have a big say having been assistants to Bellamy at the Storm & having a past relationship with Cooper.
The big pulling power of Russell Crowe in the Media and reunited with GI at Souths maybe a good fit. Reynolds at half with Cronk at 5/8

Fair call mate... I didnt think about the Bellamy / assistant coach connections.

I still see the Dogs as a real option as they need changes badly. And we all know they have the $$$

With respect Gaz... to replace whom ? We signed a half for 5 years. He will be 34 next year. Hunt deal is done and dusted, so where would a quality player like Cooper slot into our squad ? Even if we cant retain Gareth Widdop ( which i think we will ). Doesnt stack up my mate.

His decision came 24 hours after Dez was re-signed by the Dogs, and also Cleary appointed to Wests. Im guessing he wanted to see what lay ahead of him before going public.

Again, its only an opinion drawn from recent events, so i may be way off. There is no chance he will come to us, as his role has been filled, and we cant afford another 7 figure man.

No matey , I don't believe that he will be coming our way , the last sentence was said in jest . Your opinion is anchored by common sense and I do think that the Bulldogs will certainly make him an offer .
I just wonder if Ivan Cleary may be doing a bit of arithmetic also ? Should the Tigers release 1 or even 2 of the ' big 4 ' , would they then be able to afford him ?
Can you imagine what his experience and ' cool headed ' approach would do for those younger Tigers ?

Coffs dragon

Fair call mate... I didnt think about the Bellamy / assistant coach connections.

I still see the Dogs as a real option as they need changes badly. And we all know they have the $$$
It's all speculation only, but apparently his girlfriend lives at Bondi and works at Fox studios Moore Park.
I reckon Souths and Maguire would be mad not to throw everything at Cronk as he'll be in their backyard. The big dollars of Crowe and Packer with their connections could provide Cooper with a career post Footy. This guy is an absolute role model to the game and will be a Clubs PR dream. I'm backing the Rabbits!!!

uSaint_Revolt

Why not us?

Widdop testing the open market. Duggan testing the open market. Nightingale having his last year?

Cronk 2 years.... $1.6ish and picks whether he wants to play 7 or 6... not that it's massive difference these days.

Hmmm I reckon they'll be thinking about it over some Yum Cha at the Leagues Club this week.

Could happen...Probably not though.

Why not us?

Widdop testing the open market. Duggan testing the open market. Nightingale having his last year?

Cronk 2 years.... $1.6ish and picks whether he wants to play 7 or 6... not that it's massive difference these days.

Hmmm I reckon they'll be thinking about it over some Yum Cha at the Leagues Club this week.

I don't know if they will be thinking about it , but the Yum Cha sounds great !

TruSaint

Why not us?

Luv your optimism mate, but we are struggling to sign our 6 and 1 on money that is nowhere near what Cronk would desire.

Dugan and Gaz still in talks...

Would take more than a yum cha meal to skin this deal. :) :)

PS Hunt and Cronk are 7's... and specialists at that.

Not fussed at all. Cooper will take the big bucks as he should and good luck to him. Dogs / Sou$$s / Chooks etc .

One of the few Storm players i respect.