Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Difference between a League and Union Ball

magpie4ever

I retired in 1991 so I always played with the leather ball, although playing summer touch football at that time we did play with a synthetic ball which was more pointed, elongated. I wonder if league took it design from the touch ball.

LazyDreamer

Actually a good question, whilst I reckon I have a fairly good knowledge of rugby league history - ie: when clubs exited to comp - Glebe, Annandale, Uni etc, when clubs joined the comp - Saints, Canterbury etc, the past champions of the game from 1908; I now realised my knowledge is still just limited.

Like in 1908, rugby league was played under rugby union rules ie: ruck, mauls, breakaways etc.

Therefore, some questions I don't know the answers to are:

• when were the breakawys dropped - reducing the numbers from 15 to 13
  • when did the 'play the ball' replace rucks and mauls
  • when did the offside from from the 'play the ball' for attackers and defenders come into the rules - original a 1 yard rule I believe.

Why not replace 'union' with 'league' in your wikipedia search?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laws_of_rugby_league#List_of_changes_to_the_Laws

Canard

Some of the posters on this site are unbelievable, we all know (well some of us know) that xenophobia is the fear of all things foreign or foreigners, I'm still trying to work out what the name of the phobia is for the fear of any other sport bar rugby league - some of you dudes have it bad - seek help.

The original question and the follow up questions are concerning the history of rugby league but some believe I was a union lover and attacked - I dont dislike union, I dont fear it as I dont fear soccer or AFL - shite, it is a big country.

No kind sir I made a joke about your favorite sport and YOU kicked it off by having a go at League.

I'm still amazed that you think a League fan site would be full of Union fans.

Go to a Union fan site and see receptive they are to you saying something about your 2nd sport.

BuffaloRules

Mate, no I gave it no critical thought - it is information from the IRB website, but the be fair dinkum it is obvious that union is played at a reasonable level in more countries then league.

The IRB web site has also claimed in the past that 4 billion people around the world watch the RWC.

I suppose you believe that as well.

russ13

At least rugby actually has a decent and competitive world cup

:D:D:D

I seem to remember a fair few 100 point blow-outs in some of their games.

Apart from NZ & a couple of Pacific Islands union is not the major sport in any country.

Pierced Soul

i dunno if magpies 4ever was trolling (i dont think he was) and its a shame so many people turned a legitimate question into yawnion bashing. yawnion bashing is really like stealing from a baby....

a semi related point to the initial q, UK SL for a while was using 8 panel gilbert balls which were fatter as well. i remember when the Southern hemisphere teams went there for a few end of season trips the players said it was like kicking a soccer ball. i got a replica one from peter wynns and they were distinctly fatter and rolled a lot more

thorson1987

i dunno if magpies 4ever was trolling (i dont think he was) and its a shame so many people turned a legitimate question into yawnion bashing. yawnion bashing is really like stealing from a baby....

a semi related point to the initial q, UK SL for a while was using 8 panel gilbert balls which were fatter as well. i remember when the Southern hemisphere teams went there for a few end of season trips the players said it was like kicking a soccer ball. i got a replica one from peter wynns and they were distinctly fatter and rolled a lot more

I remember those.

They were used in the World Cup in 2000 iirc.

magpie4ever

No kind sir I made a joke about your favorite sport and YOU kicked it off by having a go at League.

I'm still amazed that you think a League fan site would be full of Union fans.

Go to a Union fan site and see receptive they are to you saying something about your 2nd sport.

Sorry buddy but horse racing (having a punt) is my 1st sport, followed by league (winter) and cricket (summer) then union, although female beach volleyball is up there too.:lol:

I have never had a go at league, I have stated facts - anyone with half a brain would accept that rugby union is a bigger sport worldwide then rugby league (it is a no-brainer), it doesn't mean it is a better game.

I have been unable to find an official term for the phobia I descibed above (fear or hatred of any other football code besides rugby league), so as it clearly exists, I therefore claim title to this newly discovered phobia - I will name it ANTI-MUNGOPHOBIA.:lol:

I have been unable to find an official term for the phobia I descibed above (fear or hatred of any other football code besides rugby league), so as it clearly exists, I therefore claim title to this newly discovered phobia - I will name it ANTI-MUNGOPHOBIA.:lol:[/QUOTE]

Yet, you conveniently forget those who clearly hate rugby league and voice there displeasure through various forms of media, you make it sound league fans are the only one full of 'fear'. Yet, you forget the vitriolic barbs by the rah rahs and AFL fans out there who sink the boot in whenever they have the chance.

Canard

Like to see where it was stated League is bigger by anyone?

And then the Union fan pulls out the derogatory Mungo term, you could set your watch to it

ParraEelsNRL

Sorry buddy but horse racing (having a punt) is my 1st sport, followed by league (winter) and cricket (summer) then union, although female beach volleyball is up there too.:lol:

I have never had a go at league, I have stated facts - anyone with half a brain would accept that rugby union is a bigger sport worldwide then rugby league (it is a no-brainer), it doesn't mean it is a better game.

I have been unable to find an official term for the phobia I descibed above (fear or hatred of any other football code besides rugby league), so as it clearly exists, I therefore claim title to this newly discovered phobia - I will name it ANTI-MUNGOPHOBIA.:lol:

Typical stupid vichyballer, yeah we all came down in the last shower :roll:

magpie4ever

Like to see where it was stated League is bigger by anyone?

And then the Union fan pulls out the derogatory Mungo term, you could set your watch to it

I'm sorry your sense of humour evades you.:cool:

I thought it was a good joke, maybe ANTIMUNGOPHOBIA does exist.

AlwaysGreen

WTF? Why does the word filter change a word very similar to mango to champion? :crazy:

magpie4ever

For anyone looking to read up on rule changes over the history of rugby league the link provided by LazyDreamer is a good one.

supercharger

I've never heard anybody say that league is bigger than union, union fans are the ones claiming that theirs is a global sport.