Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Daniel Mortimer's sympathy for Melbourne Storm stops when whistle blows

spartan2153

That's exactly what I thought.

Wow aren't Melbourne playing well for a side with not much to play for.... Well shouldn't that be a wake up call for the Eels??

They arent playing for pride. The majority of that squad is playing for contracts. Think about it. Every game they play they are showing other clubs what they can do.

Parra Guru

Ummmm pretty sure the past 4 years have showcased exactly what they are capable of!

Just saying they're playing a lot better than Parra at the moment. It's almost like we're totally out of our comfort zone when we hit the top 8...

Someone

Mortimer has been sh*t all year, this points about melbourne are stupid (as posted above) And overall should STFU.

lingard

I've seen more 'pride' and enthusiasm from a melbourne storm side playing for no points than I have from our mob

Well, you can say that. But the fact is they have the most expensive team in the competition. They have spent more money on buying their team than any other club has. Every other club in the competition is competing with a holden commodore - Melbourne has a McLaren F1. They have - far and away - the best team in the competition. They have it because they massively cheated the salary cap - not for one or two years, but in ever-increasing increments over a five year period.
Added to that, they are now operating under a seige mentality where it`s "us against them". There is no better motivation if you handle it right. It`s no f**king wonder they are performing beautifully.

lingard

If we are to give any credibilty to the various people who appered on the Insight program several weeks ago (ie: Holmes-a-Court, Jason Taylor, several player managers and others), then it would appear to be quite unlikely that: a.) Craig Bellamy didn`t know about at the salary cap rorts
b.) none of the players knew about the rorts.

In light of this, I would suggest that Osbourne should gently pull Mr Mortimer aside.........and BLOW THE sh*t OUT OF HIM!
That`s what I would do. HOW DARE YOU have sympathy for these cheating arseholes who have single-handedly set the game of Rugby League back a hundred years! Mr Mortimer! Get your finger out of your arse, and get out there on Friday night, and BLOW THESE CHEATING merkinS OFF THE PARK! There`s a good boy.

lewiscook

Morts needs to concerntrate more on directing the forwards around the park and getting players in motion, showing and going at the right times, putting players into gaps, a consistant kicking game and organising our attack in opposition 20.

Morts needs to yell, scream and do what he can to get players running lines and threatening te opposition defence as much as possible instead of relying on Hayne to throw the miracle ball everytime where in sh*t!

If we are to give any credibilty to the various people who appered on the Insight program several weeks ago (ie: Holmes-a-Court, Jason Taylor, several player managers and others), then it would appear to be quite unlikely that: a.) Craig Bellamy didn`t know about at the salary cap rorts
b.) none of the players knew about the rorts.

In light of this, I would suggest that Osbourne should gently pull Mr Mortimer aside.........and BLOW THE sh*t OUT OF HIM!
That`s what I would do. HOW DARE YOU have sympathy for these cheating arseholes who have single-handedly set the game of Rugby League back a hundred years! Mr Mortimer! Get your finger out of your arse, and get out there on Friday night, and BLOW THESE CHEATING merkinS OFF THE PARK! There`s a good boy.
i think his comments were made trying not to hand the storm any ammo and when the journo didnt get a nibble he decided to make make morts into a storm sympathiser so he could then get someone like pricey to fire back saying he's a traitor to parra etc. then he gets the juicy 'parra crisis' headline

I don't particularly know nor do I care why he's persistantly our spokes person at the club

Mate, he's very popular, especially with the more 'bandwagon' type supporters - teenage girls and little kids and whatnot.

And despite some loathing for bandwagoners on these boards, they're the fans who are a chance of becoming diehards. Even if they don't, the more members the club has, and the more people who come to games, the more the club will be able to keep up with the inevitable salary cap rises we see on the horizon.

parra pete

That's exactly what I thought.

Wow aren't Melbourne playing well for a side with not much to play for.... Well shouldn't that be a wake up call for the Eels??

Wonder if Storm 'back themselves' each game? That would give them an incentive in each and every match they take the field.....
"Bet with your head, not over it..."...But gee, if they got found out they might lose points.....

Mate, he's very popular, especially with the more 'bandwagon' type supporters - teenage girls and little kids and whatnot.

And despite some loathing for bandwagoners on these boards, they're the fans who are a chance of becoming diehards. Even if they don't, the more members the club has, and the more people who come to games, the more the club will be able to keep up with the inevitable salary cap rises we see on the horizon.

yeah, I'm aware that he's a very marketable young lad and that may well be the reason but in all honestly, it doesn't phase me what he says, when and how often..but as you say, he's the guy (other than Hayne) that alot of young fans want to hear from and that's just what the demands of professional brings.

Runaround Man

I don't understand the big fuss about what Morts said.
He has his point of view.
Aren't the Parra players allowed to think?
Do they need to toe the 'company line'
Fair dinkum, get off the guy's back.

lingard

If he was playing like a million dollars, we probably would get off his back. Besides, it`s all in fun. Just drumming up some hate and some motivation to beat these f**king merkins. And I don`t mean merkins.

Hellsy

:lol: :lol: The mustn't be hey?
I luv how alot of us preach free speech here on LU, but when a player speaks his mind he is told to 'shutup cause you're playing sh*t' :lol:

lingard

:lol: :lol: The mustn't be hey?
I luv how alot of us preach free speech here on LU, but when a player speaks his mind he is told to 'shutup cause you're playing sh*t' :lol:

Well, it`s also to do with the incongruity of it all, Hellsy. Here we are on the eve of a match which, to all intents and purposes, should be a grudge match, and we have a player - who many feel is under-performing and should be concentrating hard on his own game rather than continually speaking to the media (that`s the impression, anyway) - saying that he feels sorry for the opposition players. Now why do you think that some people might feel that`s an odd situation and feel the need to comment on it? Der. :roll:

Hellsy

Blah blah blah lingard :roll:, I never said you all couldn't have an opinion, simply that I agree with RM's assessment and also with other's opinions that Daniel is appointed a spokesperson by the club... maybe the club is at fault for not pulling him from media duties, but 'no' lets tell Daniel to shut up until he stops playing badly :lol: :lol: whatever. I assume I am allowed to agree with people on this free speech forum that we all use.

Still wondering why anyone has sympathy for the Storm before the whistle blows...