Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

David Smith...is footy better off?

Let's see the previous Gallop admins efforts.
1) No proper insurance scheme in place,now finally being rectified.
2) A sh*thouse Tv deal which left the code with no money in which to grow the game and provide better infrastructure
3) No strategic plan in place,there is one now.
4)Player misbehaviour under Gallop,had no final line in the sand drawn.It does now.
5) Gallop spent SFA time in regionals and outback areas of the code.Smith has made an effort to do so.
6) No integrity unit in place to investigate rorts etc.In place now.
7) Gallop paid little heed to International rl,Smith considers it vital.
8) Gallop had no idea about looking at alternate revenue sources to TV,the new admin is exploring that now.
9) The Gallop admin had no effective Govt lobbying group'to secure better facilities for its fans>it does now.
10) Many NRL clubs were run by well intentioned former players and look at the mess.Smith is trying to drag the clubs into the 21st Century.
11) The removal of the biff and shoulder charge by Smith was to achieve two things.Protection of the players welfare and to try and portray a better image for many of the mums who decides where little Fonteroy is to play.
12) refs under Gallop and Smith yes at times are under the pump.They are human that is up to Archer.
13) Crowds Well thanks to the last TV deal under Gallop and the current one we have Monday night football.IF that draws crowds,then so does breaking wind in a lift.Plenty of family deals for kids of late to encourage crowds.
14) The code has money in the Bank for a future fund $40m ,under Gallop a future fund was a savings account planned for a grandchild.
15)Under Smith the code has Touch Football under its wing.The advantage buying(insurance) and lobbying power and another potential audience and players for the code.
16 ) At press interviews Gallop comes across as a staid lawyer,Smith a passionate businessman.'
17) Gallop kept expansion bids guessing ,at times giving false hope.Smith has stated we will discuss end of this year.No promises,no BS.
18) We lost Folau because of an outmoded Salary Cap in place under Gallop and were unable to compete with fumbleball or rah ball.We can now as the cap is well lifted, if it comes to the crunch.

Work out the scores from that little lot,and tell me who is ahead by a country mile.

Excellent points made. Gallop was a wet fart for rugby league.

On the plus side:
Shed load more money into the game
Better general management of issues in NRL
Bigger grants to NRL clubs helping sustainability
Improvements to funding and structure of nsw and qland cup
Given clear timeline for review of expansion decision

On the negative:
Spent 18 months doing a game management review that has seen no action for bush or affiliated states footy
A dropping interest in the game generally
Hasn't been able to reign in the mongrel press
No national growth of the game approach
Ignored the needs of nzrl to grow the game in one of the nrl's key player nurseries

Hello, I'm The Doctor

2) A sh*thouse Tv deal which left the code with no money in which to grow the game and provide better infrastructure
4)Player misbehaviour under Gallop,had no final line in the sand drawn.It does now.
5) Gallop spent SFA time in regionals and outback areas of the code.Smith has made an effort to do so.
8) Gallop had no idea about looking at alternate revenue sources to TV,the new admin is exploring that now.
9) The Gallop admin had no effective Govt lobbying group'to secure better facilities for its fans>it does now.
10) Many NRL clubs were run by well intentioned former players and look at the mess.Smith is trying to drag the clubs into the 21st Century.
11) The removal of the biff and shoulder charge by Smith was to achieve two things.Protection of the players welfare and to try and portray a better image for many of the mums who decides where little Fonteroy is to play.
12) refs under Gallop and Smith yes at times are under the pump.They are human that is up to Archer.
13) Crowds Well thanks to the last TV deal under Gallop and the current one we have Monday night football.IF that draws crowds,then so does breaking wind in a lift.Plenty of family deals for kids of late to encourage crowds.
14) The code has money in the Bank for a future fund $40m ,under Gallop a future fund was a savings account planned for a grandchild.
15)Under Smith the code has Touch Football under its wing.The advantage buying(insurance) and lobbying power and another potential audience and players for the code.
16 ) At press interviews Gallop comes across as a staid lawyer,Smith a passionate businessman.'
17) Gallop kept expansion bids guessing ,at times giving false hope.Smith has stated we will discuss end of this year.No promises,no BS.
18) We lost Folau because of an outmoded Salary Cap in place under Gallop and were unable to compete with fumbleball or rah ball.We can now as the cap is well lifted, if it comes to the crunch.

Work out the scores from that little lot,and tell me who is ahead by a country mile.

what he said ^^

Matthew Corner

Just don't agree with the sentiments that mums are going to allow little Johnnycake play league because the biff and shoulder charge are out of the game.

It has killed the goose that was laying the angry egg.

League has become soft and boring.

And yeah, I agree Gallop was just a news limited crony doing jack. Poor soccer.

Matthew Corner

This post is biased towards smith.

You seem like an nrl employee.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

On the negative:
Spent 18 months doing a game management review that has seen no action for bush or affiliated states footy
No national growth of the game approach
Ignored the needs of nzrl to grow the game in one of the nrl's key player nurseries

So pretty much just expansion stuff. DSmith has already said that this exansion review isnt just about putting in 2 new teams, its about expanding the game as a whole...

A dropping interest in the game generally

This is just not true...

Crowds are steady, tv ratings are steady and, had this years Origin gone to a decider, it would have been the biggest ever.

The reason there is a perception as less interest is because everyone is a year older and just a bit less interested in NRL. For everyone, watching footy as a kid is the most exciting thing ever, as you grow up that goes away and eventually its only nostalgia keeping you around.

But as we all become less excited each year, new crops of kids are discovering the sport spending their entire week at school discussing next weeks games.

I know its hard for everyone to do, but you need realise how fallible and subjective your perceptions are...

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Just because an arguement has 2 sides doesnt mean both sides are equally valid...

Gallop obviously did some good things (i cant think of any, but after 10 years there must be something). But the fact that DSmith has done (and has had to do) everything on that list in just over a year PROVES that Gallop is objectively the shittier choice and shows the handy-cap DSmith has has to deal with.

cvomparing this era to the gallop era is pointless. Two very different times with very different circumstances. More importnatly we should be measuring the ARLC/NRl/Smith outcomes based on what the game now has ie.
Independent unified board
Shed load of money
Well paid business experienced CEO
Large management and backroom administration team

Bronco Rob

Just don't agree with the sentiments that mums are going to allow little Johnnycake play league because the biff and shoulder charge are out of the game.

It has killed the goose that was laying the angry egg.

League has become soft and boring.

And yeah, I agree Gallop was just a news limited crony doing jack. Poor soccer.

It definitely aint soft, what you need to throw elbows and cheap shots to be hard?? As far as entertaining, I think the game has been better this season compared to previous but there is room for improvement and when there are coaches who play not to lose rather than coach to win we will always have some dull footy being played. There's too much emphasis on completing sets, it may help towards winning a game but scoring tries ultimately wins you games. Unfortunately this has happened with most professional sports.

I agree with Taipan about what Smith has done for the game but more can be done especially at the school level where RL is left for dead by other codes.

don't forget getting touch footy on board

that is a pretty big deal

Frederick

Starting to not rate David Smith.

1) has spent a truckload more than Gallop on staff.

2) the game is becoming soft with him trying to clean up its image. What attracted punters to league is the big hits....GONE. The punch ups....GONE. The masterful attack.....GONE. It's 4 hit ups then backline then kick. Yawn.

3) the asada thing is a white elephant and he over reacted. Seems like he was more interested in protecting his own image than looking after the players and his staffs best interests.

4) he is a pom.

5) he doesn't have a clue about footy.

What do you all reckon?

pass. Pass conceded. Fail?

This post is biased towards Gallop.

You seem like an alcoholic gossip rag editor.

Tell me, what are your thoughts on Phil Gould?

Rodney

What?
I'm sorry, I must have imagined the Auckalnd 9s then?
and also imagined the final of the 4nations going to New Zealand.
While Smith might not have been the driving force in these moves going ahead his administration has certainly turned its focus to winning over the kiwis

don't forget getting touch footy on board

that is a pretty big deal

Whilst it is satisfying to see a variation of RL brough back into the fold I am struggling to see any real tangible outcomes yet in regards to this? Aside from the NRL touch logo now used on touch websites and jerseys what other positives for RL have come out of the investment? Be interesting to know how much the NRL paid for the link up. Hopefully there is some leverage strategy re profile of RL, transition from touch to full RL and efforts to use the popularity of touch in affiliated states to connect people to RL in those areas I am struggling to find any news stories suggesting anything is happening?