Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Deaths in Rugby League

choisir

Anyone recall the Ambrose Morgan story from Souths in about 1974? I think he died after a head knock.

I remember Mum rushoing in to tell me about the Souths "star" player who died. I was thinking......Piggins?
scan0001.jpg

SDM

Wasnt there a player who suffered from memory loss a while ago. I remember going to a game at Parra as a kid with my dad and he came on at half time.

Yeah, Danny Williams, forget where he was and tried to king hit his way back to reality.

And Shayne Dunley forgot how to swallow.

The closest one I can think of was Danny Sheppard playing for the Roosters in the early 90’s. He suffered heat exhaustion and was in serious condition. I was shocked to read a season of two later that he was back playing again in far north Queensland (of all places).

i'm pretty shocked about danny sheppard too.. considering we are talking about players dying on the pitch... glad to hear he was resurrected...

Interesting article.
No mucking around there, rifle under the cowboy poncho, backing out slowly.."No body follow or ill shoot you too''
Half expected ol Clint to appear with six guns ablazing.
Makes todays crap look tame eh.
Whaddya reckon Bobby?

mightybears

George Piper died when he was a Penrith Panther [also ex Balmain], as a result of a fight outside a club in 68.

girvie

George Ambrum (Norths winger 1966-1974, Australia 1972) died while playing touch footy in Cessnock in 1986.

GB!

a little bit off topic, but does anyone know how the young mannah lad is from cronulla? wasn't he crook?