Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Covell to be re-signed

DJShaksta

Let's apply some logic.

Covell is a marquee goalkicker. Covell has 110 NRL games experience, only TDD comes close with 99. Covell has footy smarts way above that of any other of our 3/4s. Covell is our top try scorer (a point very well used by Simmophiles in the past to justify his existence). Covell is a good defender. Covell is safe under the high ball. Covell is an international. Covell is a team player. Covell "brings" to the team.

Covell is slow.

Pomeroy (61), TTD (99) and Misi (27) don't have the experience of Covell

None of them are better than Covell under a high ball. None of them have Covell's street smarts. None of them are goalkickers. None of them find the way to the tryline as Covell can. All of them are more suspect in D than Covell, especially his left side mate Pomeroy.

The thing is he is our best 3/4 overall but happens to be slow.

If we have cap problems we're not going to be able to replace him in a hurry with the type of high velocity, superstar people seem to want. Just doesn't make sense that this could happen. There's no money to do it and not that many, if any, available. The possibility is that we could set Covell loose and replace him with someone with none of the positives but a 9 second 100m. Or we have to blood an Orcher or a Stapleton or Mills.

All the talk seems to be whether to keep Cov or not. The talk should be more directed at all the 3/4s because there's at least 2 of those 3 that should walk before Cov. Misi, although a fave of mine, would realistically be on thin ice. Simmons IS on thin ice and is overpaid for the skating he does.

IMNHO Covell is our most valuable 3/4, he should be retained. A way should be found. To me the way should be to release Simmons and/or Misi and rebuild the right side from within. Brown can play right wing, he probably needs a full season of gifted games a la Simmons to build confidence and learn the game properly. There's several kids who can play centre at a pinch including the White Elephant Feeleega.

To do this rebuilding you need old heads around. Enter Covell, our most experienced 3/4. Simmo offers nothing as a mentor, he still can't get his own head around the game and to state a fact is simply not that fast as people say. Watching him in games you'd be excused for thinking Covell and he would be a tight foot race. Misi is quicker but as with TDD doesn't offer much by way of experience to help bring new ones on.

For me the smart thing would be to retain Covell and get rid of that unicorn in the #4 to pay for it. I'm sure that mythical creature is on more $ than Covell yet the team rides on Covell's back more than the Dodger.

That's my view.

It's right as usual.

:)

Gotta agree here.
Even when he was down on form earlier in the year we saw what happened to us when he got dropped - we got soundly beaten by the wooden spoon favs. He came back after that dropping and has been close to our best every week.
Lov the Cov
Gotta keep the Cov.

azzah72

Let's apply some logic.

Covell is a marquee goalkicker. Covell has 110 NRL games experience, only TDD comes close with 99. Covell has footy smarts way above that of any other of our 3/4s. Covell is our top try scorer (a point very well used by Simmophiles in the past to justify his existence). Covell is a good defender. Covell is safe under the high ball. Covell is an international. Covell is a team player. Covell "brings" to the team.

Covell is slow.

None of them are better than Covell under a high ball. None of them have Covell's street smarts. None of them are goalkickers. None of them find the way to the tryline as Covell can. All of them are more suspect in D than Covell, especially his left side mate Pomeroy.

The thing is he is our best 3/4 overall but happens to be slow.

If we have cap problems we're not going to be able to replace him in a hurry with the type of high velocity, superstar people seem to want. Just doesn't make sense that this could happen. There's no money to do it and not that many, if any, available. The possibility is that we could set Covell loose and replace him with someone with none of the positives but a 9 second 100m. Or we have to blood an Orcher or a Stapleton or Mills.

All the talk seems to be whether to keep Cov or not. The talk should be more directed at all the 3/4s because there's at least 2 of those 3 that should walk before Cov. Misi, although a fave of mine, would realistically be on thin ice. Simmons IS on thin ice and is overpaid for the skating he does.

IMNHO Covell is our most valuable 3/4, he should be retained. A way should be found. To me the way should be to release Simmons and/or Misi and rebuild the right side from within. Brown can play right wing, he probably needs a full season of gifted games a la Simmons to build confidence and learn the game properly. There's several kids who can play centre at a pinch including the White Elephant Feeleega.

To do this rebuilding you need old heads around. Enter Covell, our most experienced 3/4. Simmo offers nothing as a mentor, he still can't get his own head around the game and to state a fact is simply not that fast as people say. Watching him in games you'd be excused for thinking Covell and he would be a tight foot race. Misi is quicker but as with TDD doesn't offer much by way of experience to help bring new ones on.

For me the smart thing would be to retain Covell and get rid of that unicorn in the #4 to pay for it. I'm sure that mythical creature is on more $ than Covell yet the team rides on Covell's back more than the Dodger.

That's my view.

It's right as usual.

Other than being a bit up yourself Frenz :), I agree whole heartedly.

samshark

I dont believe we have salary cap worries at all. No where in that article does Zapps say we are close to the cap. His comments were just general ones. Him and Sticky are just keeping their cards close to their chest, checking options, seeing which youngsters step up before committing to anyone. They have already shown that they give nothing away when it comes to signings etc. I reckon the money is there if they want Covell.

spider

Let's apply some logic.

well, why hasn't the current international coach and CEO not offered him a contract as yet?

more so, any other team?

Covell is slow.
no - he is dead farkin slow, there is a big difference

i would keep pom over all of them - so games played is not an issue in the experience across our team, imo

Or we have to blood an Orcher or a Stapleton or Mills.
yes - starting in 09 would be a positive step

All the talk seems to be whether to keep Cov or not.
i think the lack of contract offers being thrown at him is indicative from the sharks, but the other NRL teams as well

lol captain - simmo would run faster backwards than cov and he has lost pace

That's my view.

It's right as usual.

haha - i wouldn't expect anything less

i like covell - you touch on some good points with him

but seriously, there is always discussion in here of us losing players in the lower grades that were possibly good prospects

seems the cows like to hover around our lower grade players and i dont want to lose more

he has served the sharks with all he has, but if he receives a reduced contract for 09, i can see shades of the earlier part of the season again for cov

i dont think he would last without being dropped and i would like to see him go out on a better note then that

sharks8601

Sticky has to make sure that he doesn’t hold out to long if his plans backfire and we lose everything

Squae

Ferguson & Orcher both have re-signed (leader).

They have always had to do something with the lack of speed in the back line, saying that though now the time has come to either resign Covell or axe him, and I must say this decission could lead to us having terrible defence and no chance next year.

He's kicking is back on track, and despite attacking this side of the field potentially they haven't given him enough QUALITY bombs to best utilize his' strength's.

Also will a fast back get any sort of service from Pommeroy anyway???

spider

Ferguson & Orcher both have re-signed (leader).
i heard that but when i looked online i couldnt find anything

and I must say this decission could lead to us having terrible defence and no chance next year.
no chance??? are you suggesting we are a one winger team?

He's kicking is back on track, and despite attacking this side of the field potentially they haven't given him enough QUALITY bombs to best utilize his' strength's
why is it the fault of the kickers for him to perform

what about with ball in hand

Also will a fast back get any sort of service from Pommeroy anyway???
....but covells leading the try scoring - imagine a fast fast winger

spider

sooner or later he might just up and leave
he wont want to wait around forever
well he has had a back page article in the telegraph

tuesday - article in the leader

and apparently again today there is another article on him

i think all he is doing is waiting around

samshark

didn't they re-sign orcher and ferguson as well

Correct, yes but have they being signed to fill spots in the top 25. Is it $60k the minimun salary? Do we know what these guys have being signed for.

Also in the Leader today is says the club has told Misi that he wont be offered a contract so Thommo, his manager, is scouting UK clubs and rugby Union.

Shame, I like Misi. But he is a bit limited I guess and has those big mistakes in his game. Good luck to him.