Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Day grand finals 'cause cancer'- Fitzgerald

sharko

bobmar28 said:
I wouldn't be concerned about skin cancer but I prefer the night grand final, it is an event that should be seen at night. I've said it before but a day GF would look as daggy as the AFL one. And don't forget the revenue to the game through channel nine who would probably pay less for the rights to a day GF.

Mate if Channel 9 want to pay less they can certainly offer it and then lose the grand final, but there are 2-3 other commercial tv stations that would pay a motza for a league grand final in the arvo..that is the way the league rights should be sold, by auction to the genuine highest bidder.

big pat

the new denis fitzgerald cure for constipation, a couple of comments from fitzy and you get the sh*ts.

Southernsaint

Ah Denis, well done. He gets in the papers so easily.

I'm fair skinned but I will gladly pack a cap and SPF 30+ if it means we can get back to a (superior) day GF...

HevyDevy said:
The irony is that people aren't getting ENOUGH sun these days, thus a lack of Vitamin C in kids. A daytime GF could be better for their health!!

Vitamin C has nothing to do with sunlight.
It is Vitamin D

eels_fan_01

Yeah he is an idiot. This is the same man who said conversions are a thing of the pasts and wanted them gone. If anyone has lost touch with the game its him, give it away champ.

Johnny Bravo

Sooooo let me get this straight? All the day semis before the grand final, or any of the games throughout the season during the day players and fans do not run the risk of getting sunburnt. On grand final day the sun is so much more intense that it cannot be risked...

I think someone is clutching at straws. :roll:

He must be running out of controversial things to say when the tabloids come calling...

salivor

God I'd be embarrassed if he was the CEO representing my club. Has a sensible intelligent idea every actually come out of his mouth?

salivor said:
God I'd be embarrassed if he was the CEO representing my club. Has a sensible intelligent idea every actually come out of his mouth?

i think the under 20's comp was Fitzy's idea

yappy

El Diablo said:

So the question remains - has a sensible intelligent idea every actually come out of his mouth?

salivor

El Diablo said:

That depends on what your thoughts are on that. Let's give it a few years before we declare Fitzgerald capable of intelligent thought.

:roll:

I suspect it was a joke... along the lines of "Daylight savings will fade the curtains!" Well, I hope so for his sake because when I saw that quote I immediately heard duelling banjos in the distance...

Anyway, in all other respects Denis is a fine administrator and businessman.

Gus22

Someone should point out to Dennis that although the players may very well be vulnerable to skin cancer by playing in daylight, they face a much larger menace by playing at night because of......... THE BOGEYMAN!

In-goal

Regardless of what anyone says I love the night GF, if anything I would preffer to see the match moved to the Saturday night rather than the Sunday.

SOO dosen't get played in the afternoon and no longer should the GF