Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch, Part III

CC_Roosters

10,826 at Canberra

I think the raiders crowd problems are due to the stadium/ticketing than any other reasons. The brumbies who are also very competitive in the past 2 years are struggling crowd wise as well. Consider that their semi final pulled 14k this year and really gives an indication of whats going on in the ACT.

BunniesMan

Average will be about 13.5 for the round after tomorrow. Another step backwards in chasing our 2012 numbers.

DC_fan

Seven games played so far this weekend for a total of 90,408 at an average of 12,915 per game.

The Dragons/Bulldogs game tomorrow night will have to draw a crowd of 9,592 (which it should) for the round total to top 100,000.

BDR

Yet whenever I say the code is going backwards I get shouted down and called an AFL sympathiser.

Jason Maher

Meanwhile, the AFL drew ~325,000 to 9 games. TV figures indicate we have a similar sized fanbase, but we fail miserably at getting bums on seats and getting people to financially support their clubs as members. Anyone who writes this off as a non-issue is a moron.

Teddyboy

Meanwhile, the AFL drew ~325,000 to 9 games. TV figures indicate we have a similar sized fanbase, but we fail miserably at getting bums on seats and getting people to financially support their clubs as members. Anyone who writes this off as a non-issue is a moron.

Strong point.

Rugby league is doing just as good as it ever has.

AFL the same.

Teddy needs the nurse again!

SLRBRONCOS

Suncorp pax for this sunday is 23,409!

this is shite, zero advertisement anywhere. The days of it all over the busses, bus stops, ads and city banners are all over. The Broncos shine is really actually dying off. Our old pals on a Sunday arvo, fair enough both of us are shithouse.

We were second last vs the Sharks who were running last on a Sunday in 2010, that got 26.6k.

So this IMO needs 35k to pass...

SLRBRONCOS

Was it raining yesterday in Melbourne?

Because Essendon v Magpies yesterday got 69k.. This is a smallish crowd for that fixture.. Unless it was raining.

I wish we all had the cheap tickets that they are blessed with at the MCG.

The other thing with AFL unlike NRL the viewing experience is actually better at the stadium, with a constant view of the field, on the tele you miss out on watching all the space, opportunities arise.

franklin2323

Where did I suggest rugby league is dying?

You made it seem that way. Newcastle were the only top 8 team to host a game this round so it was pretty much expected to be poor drawing round.

As for TV. Us v Roosters next week Parra v Tigers on Friday nights :lol::lol: chosen a month ago so 9 knew yet still picked rubbish games no wonder they are down.

Eddie Lab

memberships are growing at a decent rate. 13% increase this year, 13% last year, 26% the year before that. I've done some projection and if they continue at the current rate it should hit 372k members by 2017 which is damn close to ARLC's target.

I think Smith and the ARLC need to get involved with ticket/member pricing next year. The Clubs are either signing bad agreements with stadiums or are jacking up the prices for no reason, either way it should be taken out of the clubs hands.

tumbidragon

Speaking of memberships. I think the RL 9's could be a really good promoting tool to push memberships up again next season. It should be a great couple of days, hyping up the season proper. Hope to see ALL clubs with booths signing up members there :)

firechild

What Manly fans travelled!

It's a widely loved myth that Manly fans don't travel. They may not be the best at attending away games but they're certainly not the worst. FWIW, I was one of those that travelled and when I was standing out the front of the ground waiting for my mate I reckon at least 50% of the people I saw walking in were Manly fans.

You have to love channel 9 for trying hard. I saw an ad last week saying every game they show from here on in is a potential grand final rehearsal. This week they are broadcasting Parramatta vs. Wests.

franklin2323

You have to love channel 9 for trying hard. I saw an ad last week saying every game they show from here on in is a potential grand final rehearsal. This week they are broadcasting Parramatta vs. Wests.

Yet. Idiots think RL rates poorly due to lack of interest in the sport

Saint Doc

Just for fun, given what is possible, who would we want to match up in the finals from a crowd perspective?

Given Souths and Roosters are almost guarranteed top 2, and manly/Melbourne look certs for 3&4, I think a combination that allows Souths v Melbourne (ANZ) and Easts vs Manly (SFS) would be better than the alternate.

It's pretty slim pickings in the bottom half with no real potential rivalries.

From a crowd perspective, Knights, Bulldogs, Warriors (unlikely) or I guess bandwagon Raiders would be the best potential hosts for those games.

Sharks @ SFS would be a disaster, esp against Canberra or titans.

Knights v raiders/sharks and Bulldogs v Warriors would be good