Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do Jets supporters support the association with the Roosters

Brycey

Just wondering if you guys support the association with us or not? I sure do support the association with the Jets, its great to be able to have a 2nd team to support in the NSW Cup with a huge history.

For me personally, I'm not a fan of being a "feeder" club but I understand that in this day and age it's a fact of life. I'm pretty happy about the way that it's being done with the Chooks, all our games at Henson and we don't have to have a Chook on our jersey like Norths have to have with a huge Bunny on the sleeve.

I am glad that it's a fellow foundation club and not a super league club and I have found myself taking more of an interest into the Chooks as a result of the arrangment.

2 True Blues

In a time when we can no longer field an NRL side, it allows us to field a competitive side in our beloved jersey to me, as the association attracts talented players who want to play for the Jets in order to progress and have a chance to make the NRL. This link would not be there if we did not have a relationship with an NRL side.

I love the fact that we are affiliated with the Roosters who are a fellow foundation club, with a history similar to that of the Jets. I loved the Jets roosters games back in the 70's when I was kid.

They have also done the right thing by us, and have actually appeared to show interest in the relationship. Unlike Sharks who stole most of our players and just used us to work their books for one season, while the money went to re-furbishing their clubhouse , so to speak.

And then there was Souths who after dumping the Jets only weeks prior to season kickoff ( when they found they could field a Souths side in beam ) rang around for our best players like Jets captain Garth WOOD etc stealing em from us. The one season prior to this that we were affiliated with them they gave us nothing all season except for Russel RICHARDSON and then took him back when he started to gell with Alf DUNCAN and played him in a souths jersey against us.

Both Jets and Roosters see the benefits in this deal, and I could not think of a better club to be affiliated with.

Big year for both clubs this one. A double grandfinal appearance in their centenary years.

What a script !!!!

Brycey

Glad to hear the club is doing the right thing by you guys and you approve of it in the circumstances where you dont have a 1st grade side...I quite like the deal too, plus gives me an excuse to buy Jets merch which looks quite good.

2 True Blues

Brycey said:
Glad to hear the club is doing the right thing by you guys and you approve of it in the circumstances where you dont have a 1st grade side...I quite like the deal too, plus gives me an excuse to buy Jets merch which looks quite good.

Best lookin jersey in footy mate. ;-) Hey, I notice your location is queensland. Do you get any comments when ya wear your jets gear up there ? Or does it just do laps of the backyard when the lawn gets mowed. :cool: ;-)

Brycey

I dont have a jersey as of yet but I do have a few jets shirts. It raises a few eyebrows, but mainly with mates that are either bunnie supporters or expats from NSW anyway. I think people associate Jets up here more with Ipswich Jets thanNewtown.

2 True Blues

Ah the crime capitol of Qld. Great to be associated with that. ( lol ).

But seriously. Great to see your support mate. I reckon it's a great deal all round for both clubs in all.

The old NSW lives up there now anyway, lol....

Good year this one mate 4 both clubs , I feel it in my bones cobber.

Brycey

Well I hope you speak on behalf of most Jets fans and that this relationship lasts for a while yet!

as an easts supporter i wholeheartedly support the affiliation with the jets and i hope it continues and that we do better for you than cronulla

NZ Jet

I have to admit I really enjoyed the few seasons when we stood alone (before the Souths thing) - the players may not have been as skilled, but they were ours and we took them to heart. We also seemed to have the same players on the park most weeks which helped in getting to know them and what to expect from them. Alf, Billy, Cooky, Kaka etc (under Col's guidance) were fun to watch - and even if we usually came in the bottom 3, a few gallant wins at Henson each year guaranteed some good evenings at the HPH.

Having said that, Easts seem to be treating the Jets right ,and they are a former tennant of Henson after all, so it seems like a good fit in this day and age.

greg

I'm very happy. As mentioned by other posters, its with a 1908 club (not super league traitors). Our identity is the same, the jersey is still sacred and both clubs appear to benefit. Its all good.
As for wearig bluebag attire in QLD. I do it often and get the occasional remark. Normally from a forty something expat New South Welshman like myself. As for born and bred QLDers,it goes through to the keeper.

Deadly

I am not the hugest Roosters fan BUT we couldn't want for a better NRL partner, especially with Freddy at their helm.

The partnership will only get stronger over time given the mutual respect that exists between the clubs.

Both clubs should be congratulated as you're now seeing such affiliations becoming the norm.

Hopefully even more Roosters fans will come and enjoy the Henson Park experience in '08.

One more sleep .....

2 True Blues

NZ Jet said:
I have to admit I really enjoyed the few seasons when we stood alone (before the Souths thing) - the players may not have been as skilled, but they were ours and we took them to heart. We also seemed to have the same players on the park most weeks which helped in getting to know them and what to expect from them. Alf, Billy, Cooky, Kaka etc (under Col's guidance) were fun to watch - and even if we usually came in the bottom 3, a few gallant wins at Henson each year guaranteed some good evenings at the HPH.

Having said that, Easts seem to be treating the Jets right ,and they are a former tennant of Henson after all, so it seems like a good fit in this day and age.

I never missed a game mate either. It was special to get " A " win when it came though.;-) Remember the return of big Pete a few times over, and led the lads to some great victories against the odds. :cool: Westy's kick and chase were priceless.

greg

Brycey:

I just noticed you have not included 1975 at the bottom of your posts (along with the other dates). That season was well and truly the year of the chook, you might want to fix it up.

2 True Blues

Actually greg our eyes are getting older. The 1975 is there, it's in " white ' text so is hard to see at first glance. ( Red, white and blue mate. ).

bluebag43

I fully support the association with the Roosters!

The alternative I believe, would have been to eventually drop back to Jim Beam Cup.

That would be a bitter pill to swallow. I followed the Club around during those days and there certainly wasn't many of us around. It's hard to watch our proud/famous club playing out on parks in the back blocks of Sydney. We certainly don't deserve that kind of treatment.

Even since our return to Henson Park, if it was a stand alone JB game we would struggle to get 200 people.

Brycey

greg said:
Brycey:

I just noticed you have not included 1975 at the bottom of your posts (along with the other dates). That season was well and truly the year of the chook, you might want to fix it up.
Haha yeah mate I know it is very hard to see. I thought of trading it in for the black to make it visible but I didnt want to sell out on my colours so I kept the white!