Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you guys, aside from bias, agree ?

OVP

Last year, i tipped Parra to go close to the wooden spoon. Simply because of the players that Smith bought.

But this year i think Parra has bought ALOT better and much more wiser than the past. I think Riddell is really the key though. If Smith can utilize Riddell the same way he did for that fat idiot Drew ( how he did that in 2001 was incredible), it could really tell the difference for Parra's fortune's this year. Riddell has a lot more talent than Drew ever did, but the way he got Drew in action in 2001 was brilliant ... they are the same sort of players, but Riddell is heaps better imo.

Smith bought some other good forwards and a winger; but really the only thing lacking is a decent halves combination. I personally think its THIS area that will let Parra down.

What do you guys/girls think ? Do you have faith in your halves to be confident about your team's chances next year ?

Glen

I'm confident we will make the finals and be somewhat competitive in them. I do agree that the halves will hold us back no matter how well the forwards go, but our young halves have plenty of potential for the future if we can keep them for once. Smith seems to have really woken up to himself with the buys he's made for 2005. On paper we've got very good forward pack now, despite weaknesses in the backs, so they just need cohesion and a good attitude to compete well with other packs

Utey

Well Iam not worried about the halves because we have a few talented people like Perenara, Morris, Smith, Green, Marsh. Any one them players could fire but we need a combination to gel and gel quickly to enasure we start strongly. I think our real worry is a catre pairing with Tahu. The centre position is the one without the most depth and thats where we will struggle unless someone steps us.

I think next year will see us in ther top 8. Anything less will be a failure. But Iam guessing 5-6-7th because it will take around 10 rounds to hit top notch.

Utey

Another thing should be mentioned and thats luck. If we stay lucky and uninjured and field the same team for a majority of the year look out for us in the finals. But it doesnt matter who we buy unless they stay on the field it will beworthless.

Agent Mulder

I really hope Parramatta do well next year.
But the 2 reasons why Parramatta will not win the Grand Final:

1.No Halfback
2.Backline Depth is way too Weak.

If Tahu breaks down with an Injury forget it.
Parramatta have a great forward pack,Hindmarsh as always is the key,Cayless has to play the year out uninjured,Vella has to pull his socks up.

I dunno maybe Parramatta can sneak into the top 8.

Utey

Mate you have to be the most negative bastard here. If you dont think we have a halfback your just an idiot. Marsh, Smith, Green, Morris, Perenara they are all viable for a job in the halves. The backline depth isnt the strongest but we do have limited depth there in Smith, Odwyer, Burt, Peterson, Grothe, Tahu, Davis and a few up and comers. We will challenge the top 8 dont you worry. Be a little optimistic.

True EEL

Mate you have to be the most negative bastard here. If you dont think we have a halfback your just an idiot. Marsh, Smith, Green, Morris, Perenara they are all viable for a job in the halves. The backline depth isnt the strongest but we do have limited depth there in Smith, Odwyer, Burt, Peterson, Grothe, Tahu, Davis and a few up and comers. We will challenge the top 8 dont you worry. Be a little optimistic.

i think Mulder is being objective and realistic......i'm sure he/she is being optimistic, but just not going in with false hope......unlike some others

and for that he shouldn't be labelled as an idiot, but whatever......

Utey

Iam sure we can have a little bit of optimism seeing as the team hasnt even played. I do believe we have the ability to make the 8 but sure theres false hope as there is always. EVerytime someone says something there is a chance that they will be wrong or right so hoping your wrong with this one.

stuke

there are a lot of question marks hanging over the eels for next season. how these are answered over the course of the year will determine how we go.

obviously the biggest question mark is over the halves, as we have a bunch of talented but untested players along with a player returning from a serious injury and 18 months out of the game. if one of these players is able to step up and deliver what we expect then the season should progress nicely....maybe 5th or 6th?? if not ??

BD5733

I cant see how Drew can be compared to Riddell?

I dont think they are similar at all.

Drew made quick busts from dummy half and was always darting at holes.

Riddell will try to, because he can, run straight over the top of people rather than constantly hitting gaps. He plays like a backrower in the #9 jersey.

Both very different types of players.

I'm still worried about having a halves combination that gels, and will be until I see it actually get selected and happen.

I would like to see more depth at centre, even though I too hope one of the many promising youngsters comes along.

And I am worried that our front row won't stand up, through injury or form. It really needs to go better and have more luck than this year.

I'm excited by all of the potential and youth and signings, but recent years have me worried that my hopes could just as easily be crushed.

newmanj

i am a little worried about the halfback position, but i believe that there might be another signing to shore that position up. I dont have a name, i just know that something is being worked on. Time will tell. Have faith.

OVP said:
Last year, i tipped Parra to go close to the wooden spoon. Simply because of the players that Smith bought.

But this year i think Parra has bought ALOT better and much more wiser than the past. I think Riddell is really the key though. If Smith can utilize Riddell the same way he did for that fat idiot Drew ( how he did that in 2001 was incredible), it could really tell the difference for Parra's fortune's this year. Riddell has a lot more talent than Drew ever did, but the way he got Drew in action in 2001 was brilliant ... they are the same sort of players, but Riddell is heaps better imo.

Smith bought some other good forwards and a winger; but really the only thing lacking is a decent halves combination. I personally think its THIS area that will let Parra down.

What do you guys/girls think ? Do you have faith in your halves to be confident about your team's chances next year ?

You support the Chooks, correct?

Are you meaning to tell me that your forward pack is small? Yes, Morley and Cayless are tiny bastards, aren't they? So why would be tipped to go close to winning the Spoon for signing big forwards? ???

But to answer your questions, yes - Riddell is, IMHO, the second best hooker in the competition (I reckon if he could play the way he does for 80 minutes he'd be THE best).

As I keep saying - for 2005, we have:

* A workaholic second row with great impact in Hindmarsh and Morrison

* A more effective front row which should make metres

* A great dummy half combination

* Some strike backs (as if Grothe, McKinnon and Tahu, when fit, don't make you salivate with what they can do? Add Benny Smith, possibly Josh Davis, Reddy - it looks good for us)

So yes - our halves arethe only worry. But the thing is many people are of the opinion that we have a young hafback in Tim Smith who has the ability and sense of how a halfback plays. If he's good enough, well in my opinion, behind a strong forward pack, with a good 5/8 in Morris and with good backs, well - there is no reason why he can't play well.

newmanj said:
i am a little worried about the halfback position, but i believe that there might be another signing to shore that position up. I dont have a name, i just know that something is being worked on. Time will tell. Have faith.

that would be Thomas! and it doesn't look like it's happening now. ;-)

yy_cheng

One Word,

The Return of the 2 Lock Strategy might breaks us....

And I am not talking about Mateo

Utey

That 2 Lock Strategy does work in theory. But when Wagon refuses to pass and one of the locks doesnt really play a running game it dies. IMO we would have done a lot better if our forwards were more dominant this season.