Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Corey Norman??

Drag Queen

A mate is a friend of Dufty's Dad and it appears that if Matt is not playing NRL this season he will be looking to move on.
CC
So he's looking at ESL or a reggie team elsewhere? I've seen his old man's posts on the St George facebook page. Reminiscent of Jack Bird's father much? Shame.

A mate is a friend of Dufty's Dad and it appears that if Matt is not playing NRL this season he will be looking to move on.
CC
So in summary..

A friend of a friend says potentially Dufty could potentially look to leave only IF he isn’t able to secure a first grade position, which we won’t know for another two months anyway..

I love the internet..

Crush

I don't Crush. I want Widdop in as FB to give the team a fighting chance in the top 4. Out of curiosity which team would pick him as their 1st grade FB? I'm not looking for argument here either. He has more of a chance with the Red V than looking at other teams tbh. Interestingly, Widdop's profile has put his main position as fullback. Stand off as second.
I think with Widdop at 1 we will be fielding a strong team no doubt but I think Dufty should be given first crack to see how he goes. Unlike you and many here I felt Duftys first full year in NRL was a successful one overall and I think he can build on that good start to his career.
If he was to look elsewhere he would get a contract with one of the weaker teams I'd say. Probably Raiders.
Its worth giving Dufty 6 weeks and see how he's travelling. What's the worst thing that could happen? We lose the May premiership?

Drag Queen

I think with Widdop at 1 we will be fielding a strong team no doubt but I think Dufty should be given first crack to see how he goes. Unlike you and many here I felt Duftys first full year in NRL was a successful one overall and I think he can build on that good start to his career.
If he was to look elsewhere he would get a contract with one of the weaker teams I'd say. Probably Raiders.
Its worth giving Dufty 6 weeks and see how he's travelling. What's the worst thing that could happen? We lose the May premiership?
How about we compromise and give him 4 weeks. I'll be honest with you Crush and think Norman will be 5/8th and Gareth will be our FB. If we have an injury in these positions I expect Dufty to jump in. I'm not going to bag him. I'll leave that up to a fiery redhead if needed Xx

WepnutV

If you think Dufty will simply roll over and will be happy to play reserve grade, think again.

He won’t be.

Mind you, I believe his career is fated to follow in the same footsteps as Adam Quinlan. The fact they are similarly sized is not a coincidence.
dufty is seen as much better prospect than adam quinlan.. dufty will see plenty of first grade this year, thats a no brainer

Belta

So in summary..

A friend of a friend says potentially Dufty could potentially look to leave only IF he isn’t able to secure a first grade position, which we won’t know for another two months anyway..

I love the internet..

Regardless of such rumours, the potential for Dufty to be replaced occurred when Norman was signed. The competition is so tight that there no room for loyalty. The reality is someone will miss out. It may well be a Dufty with hurt feelings but it’s about picking the best 17 players. End of story. I’m not sure he’d take it well. Hopefully if it happens he does. He won’t have to look far to see players like Luch, Blocker and Host who stuck in after getting relegated. On the other side if Norman is not picked he may even have a bigger sook. It will be interesting

Gardenia

Agree. The thing which worried me most about Dufty was the way he was often manhandled by opposition. No respect at all! No amount of training can fix that unless he packs on so much muscle, he can no longer run near as well.

I hope he proves me wrong. Looks like he is going to have another year to prepare for his second coming in the NRL.
Yes seen that up close it’s not pretty. He’s smallish but I’m sure there’s a way to place your body so they can’t get under you like that .
Yes he’s small for a footy player but so was Thurston. I’ll wait and see who Mary p,says where but hopefully we retain him .

CC

Dufty should concentrate on becoming an all round player of NRL standard. He is gifted with natural speed but other parts of his game let him down at NRL level. Instead of demanding 700k a season (not a reasonable price for him right now), and talking about leaving if he is not selected in first grade, he should knuckle down and improve his skill-set in a way that gives the head coach no option but to select him in first grade.

Dufty has Widdop or Norman ahead of him in 2019. Both are better all-round first graders than he is and with is own contract on the line, Mary will see it that way until he is convinced otherwise.

I'm sure our gifted recruitment/retention team will take a look at Dufty's progress when considering his contract extension or indeed his replacement for 2020 and beyond.

I'm tipping the Dragons will make a play for V Holmes if/when he bombs out of the NFL. He will be signed on/or close to Widdop money from 2020 on.

I'd say 6 weeks of ISP would be fine. See if he is killing it in ISP and see if Widdop is up to it in first grade. I'm sure the form player will win the day.

If Widdop is not up to it as a first grade fullback, then he may very well speak to the club about moving to five-eighth or leaving early. This may be good news for Dufty and his supporters over the short term however, if he plays like he did against the Dogs late last year, immediate changes will be made and Dufty will be on his way to another club in 2020.

Crush, it serves no purpose to risk competition points on a hunch that Dufty will perform well at fullback for the first 6 rounds. I think it more sensible for Dufty to force his way into first grade by playing out of his skin at fullback in ISP.

hewi

The big question mark over this is Widdop shoulder, will he be at all tentative in the first few rounds or worse still does it pop out again. I hope not.

Crush, it serves no purpose to risk competition points on a hunch that Dufty will perform well at fullback for the first 6 rounds.

Why not?

The club has been risking competition points for the last four and a half seasons on the hunch that McGregor will perform well as coach..

Another 6 weeks on another hunch couldn’t hurt..

Why not?

The club has been risking competition points for the last four and a half seasons on the hunch that McGregor will perform well as coach..

Another 6 weeks on another hunch couldn’t hurt..

Yes Muzby you are correct, the club has been gambling with It's players and official that in the end have adversely effected SGI's on-field and off-field success. Now it is time for this nonsense to stop. I'd like to see each and every decision made by club officals to be in the best interest of the Club as a whole, not in the best interest of particular individules be it player or official.

DragonJ

Yes seen that up close it’s not pretty. He’s smallish but I’m sure there’s a way to place your body so they can’t get under you like that .
Yes he’s small for a footy player but so was Thurston. I’ll wait and see who Mary p,says where but hopefully we retain him .
But Thurston wasn't primarily a ball runner part of whose job it is to make metres from kick returns.

BLM01

Don't see anything wrong with that. If true it's simply a view by someone wanting to be paid and given opportunities they believe they deserve. Only at the top for a short time which could be all over with an injury. Good luck to the kid. I personally hope he stays. He is exciting to watch..
And he will and wants to stay regardless of what someone heard from a friend of Glen. As long as his next contract is within a reasonable proximity of his worth he will take a bit unders to be loyal. It si in the Dragons court now.
The big question mark over this is Widdop shoulder, will he be at all tentative in the first few rounds or worse still does it pop out again. I hope not.
Widdop would of had the off season, rehab, training, weights, contact tackle drills, game day simulations at training, trial games to get all the confidence he needs to trust the shoulder by Round 1.
If not our HPU Pickworth and his merry men are a bunch of ningnongs. Maybe that has already been confirmed with our back half season fadeouts

I thought is was in the forum rules that members are not to quote a selective part of a quote. Correct me if I'm wrong. If I'm right I would hope you keep to the rules like everyone else on this forum.

Hahaha...

Ahh, you make me laugh..

I'll throw a spanner in the works , Lomax , Widdop center pairing , Dufty to stay at fullback . For me its better than having Lafia and Aitken .....

The only problem is that it was not Lafai playing poorly at the end of last season, it was Dufty. So if Dufty has indeed overcome his problems in the off-season, I would surely love to see Dufty at fullback. However, if Dufty still needs more time then for me it is Widdop at fullback and Lomax at right centre.

hazzbeen

The only problem is that it was not Lafai playing poorly at the end of last season, it was Dufty. So if Dufty has indeed overcome his problems in the off-season, I would surely love to see Dufty at fullback. However, if Dufty still needs more time then for me it is Widdop at fullback and Lomax at right centre.
Possm there were a few players that were not playing well , at the seasons end , not just Dufty ......