Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

Canard

You’re right about league fans of course but crowds do add to the spectacle, which is pretty important when trying to get casuals on board and increase viewership. Didn’t the TV ratings drop during round 2 when they were expected to increase with fans forced to stay home?

just to make it clear, I don’t think this is a reasonable excuse for nine to weasel out of a deal.

It's Shit without crowds, terrible.

But at a time when ESPN is broadcasting Cornholing and Stupid Robots Fights (I haven't embellished that) it's going to be ratings gold.

TheFrog

It was a mistake to leave so many important stakeholders out of the decision making process.
It makes the NRL look amatureish yet again.
All the Nine CEO had to do was pick up the phone. Instead he spat the dummy in the media. I'd be very surprised if being left out of discussions is the issue. I think the issue is that Nine want the NRL to take all of the haircut from the C19 pandemic.

Not considering the circumstances. You need some perspective mate.

News coverage ratings were well through the roof.

You only need to see Trump's insane rambling about how his presidential speeches are out ratings everything on TV.

The man’s a born winner. Everything & anything he does rates through the roof with the army of losers in the media who try to smear him.

More importantly though, at least we agree on the footy :thumbsup_tone2:

Besides whatever arguments you want to have about "stakeholders" Nine have for years scheduled games to suit themselves with little regard to how this would affect crowds (Thursday night games or Broncos on every Friday night when Saturday or Sunday games would mean much larger crowds) so for them to complain that no crowds has a bearing on their coverage is a bit rich.

If my team played every game before zero crowds I would still watch every game as I do now. We all understand that advertising has dropped off because of the lockdowns and that there would be some negotiations about how much they pay for this years games BUT for Nine to suggest that this will lead to write downs for following years is just them trying to reduce their deal for more profit on their part.

If Nine want to break their contract and renegotiate on terms for following years than surely that gives the NRL the right to throw these years back onto the open market or more likely play games on a different broadcaster while suing Nine for breach of contract?

With "stakeholders" like Nine who needs enemies.

Quite right. Nine are dancing on razor blades here.

Cactus

You are wrong, your opinion is incorrect and you are extremely naive. You dont know what you are talking about.
THEY ARE A MAJOR STAKEHOLDER!!!
Your opinion mirrors how the NRL thinks and its why they have no money.

Whatever peoples views are on the definition of 9 being a stakeholder or not pales into insignificance when compared to the legal reality of the broadcast rights contract.

IMO this is not some simple issue of whether or not the NRL included 9 in the emergency discussions of the Apollo project.

There is, however, real tension at work here with the complicated legal issues surrounding the contract and that has propelled 9 to commence a strategic war of words including wanting to renegotiate the contract. 9 wanting to pay less, & is of course a by-product of that.

All the Nine CEO had to do was pick up the phone. Instead he spat the dummy in the media. I'd be very surprised if being left out of discussions is the issue. I think the issue is that Nine want the NRL to take all of the haircut from the C19 pandemic.

Tbf it sounds like most of the committee put together to work out the plan, the nsw health minister and medical advisor and tv were all left out. Welcome to the world of Vlandys.

stryker

Theres no doubt that is the case and another reason the planning should have involved them.

stryker

Whatever peoples views are on the definition of 9 being a stakeholder or not pales into insignificance when compared to the legal reality of the broadcast rights contract.

IMO this is not some simple issue of whether or not the NRL included 9 in the emergency discussions of the Apollo project.

There is, however, real tension at work here with the complicated legal issues surrounding the contract and that has propelled 9 to commence a strategic war of words including wanting to renegotiate the contract. 9 wanting to pay less, & is of course a by-product of that.
Agreed. This is why they should have been included.

TheFrog

Nine clearly in a panic but it was odd to see a dip in ratings for round two, though
There is little argument that empty stadiums make for an inferior product. What is in debate is who wears the loss for this. Nine are trying to make sure it is not them, but in fairness this is not the NRL's doing and its only equitable that both parties should take some of the hit. The AFL would be facing the same issues, surely.

Nine's criticism of the NRL's financial management is really just obfuscation. The situation would be no different if they had a billion dollars saved up.

stryker

It's Shit without crowds, terrible.

But at a time when ESPN is broadcasting Cornholing and Stupid Robots Fights (I haven't embellished that) it's going to be ratings gold.
Not if its not broadcast.
This is my point earlier in this thread. It was a huge mistake to not consider repurcussions such as this. Who did the risk management and especially the assessment? Id suggest no one.

Noise

Do they have dozens and dozens of people crammed into them breaking the square meter rules at the same time?
Have you ever been into the ANZ stadium dressing rooms? They are f**ken enormous. There are actually 4 change rooms with 2 each being able to be opened up and joined together IIRC. The 4 square meter rule would easily allow 25 + people in there at a time. Other modern stadiums similar. Shitholes such as leichardt and Brookvale would have problems but I doubt games will be played there anyway.

stryker

There is little argument that empty stadiums make for an inferior product. What is in debate is who wears the loss for this. Nine are trying to make sure it is not them, but in fairness this is not the NRL's doing and its only equitable that both parties should take some of the hit. The AFL would be facing the same issues, surely.
I would suggest this is force majeure, however these discussions had to be put to bed BEFORE the announcement was made.

stryker

Have you ever been into the ANZ stadium dressing rooms? They are f**ken enormous. The 4 square meter rule would easily allow 25 + people in there at a time. Other modern stadiums are the same. Shitholes such as leichardt and Brookvale would have problems but I doubt games will be played there anyway.
They would need to be as there is usually far more than 25 people in them

Noise

They would need to be as there is usually far more than 25 people in them
The last round that was played already saw a cut down number of who was allowed in the dressing sheds. The team (18) and coaching staff 5-10. I’m sure they can cut it further as not every assistant coach needs to be in there at the same time.