Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Creagh bashing

Slippery Morris

Alot of people spewing that Creagh was selected for NSW as he is too soft after that incident he had with Hodges. And we wonder why NSW can't beat QLD. A player does one thing wrong and they are remembered for that and not the good stuff they do. They say Watmough should be in the squad instead.

Creagh may have a couple of errors in him but he makes up for it in spades and can certainly find the line. I can't understand why Watmough is not in the side. Both him and Creagh should be there.

I also hear whinging about Merrin. He has been the best front rower so far this season. Why he starts off the bench for the Saints is a mystery but when he comes on he makes a huge impact. He has great footwork for a big man.

bottle

Anyone claiming a footballer (which Creagh is) shouldn't be selected because he didn't get involved in a fight isn't worth paying attention to anyway. It's not UFC.

TheRev

Creagh is doing fine, he is hitting the line hard and often and with plenty of heart.. he can bash it up as a prop if its required by the team, or he can play an attacking role if the side has the opposition going backwards, he is deadly.

But from what ive seen of Sims, he has a case too, I mean lots of players do (but not watmough.. please no)... as for Creagh and Soward, they have a bad perception for whatever reason, when Creagh avoided that fight a few years ago, I think thats how people see him, but he can correct that with a good performance in Origin 1.

40Twenty

Creagh is doing fine, he is hitting the line hard and often and with plenty of heart.. he can bash it up as a prop if its required by the team, or he can play an attacking role if the side has the opposition going backwards, he is deadly.

But from what ive seen of Sims, he has a case too, I mean lots of players do (but not watmough.. please no)... as for Creagh and Soward, they have a bad perception for whatever reason, when Creagh avoided that fight a few years ago, I think thats how people see him, but he can correct that with a good performance in Origin 1.

has zero footwork, hasnt offloaded in ages, gets cut down at will when making the same old run !

TheRev

Give him space and hes devastating, thats what he has had these past few years as we spread the ball left, either him or Cooper would destroy an opponent, he finally got some space last night and ran a great line for 20m or so.

He isnt in career-best form agreed, but I think he is still a fantastic back-rower, and its as much a product of our teams structure that he is playing that more boring prop role.

W.Smith

Old hairy back Peter Tunks was hammering Creaghzy about that Hodges thing yesty on the radio maiking out like he was the toughest bloke that ever played footy

he hammered Trent Merrin too saying he had done nothing since the City/Country game and joked Mez hadda run 200 meteres last night to justify his NSW spot - fwiw Mez had 195m according to NRL Stats

Hitups/metres

R1 v Newy 25/183 @ 51minutes
R2 v Bulldogs 15/150 @ 56mins
R3 v Wests 13/97 @ 43mins
R4 v Manly 14/106 @ 45mins
R5 v Bronco's 16/165 @ 50mins
R6 v Cronulla 19/179 @ 50mins
R7 v Newy 13/93 @ 49mins - avge 16.4/139m
Country v City 10/82 @ 43mins
R8 v Easts 15/102 @ 62mins
R9 v FNQ 14/137 @ 56mins
R10 v Penrith 24/195 @ 54mins

all while averaging mid 20's tackles pg

Minh

Creagh just didnt want to fight, he is not the type of player that fights but to say that he isn't tough is incorrect, the guy runs the ball very hard and gets hit very hard because he goes very hard at the line. Im pretty sure that if Hodges pushed him first he would not back away having said all this if I was Creagh I would of decked Hodges he was such a pest back in the day.

Hutty1986

I look forward to Creagh having a big one in Game 1. He was lucky to make the side, now he needs to make the most of it

ebbedfred

Creagh is a tough footy player, but he's not a fighter, he's too nice a guy. Similar to Steve Menzies or Rod Wishart, just not fighters.

I don't think Creagh deserved to be there on form ahead of Watmough or Tariq, but now that he is, I hope he has a blinder, and if the situation arises, I hope he finds his inner ranga and goes apeshit all over that Hodges wanker.

64 Dragon

Creagh is a tough footy player, but he's not a fighter, he's too nice a guy. Similar to Steve Menzies or Rod Wishart, just not fighters.

I don't think Creagh deserved to be there on form ahead of Watmough or Tariq, but now that he is, I hope he has a blinder, and if the situation arises, I hope he finds his inner ranga and goes apeshit all over that Hodges wanker.

Onya!

R&WTILLIDIE

Ok so he's not a fighter...but he went over and pushed Hodges...He should have stood his ground when Hodges came over...sorry that's just my opinion

Mr Red

i am a fan of Ben Creagh but his form this year does not warrant rep footy.
Combined with the fact that he has not once looked comfortable at origin level and i really cant justify why he got picked ahead of either Watmough or Tariq Sims...

Father Ted

You know if the powers that be in NSW really were Fair dinkum they would'nt have allowed the home ground advantage to be taken away for a quick cash grap in Melbourne .. SOO is really imo a festival of state wide self congratulation on being a Queenslander a thong wearing master race that would make the average 1940's German blush.. I for one surrender now give us our players back for the real footy..

I don't give a f**k about state of origin. Just hurry up and get dropped from NSW Ben, so you can get back to Saints. We need you.

aqua_duck

The Creagh selection makes no sense on multiple levels, firstly we're left short in the propping department, Tamou and Merrin are essentially rookies and none of our backrowers can play prop, and they're up against 4 bona fide test frontrowers. Secondly, Creagh is not an origin player, never has been, and finally he should've had the red line put through his name after the Hodges incident, don't worry about being a fighter or not being a fighter, it's about standing up for yourself and pushing someone in the back and then running away is the most cowardly thing you can do, it shows fear and Qld will always have it over him mentally after that. I mean c'mon Creagh isn't small, he's bloody just as big as Hodges if not bigger. If a Qld forward had backed down against a Blue's centre I guarantee you they'd never be picked again