Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Covell

ozcrusader

...would have been handy last night wouldn't he?

This the thing with Hodgo - he's a good kicker - but the pressure kicks from the sideline he can't get.

El Masri has scored 200 points a year every year for the last four years for the dogs. That is the difference between a 70% kicker and an 85% kicker.

Covell instead of Moodie.

WT Management give yourselves an uppercut.

Your an A class wanker arent you?

Covell has been kicking average...his form has been average.

Did he play last nite....in that team that got 78 put on em?

tigerdan

yeah covell probly played and im guessing he had a blinder and will play for australia at the end of the year :roll: give yourseld a double sheens how can u let such a class player go :roll: :roll: :roll: :lol:

vlad

juniors
innsaneink said:
Your an A class wanker arent you?

Covell has been kicking average...his form has been average.

Did he play last nite....in that team that got 78 put on em?

he kicked at 100% last night .

ozcrusader

Face the facts - we lost by four points last night - because El Masri kicked goals and Hodgson didn't.

Eddie.

Thats rubbish Goangod

Have you seen Covells % in Premier league

If both kick all their goals we still lose last night

Cmon mate you use to have some good shit to say, now you just sprout rubbish.

ozcrusader

Eddie. said:
Thats rubbish Goangod

Have you seen Covells % in Premier league

If both kick all their goals we still lose last night

What did Covell kick at last year Eddie?

57/70 = 81.43%

How many times has he kicked this year Eddie?

Why is that Eddie?

If he had played and kicked poorly this year - then by all means drop him. But to drop and then sell a goalkicker that averages over 80% when other clubs would kill to have one is sheer lunacy.

It's not as if we have a Wendell Sailor or Luke Rooney in to replace him either - no, we go out and sign a retired player.

Cmon mate you use to have some good sh*t to say, now you just sprout rubbish.

Perhaps if the Tigers listened to more of this sh*t we wouldnt be stuck outside the 8 having to rely on the teams stuffing up to even make the finals.

BJ

so if covell had of played.. we would have tied the game up?

with about 3-4 minutes to go benny g is running about 5-10 in from the touch he has 2 defenders coming up to him and he looks right then turns his back to the sidline.. where elford i belie it was was running along side.. benny g looks left and gets the pass away then elford is off and i'd say good chance of a try.. tigers would have tied it up and with the conversion hodgson might have kicked for the win..

hindsight is a wonderful tool..

jirskyr

goangod - you are kidding yourself if you are banking on your kicker getting all from the sideline. You must be constantly disappointed after wide tries.

El Mazri is a freak, he alone is in that class. Hodgo missed one gettable, but it was tries that would have won it last night, not goals.

Hodgo is above 75% now and you can't ask much more than that.

NEWSFLASH: Covell has already played a few FG games this year and STILL wasn't our kicker. So it wouldn't have made a difference if he was on.

Tigerpete

Ok goangod............So Hodgson missed 2 kicks that could've drawn the game level .........well guess what, El Masri missed one kick so your arguement has no foundation at all.

ozcrusader

Can someone please explain to me why Covell wasn't allowed to kick this year?

The kid kicked at over 80% last season and was being talked up by everyone.

This year our 'supercoach' doesn't even let him have a shot at goal - why?

Especially after we lost Pat Richards - Sheens STILL didnt play Covell - he played freakin fitzhenry on the wing!

In the few games that Covell played he went ok- and even bagged a hatrick - but this wasnt good enough.

Can someone please explain to me the point of home growing junior talent all the way through the grades, then letting these talented juniors go whilst signing retired players (moodie)?

That isn't a recruitment strategy - its a bloody farce.

tiger78

because he is too slow to be a winger, and not big enough to play in the backrow, please it is so simple. I reckon Ian Herron would have been faster than Covell. Don't get me wron he has positives in his game but really lets be sensible on this.

ozcrusader

How fast is El Masri?

How fast was Halligan?

If you look at all the top sides, they have one thing in common - a top notch goal kicker - El Masri, Fitzgibbon, Devere etc.

It's one of the reasons they go so well - they can win the tight ones.

Hogdson has been kicking well this year - so far. But this is about as good as he can go. Covell is a class 1 kicker.

BJ

the top notch kickers in those "winning teams" all can play and are pretty good at what they do..
fitzgibbon, one of the better forwards running around today..
devere nsw rep player he's got a bit of pace, is very defensivly sound
shiff good attacking fullback when he's got the ball in his hands he's dangerous..
girdler possibly past it but still goes alright
matt orford.. brilliant halfback..
hodgson brilliant attacking player and positions himself pretty well defensivly 9/10..
covell.. solid winger.. not too pacey.. reads the defence wrong at times but has a good go..
no i like covell but if he offers nothing in the team then other then his boot then why should he be there.. he had his chance and didn't take it.. all the best in the shire cov

datigergal

Luke is a friend of mine and he told me he was signed by Cronulla purely as a goal kicking winger .
Now it wouldnt be the first time our people have not valued one of our players .
I think we could have a recruiting problem somewhere .

TIGERPies

goangod said:
How fast is El Masri?

How fast was Halligan?

If you look at all the top sides, they have one thing in common - a top notch goal kicker - El Masri, Fitzgibbon, Devere etc.

It's one of the reasons they go so well - they can win the tight ones.

Hogdson has been kicking well this year - so far. But this is about as good as he can go. Covell is a class 1 kicker.

they could play covell cant

Wrighty79

Covell will not be sorley missed as a player. As a top guy to have around the club, he will be. The reason covell hasn't kicked for us this year, is because he was only in the side due to injuries, Hodgo will be with us for at least 3 years, covell is now history.

We should've realised that Covell wasn't going to be around long term, after we only signed him for a one year deal last year. But then again, we did sign Patto for 2 years, didn't we!!