Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

David Smith's Powers

Tommy Smith

What a load of bullshit, if you told every club that it can only use juniors that play in their local area and juniors from anywhere else were off limits not even the insidious salary cap would save the game from being lopsided. Every club is duty bound to contribute money, time and effort to junior systems or feeder clubs

It's up to clubs to employ a coaching staff and scouts to search out and take risks on young players from anywhere they can, only when a player has reached top grade standard and introduced to it can he be poached.
:thumb

Well said.

Recruiting kids at 15-16 is often totally impractical. At that age they're still at school and living with their parents in their hometown. So obviously that option is rarely appropriate for a club like the Roosters who are based in the Eastern Suburbs, an affluent area with a very small junior base.

What we can do however is scout Australia and New Zealand for talented late teenagers and convince them to join our system. And it's pretty easy to convince them when we have such a good record of developing these teenagers into quality 1st graders.

Seriously, anyone who actually thinks that a 16-18 year old kid no longer needs developing is grossly mistaken. A lot of time, money and effort still goes into nurturing these youngsters into quality first graders. Something we are very good at.

MaxPower

Seriously, anyone who actually thinks that a 16-18 year old kid no longer needs developing is grossly mistaken. A lot of time, money and effort still goes into nurturing these youngsters into quality first graders. Something we are very good at.

And a lot of time, money and effort goes into developing these youngsters before they are signed by the Roosters. Share the credit around, bro.

natheel

Well said.

Recruiting kids at 15-16 is often totally impractical. At that age they're still at school and living with their parents in their hometown. So obviously that option is rarely appropriate for a club like the Roosters who are based in the Eastern Suburbs, an affluent area with a very small junior base.

What we can do however is scout Australia and New Zealand for talented late teenagers and convince them to join our system. And it's pretty easy to convince them when we have such a good record of developing these teenagers into quality 1st graders.

no one has said 16-18 year olds don't need nurturing but the development stage is pretty much done. its more nurturing them into the life as a professional footballer. But taking full credit is ridiculous. Roosters are just good at plucking from other talent pools thats all.And it's only really been over the past 3 years since Brian Smith set shit up for you guys. Many bag him but he did a lot for your club that went unnoticed

mxlegend99

Well said.

You don't have a good record of developing players. You have a good record of taking great young players who are already proven to be better then other kids their age. 90% of tge work is done before you sign them. Other clubs found them first, developed and nurtured them etc. And Roosters come along with big money and no competition from other juniors standing in their way for an NRL spot.

POPEYE

You don't have a good record of developing players. You have a good record of taking great young players who are already proven to be better then other kids their age. 90% of tge work is done before you sign them. Other clubs found them first, developed and nurtured them etc. And Roosters come along with big money and no competition from other juniors standing in their way for an NRL spot.

Bullshit, there a thousands of young talented players that never get the chance they deserve, especially in the bush. Any club who doesn't look for 'kids better than others their age' is doing League a disservice, the real shit clubs are those who want them on a platter. The people who 'develop' players are the volunteers who did it for nothing because they love to see their sons play the game

roosters developed Mini lol

Too be fair thou how many guys in the dogs set up are juniors? Or the warriors. Without looking deeply id say Knights and Canberra have the most juniors in there team

Kiwi

Roosters 2015 Strongest line-up:

1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2. Daniel Tupou
3. Michael Jennings
4. Blake Ferguson
5. Shaun Kenny-Dowall
6. James Maloney
7. Mitchell Pearce
8. Jared Warea-Hargreaves
9. Jake Friend
10. Dylan Napa
11. Boyd Cordner
12. Mitchell Aubusson
13. Aiden Guerra

14. Sam Moa
15. Isaac Liu
16. Martin Kennedy/Kane Evans
17. Jackson Hastings

The players in bold all made their debuts with the Roosters. And the players in bold & underlined have been developed by the club as teenagers before making their debuts.

How many clubs can boast 12 players in their starting 17 who debuted at the club? And how many have 9 in the team who've been there since they were teenagers?

We have a ridiculously small junior base. Nothing we can do about that. But we develop and nurture young talent better than anyone in the game. And ironically we're about to get punished for it as a couple get poached this year following our success.

The bit in bold....:lol::lol:. Unless you mean pay overs for other clubs best young talent and claim them as your own then yeah sure.

So one season at the club before making their debut makes guys like Pearce and Hastings roosters developed players....:lol:

For the record

Copely, Reed, Hodges, Hunt, McGuire, McCullough, Thaiday, Glenn, Gillett, Parker, Oates, Nikorima, Kahu, Ofahengaue and Maranta are all in line for a round 1 start. Throw in Boyb mid year. The only out of towners that are certain to be playing are Milford, Vidot, Gavet and Blair. So 14 of our starting 17 will be home grown, juniors, developed by us, whatever you want to call it.

For the record Kiwi

Are you seriously comparing "home grown" talent between the small pocket of the Eastern suburbs of sydney and the entire region north of the Gold Coast to Townsville and west?

How about telling us how many in the side are from say Wynum Manly? That might give us a better comparison

Noname36

no one has said 16-18 year olds don't need nurturing but the development stage is pretty much done. its more nurturing them into the life as a professional footballer. But taking full credit is ridiculous. Roosters are just good at plucking from other talent pools thats all.And it's only really been over the past 3 years since Brian Smith set shit up for you guys. Many bag him but he did a lot for your club that went unnoticed

Exactly. By the time they're picked up by clubs like the Chooks they're already good (hence why they're already in a system). Of course they still need some further development at that age but it isn't hard to put some final work into a player that you already know is talented. The hardest part is actually identifying the talent that could make it and developing their skills so they're good enough to be able to handle playing at the level they need to in the system.

Canard

For the record Kiwi

Are you seriously comparing "home grown" talent between the small pocket of the Eastern suburbs of sydney and the entire region north of the Gold Coast to Townsville and west?

How about telling us how many in the side are from say Wynum Manly? That might give us a better comparison

Great point.

Justin Hodges is from Cairns and was originally a Crushers Junior.

Thaiday is NQ born and bred also.

I'm sure there are numerous other examples. It would be like me saying Robert Lui or Justin Oneill were Cowboys juniors

Kiwi

For the record Kiwi

I don't care where a player comes from. If a club reqruits and develops that player from 15 then they can be considered one of their junior/developed players. Papali, Milford and fair few others born in Canberra? Same with Foran and DCE for Manly. Both very obviously developed through Manly's system. Slater, Inglis, Smith, and Cronk born in Melbourne? Take your anti Broncos glasses off.

Kiwi

Great point.

Justin Hodges is from Cairns and was originally a Crushers Junior.

Thaiday is NQ born and bred also.

I'm sure there are numerous other examples. It would be like me saying Robert Lui or Justin Oneill were Cowboys juniors
No a bad point. Thaiday isn't a Cowboys junior. He has had nothing to do with the Cowboys ever, he came through the Broncos system just like Hodges. You are comparing two players who came through the Broncos system to Lui a player that played first grade for the Tigers. Very obvious you'll say anything to have a dig at big brother.

Tommy Smith

I haven't once given the Roosters sole credit for developing a player. Not least of all Jackson Hastings (I merely stated he debuted as a Rooster).

Again, give you guys an inch on this issue and you'll take a mile, such is the frothing this issue creates. I've been taken out of context or misinterpreted about half a dozen times now.

The fact is, when 16-18 year olds join a club, they could still go either way in their careers and thus require further development - as players and human beings. The Eels had Daniel Tupou on the scrapheap. Great work there at developing a talented young player.

We however, for the most part, have a good recent record of providing young players with a very good environment and an excellent coaching set up that allows them to fulfil their potential.

If this offends people then so be it. (Of course it probably doesn't, what does is some mythical argument I haven't even purported).

Craig Johnston

if the broncos learnt to focus on their catchment area, they'd have DCE cam smith and jono thurston playing for them + heaps more

Canard

No a bad point. Thaiday isn't a Cowboys junior. He has had nothing to do with the Cowboys ever, he came through the Broncos system just like Hodges. You are comparing two players who came through the Broncos system to Lui a player that played first grade for the Tigers. Very obvious you'll say anything to have a dig at big brother.

Hodges and Thaiday are products of the NQ junior system (not the Cowboys). To claim they are solely Broncos juniors only is wrong.

As for your last bit of pettiness? Straw man argument at best.

What I'm finding hilarious in this thread in the last page or two, is of the Roosters players mentioned how many were unwanted by their previous clubs? Daniel Tupou for instance was a Canterbury Junior who could not get a game in the development squads with the Bulldogs so was lured to the Eels to try out for theirs. The Eels thought so highly of him what did they offer him? Nothing. Zero. Yet the Roosters poached him? :lol:

On the wider scale, going by the comments of some of you seem to be saying that if player x is in club y's development system then player x is "indentured" to club y and can't go anywhere else. Really? I thought slavery was abolished in the 19th century yet because it is sport that it is ok, that is what you seem to be proposing.....:crazy:

Noname36

I haven't once given the Roosters sole credit for developing a player. Not least of all Jackson Hastings (I merely stated he debuted as a Rooster).

Again, give you guys an inch on this issue and you'll take a mile, such is the frothing this issue creates. I've been taken out of context or misinterpreted about half a dozen times now.

The fact is, when 16-18 year olds join a club, they could still go either way in their careers and thus require further development - as players and human beings. The Eels had Daniel Tupou on the scrapheap. Great work there at developing a talented young player.

We however, for the most part, have a good recent record of providing young players with a very good environment and an excellent coaching set up that allows them to fulfil their potential.

If this offends people then so be it. (Of course it probably doesn't, what does is some mythical argument I haven't even purported).

If you say shit like "The Roosters develop young talent better than anyone" you have to except that reaction. It's an absolute insult to the clubs that discovered the players and did the hard yards with them early on so the Roosters could even see them to begin with. Not to mention the clubs that spend a lot of money investing in grassroots footy and supporting the junior clubs that are bringing kids through rugby league.

Poaching a kid that's already been identified as talented by another club and putting some final touches on them as they mature certainly doesn't make the Roosters "better at developing young talent than anyone else".

Kiwi

FFS every young player plays in their local area while under a certain age before they join their club. And comparing Hodges and Thaiday to Lui is right? Please that is grasping at straws and screams of being blind by hate for the Broncos.