Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Did anyone else think..

Mr Fourex

The days that the best players in the NRL are playing in Origin are gone as well. At least "half" of the best players in the NRL now play for the Kiwis. So its not the best two representative sides any more in origin. That lowers origin down so it is no longer "the ultimate".

:lol: :lol:

Sorry ......NZ still can't join in on our SOO games

so f*ck off !! :D

Ike E Bear

It was tense because it was close, but it wasn't particularly "pretty" or flashy.

Whose up for a conspiracy theory? Sticky picks a team specifically geared to win an arm wrestle and then the refs basically establish "anything goes" to turn the game into an arm wrestle. Is the NRL worried that Queensland dominance is damaging the Origin brand?

Is it too much to ask for a NSW team that looks like it can score points?

i thought it was a great game, and a step up from the past few years. it could have been better, but i loved every minute.

oldmancraigy

That's only because almost every maroons player gets tackled then holds the NSW tackler down on top to milk a penalty. Smith and Myles are the worst, they do it every time.

The refs need some balls. They come from the Bill Harrigan school of 'No Penalties = Good Game', which results in very slow rucks and lots of grubby stuff from both teams

Agree on part B.

part A --> sure Smith and Myles were trying the 'penalty milk' - but there was a LOT of laying all over the tackled player.

It's the refs fault - penalize it early and get on with the game.

Knightmare

Can't agree there. I thought QLD were always dangerous, but NSW actually turned up for each other in defence this year.

Overall though, not many big hits and was a pretty average game to watch.

+1.

The Maroons were keen to throw the ball around and bomb the in-goal, NSW had to defend for a large part of the game so their attacking chances were limited. If NSW get more attacking chances in their half in Game 2, it will be a more entertaining game.

Knightmare

As was pointed out, some clown makes this thread every year.

Queensland were well below what they are capable of, but NSW were about as good as they'll ever be. You should just be happy that your heartless state got close for once.

Going from NSW defensive efforts last night, heartless isn't a word that comes to mind.

Robbo De Lechez

Not great; notable for bumbling rather than brilliance. The set leading to the winning try was excellent though.

So many bombs to the corner as well. I understand why they do them but i just get sick of seeing them.

Springs

Enjoyable and a great game compared to the last two years, but compared to early last decade not very good at all. For me Origin has declined in quality since 2006-07. The years where game 1 always seemed to be decided by a field goal were the best.

DecoyRunner

It was a tight game in which defence ruled. Slow play the balls all night on both sides. When Bellamy first got the NSW gig, they defended like Melbourne. It was slow and ugly for that first game. This was worse.

Paullyboy

Haha, I always enjoy the input of kiwis into these threads.

Don't worry, we'll still pretend we care about test matches against you when they turn up....

Mark Rudd

The '92 Origin they played on FOX before was a faster game. Actually, the game around the early 90's was great. The ref kept the players back 7-8mts it seemed. Plus the players tackled then released.

The problem now is that the refs allow the players to tackle, wrestle a little then hold so it slows the game up like it did last night. Thats the problem with the game overall at the moment.

Keep a skinny 10 mts but let the players have a quick play the ball.

Springs

The '92 Origin they played on FOX before was a faster game. Actually, the game around the early 90's was great. The ref kept the players back 7-8mts it seemed. Plus the players tackled then released.

The problem now is that the refs allow the players to tackle, wrestle a little then hold so it slows the game up like it did last night. Thats the problem with the game overall at the moment.

Keep a skinny 10 mts but let the players have a quick play the ball.

And the scrums were still contested but not a complete mess.

Hooch

QLD were defending a slender lead all night and spent a lot of time in their shell. Against stronger opposition that pretty much costs you the game. They got so bad they choked themselves into giving NSW momentum when Johno hahahahaha Thurston missed the penalty.

Notice how a soon as they needed a try they just stepped it up and got one almost straight away? Far too easily.

NSW just do not threaten in attack and QLD could get away with that sort of play. It all comes down to the spine, the halves were rubbish offensively but theres no point changing them as there's no one really demanding selection, Ennis is average at best and Dugan shouldnt be there yet.

I dont know how the tide can turn atm. The way QLD played last night they were there to be beaten, but it looks like it will take a while yet or a few crucial QLD injuries or generational change

beave

I thought it was a fairly average origin game. Darius Boyd put on the biggest hits FFS!!! NSW stepped it up a notch, QLD dropped theirs down a bit hence the close scoreline. I will always watch an origin but it definetley wasn't one I would want to show a neutral to try and convert them to our game. Matt Scott was the highlight for me, that kid in the last 2 years has become a wonderful player, it is quite amusing reading comments that last night seems to be the occasion that a lot of people have finally realised how good he is, the kid has been playing well for 2 seasons, it's just a shame NQ has really only come good this year since he has been in form. Having the likes of Kafusi and Webb in the team as well tended to negate any good work done by Scott.

He is an amazing player and seems like a top bloke as well, I don't think even the NSW fans can say anything bad about him he is that good.

ozenzud

Haha, I always enjoy the input of kiwis into these threads.

Don't worry, we'll still pretend we care about test matches against you when they turn up....

If you are referring to me, Mate, I'm NSW country. I just live in NZ at the moment. I've been to heaps of SOO games in the 80's. I got caught in the hype back then too. Few years out of Oz and I don't get it. Its almost, Aussie rulesish......mind you, they did invent the concept, RL just copied it.

RHCP

The only thing it lacked was some real big hits or at least some intensity. While their was great defence from both sides, there didn't seem to be that same vitriol that usually comes out in Origin games.

Good game of footy I thought.