Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

COVID-19

Maybe I’ll get better as we get closer but I’ve lost all interest in the footy restarting. It feels like it’s going to be a rushed together comp and in future years the Premiership not really considered a genuine one.

I get they are doing what they can, but I’d prefer to try something totally outlandish like genuine conferences, a knock out tournament or experimental rules and call it something else, then start again as normal in 2021.

Front-Rower

Maybe I’ll get better as we get closer but I’ve lost all interest in the footy restarting. It feels like it’s going to be a rushed together comp and in future years the Premiership not really considered a genuine one.

I get they are doing what they can, but I’d prefer to try something totally outlandish like genuine conferences, a knock out tournament or experimental rules and call it something else, then start again as normal in 2021.

Agreed.

2020 should become a celebration of league not a full blown premiership.

Maybe have two sections of 8, play each other twice over 14 weeks then the top 4 from each section playoff in a knockout finals series.

axl rose

Greenburger probably brushed him when Kent applied for a position in head office
Remember when Gus Gould was first doing that review of St Georges football program. Kent got to talking about it and said he had been 'offered a similar position numerous times by clubs but had to turn them down' lol

giphy.gif

axl rose

And thats how a lot of players will treat it. They are getting paid again but its not the 'real' comp so who cares. The novelty of no crowds was already starting to wear out after 2 rounds. I cant imagine 20.

WA Tiger

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ch...ature-may-28-nrl-restart-20200423-p54mi8.html

Im the same, A big factor in my lack of interest, I think, is the uncertainty of play after the original let down and will the same happen again, so yea best to just not hope too much.

I cant believe how little Im missing the game (although it’s prob because Im more focused on myself getting through the year unscathed and the distraction of this once in a lifetime upheaval) ..I’m sure what little scraps are thrown at us tho , us addicts will jump on them when they are tossed but at this point it’s possible the project Apollo will hit a brick wall..What Govt health rep would want to be responsible for another outbreak after being presented with a half hatched NRL proposal .....

We have to remember that this year will be spoken about 100 years from now it’s that dramatic. I’m as or even more interested in how this will affect next year and the year after.

Tigers Tale

Like most I agree....good post.

I get around the forum, I can’t see too many tears at the moment, unlike the idiots who run the nrl, most people understand there’s a global pandemic that’s killing people indiscriminately.

Its killed about 180,000 people and that’s getting there to 7% with some frightening stats on healthy people dying. It’s killed kids and babies.

Thousands of people died yesterday.

People want to bleat on about the beginning of the end, but the whole horrific show was commenced by just one person being infected. 2.3 transmission rate.

We go soft now, we get another Italy or US. The Americans are really struggling to control their population. States are opening their beaches while hundreds continue to die in NY etc.

We don’t have widespread testing here, many people don’t show symptoms, I am pleased we’ve made progress, but it’s not under control.

Its a pretty poor message to bring back things too early, that includes the nrl. The notion of isolation is bullshit when players are living with people who have been out and about at the shops etc. I’d say a player infection at some point is almost inevitable.

Without testing everyone, we are still partially blind and even then, we need to wait weeks before we can call it a day on these steps.

The nrl is just hell bent on money. Knows no limits.

Plus I don’t want a comp without the warriors. I just think it’s unfair.

Tigers Tale

I don't know if it has already been spoken about (bit lazy to read old posts) but one thing that hasn't been considered is the young guys we are banking on coming through the grades. They are getting no game time; therefore, no game experience. We are banking on this crucial experience for our succession planning. Players we need to get game time in CC etc are sitting twiddling their thumbs or game consoles....may cause a few issues in the future,

super_coach

Funny time, I am bloke who for the best part of 50 years has spent a lot of time obsessed with my team. Over the past month I have basically weaned myself off the NRL and feel a hell of a lot better for it.
I just hope the NRL are very careful how they Handel the re start. We have been told for years how the players are role models, yet we are told to lockdown yet they can play contact sport. It might be safe but it is not a good look. I say it reeks of desperation. Anyway crowd free games is not NRL, it’s like watching a computer game.

Das Hassler

Funny time, I am bloke who for the best part of 50 years has spent a lot of time obsessed with my team. Over the past month I have basically weaned myself off the NRL and feel a hell of a lot better for it.
I just hope the NRL are very careful how they Handel the re start. We have been told for years how the players are role models, yet we are told to lockdown yet they can play contact sport. It might be safe but it is not a good look. I say it reeks of desperation. Anyway crowd free games is not NRL, it’s like watching a computer game.

Good take on it...i can tell you one thing. .i just came out of a month long stay in hospital including a week and a bit in ICU . As would be expected they're stressed and battling to keep up and i can tell you that the possibility of having injured ( or sick) contact sportsman taking up room and resources isnt a very popular notion for many of them right now

rex2ce

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ch...ature-may-28-nrl-restart-20200423-p54mi8.html

Im the same, A big factor in my lack of interest, I think, is the uncertainty of play after the original let down and will the same happen again, so yea best to just not hope too much.

I cant believe how little Im missing the game (although it’s prob because Im more focused on myself getting through the year unscathed and the distraction of this once in a lifetime upheaval) ..I’m sure what little scraps are thrown at us tho , us addicts will jump on them when they are tossed but at this point it’s possible the project Apollo will hit a brick wall..What Govt health rep would want to be responsible for another outbreak after being presented with a half hatched NRL proposal .....

We have to remember that this year will be spoken about 100 years from now it’s that dramatic. I’m as or even more interested in how this will affect next year and the year after.
The last off-season contained some lows for me ( not getting Mitchell) and some highs at the end , getting BJ , so had some high hopes for this season, but the undisciplined rubbish that the players dished up against the Knights showed me nothing has or will change with this team subsequently don’t care if nrl ever starts again, enjoying life without it atm

Good take on it...i can tell you one thing. .i just came out of a month long stay in hospital including a week and a bit in ICU . As would be expected they're stressed and battling to keep up and i can tell you that the possibility of having injured ( or sick) contact sportsman taking up room and resources isnt a very popular notion for many of them right now

You disappeared for awhile, I was wondering and I am sure others were. Glad you made it.

It’s a very good thing to have these high end health services available for all and for the youngsters here, it’s taken a prolonged and bitter battle over generations to keep universal health cover intact. A treasurer lost his job trying to introduce compulsory pay at surgery for working people.

Uninsured Americans are paying over $200 to see the doctor down the road for a consult, so if you have to visit to an icu....that’s US dollars too.

We all saw Italy, hospitals so overwhelmed with cases that doctors were prioritising best chancers. So the people who needed the help the most, they let them die.

Massive burial pits, bodies in Utes in western countries....

The little micro virus, in tiny droplets, it floats in wind, which is why windy places like beaches and the shops and stuff across the road from them are not as safe as they seem.

Old mate virus likes floors and stuff, a ride on a shoe is a day out and into the home when you take them off.

So my point would be that we should tread pretty carefully easing the more public of the restrictions.

Also I don’t know about anyone else but apart from cheaper petrol, as an ordinary working Australian, I’ve got zero cash benefit in hand and felt the effects of inflation only. But being realistic, having a stable private sector income, kids and family all ok, that’s a lot better than hundreds of thousands of people who are being wiped out. So I’m very fortunate.

Shredder

I havent popped in to update myself for a while.

Two things of note,

1. If they start the comp again this year we are guaranteed to win, as it wont really "count".
2. Its funny that two ex administrators of the Dogs have been pushed in the space of less than two weeks from national organisations.

Front-Rower

This I also agree with

I havent popped in to update myself for a while.

Two things of note,

1. If they start the comp again this year we are guaranteed to win, as it wont really "count".
2. Its funny that two ex administrators of the Dogs have been pushed in the space of less than two weeks from national organisations.

it’s in the dogs DNA. The two that really should have been pushed is their current coach and ceo for unleashing those two predatory perverts at the schools.

Other than the above, we see a rise in infections today including at Australian health facilities.

USA hits 50,000 deaths which is why their state governors are opening things up as against the presidential advice.

I think yesterday was the worst day for new infections in the world.

The journey is a long way from over.

We have succeeded flattening the curve and keeping deaths to a minimum, however now the hard part begins...if we dont want to live with this thing for years, we need to kill it.
3 possible options on the table...

1. Full, total lockdown for a specified amount of time. No work outside of home, no excercise, borders closed etc...standard of life nose dives as does the economy.
2. We maintain current restrictions, maybe in a sanitized form until vaccines are released. Long road and many deaths ahead of us. Could be late spring of 2021.
3. Herd immunisation where the vulnerable are quarantined and 60% of the population are infected in a controlled manner. Potential for death count to reach 6 figures but it could be over with in a couple of months.

What would you choose? All are as f**ked as each other in their own ways. Id personally choose no.2 but itll be very hard and change life as we know it.

3 would render everything we've done thus far completely useless. The health system could be possibly overwhelmed inadvertently which places the chronically ill and others in danger either through contracting the disease or lack of care due to the focus on the virus.

2 is probably the most manageable IMO. 1 is well too far to go, and many other issues like domestic abuse, suicide, mental illness and the like will become serious issues to weigh up against the threat of the virus. I believe if the current restrictions continue, that may wind up being the case anyway.

Das Hassler

You disappeared for awhile, I was wondering and I am sure others were. Glad you made it.

It’s a very good thing to have these high end health services available for all and for the youngsters here, it’s taken a prolonged and bitter battle over generations to keep universal health cover intact. A treasurer lost his job trying to introduce compulsory pay at surgery for working people.

Uninsured Americans are paying over $200 to see the doctor down the road for a consult, so if you have to visit to an icu....that’s US dollars too.

We all saw Italy, hospitals so overwhelmed with cases that doctors were prioritising best chancers. So the people who needed the help the most, they let them die.

Massive burial pits, bodies in Utes in western countries....

The little micro virus, in tiny droplets, it floats in wind, which is why windy places like beaches and the shops and stuff across the road from them are not as safe as they seem.

Old mate virus likes floors and stuff, a ride on a shoe is a day out and into the home when you take them off.

So my point would be that we should tread pretty carefully easing the more public of the restrictions.

Also I don’t know about anyone else but apart from cheaper petrol, as an ordinary working Australian, I’ve got zero cash benefit in hand and felt the effects of inflation only. But being realistic, having a stable private sector income, kids and family all ok, that’s a lot better than hundreds of thousands of people who are being wiped out. So I’m very fortunate.

Thanks for that...i was due to be opened up next week and would have been waiting in there for 7 weeks...fortunately for me i was found to be in much more serious shape than first thought and they put me through as an emergency. My treatment and care was simply outstanding and i owe my life to a public health system that i'll be eternally grateful for. Our health system is what the red hatters cite as an example of the socialism that they will never allow in the U.S....they have just under 14 times our population. ..we have under 100 deaths including near 30 from the cruise ship. ...the proudly non socialist / no public health system U.S.....53,000 and still counting. A Trumpeting conman doesn't need to be particularly smart if his victims are idiots.

Yeah, I am in frequent contact with American friends for work and they feel decidedly unsafe.

I don’t think blaming China is all that productive at the moment. We are supposed to be investigating them as well. We have the most stupid politicians on planet earth. Let’s screw the pandemic over first and worry about the politics later.

Watching Addo Carr etc and Cleary breach the rules with his blond harem was a clear warning to the nrl that a number of nrl players cant be trusted.

These punks just don’t understand the risk they are putting to others. They are an especially stupid, anti social and selfish lot.

The young wonder boy, if this is what his dad taught him then we are lucky he pissed off. It seems to be a bit disrespectful too.

I’m getting well and truly over this game.

There will be many more incidents of this nature.

I am pleased LM went to Souths. His antics show he remains out of control.