Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do we keep Sandow?

It doesn't even matter who is next to him. Fact is he simply doesn't try on occasion.

Watch the game last night, the last minute. There is absolutely EVERYTHING to play for, the game is right on the line, 1 or 2 tackles and we are home - Widdop runs the ball, and Sandow fairdinkum just stands and watches him run by, then tags him on the arm (he may have yelled 'TIP' - not sure). Widdop throws the ball over the sideline, game over.

But you could put the 2 best defenders in history on either side of Sandow, if he simply doesn't try (which happens every game at some stage), then a line break will certainly result....
I saw that as well and couldn't believe his lack of effort, no way in the world would i sign him.

I understand the temptation to re-sign him, but he is a non-entity in defense. And even if he improves, it will take weeks for anyone defending around him to trust that.

WaznTheGreat

I like Chrissy Sandow,entertaining little mofo however you prob can't win a comp with a player like this,his brain is all over the place sometimes,i hope someone picks him up,he's a good fella and can play on his day when his brain is working correctly.

lingard

I don't think this is true. Sandow played a very smart and under control game against Penrith. He can do it, but he doesn't want to. Fair enough, but most of the time when he plays his "signature freestyle footy", he needlessly turns the ball over and our team's attack looks much worse. Sandow is nowhere near as dangerous as some in the media like to make out. 90% of his "freestyling" ends in disaster.

Agreed. People bang on about how bad his defence is, but it's his attack that lets us down big time. It's like having a brilliant schoolboy playing with adults.

lingard

If Foran doesn't sign I would still release Sandow and sign Mitchell Cornish with Kelly as the back up.

Or Sam Williams. Yeah, Sandow's gone, regardless.
And I don't even know why we are discussing it - I think our coach has made it perfectly clear he has no intention of re-signing Sandow under any circumstances. Also, Kelly has been good the last couple of outings.

Bigfella

I like Chrissy Sandow,entertaining little mofo however you prob can't win a comp with a player like this,his brain is all over the place sometimes,i hope someone picks him up,he's a good fella and can play on his day when his brain is working correctly.

You probably can't even make the semis with him.

You can beat anyone with him but you can lose to anyone too, and probably more often than not.

It doesn't even matter who is next to him. Fact is he simply doesn't try on occasion.

Watch the game last night, the last minute. There is absolutely EVERYTHING to play for, the game is right on the line, 1 or 2 tackles and we are home - Widdop runs the ball, and Sandow fairdinkum just stands and watches him run by, then tags him on the arm (he may have yelled 'TIP' - not sure). Widdop throws the ball over the sideline, game over.

But you could put the 2 best defenders in history on either side of Sandow, if he simply doesn't try (which happens every game at some stage), then a line break will certainly result....

the one that pissed me off was mid to late 2nd half, kick into the corner - dugan runs it back and sandow has a chance to try tackle him, but there was another dragon close so instead of making ANY effort to get dugan sandow bumps into teh other dragon and falls down .... he'd just got a disallowed try and penalty for a line ball obstruction earlier so I guess he tried again instead of actually making an effort to tackle someone .... f**kin lazy!

Noise

Are people seriously wanting Sam f**king Williams? His defence is terrible and attacking game almost as bad.

Gazzamatta

Im pretty sure BA would have preferred Mr Sandow to fall on the ball and claim posession in lieu of pretending to be Pele.
One kick, lucky
Two kicks, stupid
Three kicks, fu**en insane and a ticket outta here.

Im pretty sure BA would have preferred Mr Sandow to fall on the ball and claim posession in lieu of pretending to be Pele.
One kick, lucky
Two kicks, stupid
Three kicks, fu**en insane and a ticket outta here.

"just f**king dive on it!!" ... are words I recall

Casper The Ghost

We witnessed the making of another top class NRL hooker last night which means we can convert Peats into a 7 or 6 if Foran does not join us.

With Nelson @ 9 and Peats @ 7 our defence will win us lots of games. Just need one of them to bring a kicking game.

If Foran does not join our squad, we will have the ability to go after Hayne if he does not make it in Gridiron and if he does, we then go after another classy goal kicking centre or winger while we continue grooming Bevan French for 2017.

Fortunately, Gordon can play wing or fullback so we have our 2016 bases covered.

There is also Tyrell Fuimaono who could also be ready to play centre by next season or the year after. Lately, I've started taking a much more closer look into Tyrell and he shows all the signs of being a world class centre or backrower in the years to come. He is that good. For such a big MAN he's incredibly light on his feet, is immensely powerful and is fast.

Maybe we focus on grooming Tyrell to play wing or centre next season?

1. Gordon or Hayne - or just go with Gordon in preparation for Bevan French to be eased gradually through 2016 for a 2017 NRL start @ 1
2. Semi
3. Taka or an even better centre if we can buy one (Taka to the bench)
4. Hoppa
5. Tyrell Fuimaono or Gordon or another classy winger.
6. Norman
7. Peats
8. Mannah or Wicks
9. Nelson
10. Junior Paulo
11. Ma'u
12. Edwards or Gower
13. Watmough or Scott

14. Gower or Edwards or Taka
15. Tepai or Watmough
16. Scott or Pauli Pauli
17. Wicks or Mannah

18 Alvaro
19. Terepo
20. Ualesi
21. Aloiai
22. Twal

Hope we keep all these forwards for a few seasons........ :D

forward pass

Just quietly, I reckon Luke Kelly is a better player than we give him credit for. I have been a critic of his but he has been very good for us when he has played firsts. Not so good for Wenty.

Casper The Ghost

Just quietly, I reckon Luke Kelly is a better player than we give him credit for. I have been a critic of his but he has been very good for us when he has played firsts. Not so good for Wenty.

Kelly was quality last night. Don't tell me we've got another late bloomer maturing. :crazy: :cool: He really is worth hanging on to now. Maybe Watmough is successfully fertilising Kelly's brain? :lol:

I'd prefer Sandow over him, at least Sandow has a decent kicking game.

He has a f**king brilliant long kicking game. A so so short kicking game. A decent passing game. And woeful defense. But you don't pick halves for defense.

If Foran goes elsewhere, I'd re-sign him on a modest contract, leaving a stack of cash for a dominant half. And Toni Carroll.

I tend to agree.

He's like Robson - nothing flashy, but a team player who sticks to the plan and has a go.

caylo

I tend to agree.

He's like Robson - nothing flashy, but a team player who sticks to the plan and has a go.

Much better attacking player then robson and his defencehas improved a lot. I'dbe happy with him as a backup half earning 80k but not a full timer.

Sandow is definitely not in the team for his defence but last night he was moved to the LHS edge and he made 13 tackles, 10 MT and 3 ineffective. That isn't acceptable.