Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

King hit

Get rid of 9 so we don't have to listen to that useless gasbag Ray Warren talk about his hemorrhoids.
Worst commentator ever.

There is no way in Hell that I'd pay a single dollar to the very bloke who held our game to ransom.
In fact, unless RL remains free-to-air, I will not be watching. Neither will many others.
Ratings would drop and the game would go backwards.
Worst of all time nah mate not even close
76289A78-F35F-4D73-AAC2-0ECC1B4FD09C.jpeg

big hit!

Get rid of 9 so we don't have to listen to that useless gasbag Ray Warren talk about his hemorrhoids.
Worst commentator ever.

There is no way in Hell that I'd pay a single dollar to the very bloke who held our game to ransom.
In fact, unless RL remains free-to-air, I will not be watching. Neither will many others.
Ratings would drop and the game would go backwards.

Yeah its funny how Rupert's fox is suddenly the greatest thing on the planet for rugby league according to LU. it was over 20 years ago, but never forget how far back that old merkin sent this game. the sport was flying in the early 90s

AnonymousLurker

Yeah its funny how Rupert's fox is suddenly the greatest thing on the planet for rugby league according to LU. it was over 20 years ago, but never forget how far back that old merkin sent this game. the sport was flying in the early 90s

thre both crap, I want us ideally on 10 and streaming services . Those two “broadcast “ partners have shat on us for way too long and only make a big deal out of the nrl “controversies “

for instance imagine if. Nrl club was busted training like Sydney fc were according to rothfields article , the NRL would be smashed , nrl is getting smashed just by wanting to try play in 6 weeks yet you have Sydney fc busted training . Where is the outcry , where is the outrage

don’t think anyone is forgetting or forgiving, however if you want to watch decent coverage of the game Foxsports psses on Ch9 from a very great height. I’d rather pay nrl direct if they had the same quality and extent of coverage but I’d rather pay fox than watch the game on Ch9 every day of the week.

lockyno1

Fox is way better. Less ads, and much better commentators or do you prefer Johns and Fittler dribbling about something

I want the NRL to sell direct.

Not for everyone.

FTA and PayTV can resell.

King hit

If the rights are up for grabs I would like to see 7 get the nod. They have done a very good job with the World Cup in the past, I don’t think they would disappoint with week to week coverage.

With the loss of cricket and rugby league Kerry Packer would roll in his grave. Their once powerful sporting empire has turned to dust.

If the rights are up for grabs I would like to see 7 get the nod. They have done a very good job with the World Cup in the past, I don’t think they would disappoint with week to week coverage.

With the loss of cricket and rugby league Kerry Packer would roll in his grave. Their once powerful sporting empire has turned to dust.

Agreed but I hope they don’t do a nein and take control of scheduling. To me, the NRL taking charge of scheduling is as important as the money. Having matches played at times that are better suited to getting decent crowds will improve the show. Bigger deals will eventually come.

Cactus

If the big man was still here he would already own a huge stake in the company and would be ready to launch a takeover when they are in financial strife.

big hit!

Fox is way better. Less ads, and much better commentators or do you prefer Johns and Fittler dribbling about something
not denying their product is better. I get access to it via the NRL app. I've criticised the dumbed down Ch9 product for a while, and recently in some of these threads. But f**k it if I'm giving that old merkin my hard earned directly via a subscription.

big hit!

Agreed but I hope they don’t do a nein and take control of scheduling. To me, the NRL taking charge of scheduling is as important as the money. Having matches played at times that are better suited to getting decent crowds will improve the show. Bigger deals will eventually come.

i don't want to disrupt the Ch9 bash-up, but they are giving the NRL the opportunity to do this by relinquishing Thursday night footy, and also, asking for 6pm Friday night to get the arse too. Now yes, I know Ch9 have made these requests to for their own benefit - exclusivity, removing competition from their news bulletin, and pay a little less for rights by dropping the number of games they broadcast - but it's an opportunity for the NRL to take back some control nonetheless.

Of course, all Vlandys will be looking at, and probably be judged on, is the actual amount the NRL receives for rights, and the short-term opportunity cost of schedule control is less funds for rights. I say in the long-term though, schedule control and higher broadcast rights value can be achieved. Just look at the NFL or the EPL. 80% of weekly matches in the NFL are on 1pm or 4pm ET Sunday. Similarly, 50% of matches in EPL are 3pm Saturdays. Day games are crowd friendly, particularly through winter. And these Leagues get big sellout crowds.

i don't want to disrupt the Ch9 bash-up, but they are giving the NRL the opportunity to do this by relinquishing Thursday night footy, and also, asking for 6pm Friday night to get the arse too. Now yes, I know Ch9 have made these requests to for their own benefit - exclusivity, removing competition from their news bulletin, and pay a little less for rights by dropping the number of games they broadcast - but it's an opportunity for the NRL to take back some control nonetheless.

Of course, all Vlandys will be looking at, and probably be judged on, is the actual amount the NRL receives for rights, and the short-term opportunity cost of schedule control is less funds for rights. I say in the long-term though, schedule control and higher broadcast rights value can be achieved. Just look at the NFL or the EPL. 80% of weekly matches in the NFL are on 1pm or 4pm ET Sunday. Similarly, 50% of matches in EPL are 3pm Saturdays. Day games are crowd friendly, particularly through winter. And these Leagues get big sellout crowds.

the removal of two fan unfriendly time slots would most certainly be welcome, but the loss of exposure from a fta game and subsequent revenue reduction is most definitely not.

lockyno1

not denying their product is better. I get access to it via the NRL app. I've criticised the dumbed down Ch9 product for a while, and recently in some of these threads. But f**k it if I'm giving that old merkin my hard earned directly via a subscription.

If something is better I’m happy enough to pay for it

mongoose

Fox is full of terrible commentators as well though? Kevvie Walters, Anasta, Blocker, that acting bloke (forgot his name), Hodges, I'm sure there's more....

Fox has a better presentation and its pre and post game analysis is much better but the in game commentary really isn't much better at all.

the removal of two fan unfriendly time slots would most certainly be welcome, but the loss of exposure from a fta game and subsequent revenue reduction is most definitely not.

I dunno, PR. I thought the AFL have control of their scheduling. Doesn’t seem to harm their popularity. Also what value is a near empty footy ground at 6pm when casual fans are having a drink after work? Why even rush to get to the game after work knowing not many others are bothering?

Fox is full of terrible commentators as well though? Kevvie Walters, Anasta, Blocker, that acting bloke (forgot his name), Hodges, I'm sure there's more....

Fox has a better presentation and its pre and post game analysis is much better but the in game commentary really isn't much better at all.

voss and smith. Ring the bell, we have a winner!
I like Ennis as well, even more so after he gave it to Kent :)

I dunno, PR. I thought the AFL have control of their scheduling. Doesn’t seem to harm their popularity. Also what value is a near empty footy ground at 6pm when casual fans are having a drink after work? Why even rush to get to the game after work knowing not many others are bothering?

dont get me wrong I’d love to see those two time slots dropped, but not at the expense of the three (and Imo we need four) fta games. Clubs moving from reliance on the nrl grant and LC’s to fan generated revenue would be major plus for the game. Better time slots now we are getting better stadiums is important to achieve it.

lockyno1

I'd rather listen to ALL of those over Fittler or Johns. That's not saying they are fantastic either.