Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Brad Arthur as coach

• Yes

Votes: 109 48.0%
  • No

Votes: 118 52.0%

King-Gutho94

Hopefully we see the media turn up the heat this week. Enough is enough. I hate watching us.
It's quite bizarre i reckon the 2 worse seasons we have had under BA is when he has had the least amount of pressure put on his job in the media are 2018 & 2023.

Last 4 years when playing finals there has always been speculation about BA and his job if he is good enough.

This year its been crickets and it's been a poor season.

T-Boon

Is BA the longest serving coach of a club to have not won a premiership?
I just think a club with a monkey on its back like we have should be desperate to win so that every season they are asking the question “who is the best coach for that purpose”. I don’t think they are doing that. We are just content with being pretty good a lot as Poupou always emphasises.
We need to be desperate, frantically trying to win.

Great show. I thought season 2 was a tad weak but season 3 finished the series off well.
We are done and dusted in 23 mate. Many of us thought we would falter this year but its probably even worse than I thought it might be.
You just have to hope the powers that be are also displeased cause they are the only ones who can change things and even if they do, do they have the nouse to make the right decisions? Hopefully the media apply the blowtorch.

The powers that be will probably offer him a 10-year extension, and the keys to the city of Parramatta. They're cooked.

And this bald, blithering idiot we have as a coach will continue to drag this club down with his incompetence.

JokerEel

57 missed tackles... over 80 minutes that's one missed tackle every 84 seconds.

Remarkable when possession was 49%-51%... meaning our 57 tackles were in just over 40mins where the opposition had possession.

That makes it a missed tackle every 42 sections when defending!

The Ball also wasn't in play for the entire 80 minutes so that missed tackle stat would be even worse..

Roosters had the ball for 28:33...

We have had independent reviews. The coach always remains.
Remember the last one? The coach was safe and not then looked at before the review even started lol. How can you honestly call it an independent and proper review?? I can’t wait for our bald dope of a CEO to send out an email and tell us to get behind Brad and the boys.

Noise

Remember the last one? The coach was safe and not then looked at before the review even started lol. How can you honestly call it an independent and proper review?? I can’t wait for our bald dope of a CEO to send out an email and tell us to get behind Brad and the boys.
Yep. Our reviews are a joke. The other independent review was done by Nathan Brown. His recommendation was to give himself a job hahaha

hybrideel

Given the majority if not all of the Eels board are business people rather than footy people, I don't think results are the be all and end all for them to base decisions off. They will look at the over 35K members and say we are successful. I would say only a significant drop in members, crowd numbers and sponsors and therefore income would agitate them to move on from the coach. But that takes a few years of losing seasons
So unfortunately I can't see anything changing anytime soon

What happens if we finish 6th next year. Win one finals game and then knocked out? Do we keep going with him again?

I just feel we need a change. Billy Slater would be first choice. I wouldn't be against Dean Pay

Chipmunk

Given the majority if not all of the Eels board are business people rather than footy people, I don't think results are the be all and end all for them to base decisions off. They will look at the over 35K members and say we are successful. I would say only a significant drop in members, crowd numbers and sponsors and therefore income would agitate them to move on from the coach. But that takes a few years of losing seasons
So unfortunately I can't see anything changing anytime soon
This is exactly the situation the club is in. The corporate governance types couldn't care less about the on-field performance until it impacts the bottom line. Two of the five board members are former bankers, who couldn't give a f**k about their fans (customers), as long as they're still making money.

He knows he is safe which is what really annoys the f**k out of me.

I know, right?

I understand this notion of him saying at press conferences that "the effort was there" and that he's "proud" is a technique used to shield his players, and foster loyalty from them.

But honestly, all it really does is feed this machine of ineptitude, and lackadaisical performances - after all, if the players don't get criticised, why should they feel scared to dish out performances like last night?

I'm not saying that going the full Ricky Stuart is the way to go, but a simple, "I'm disappointed in how we played - our opponents played very well, and credit to them; but this is not the standard we want to set as a club."

No singling out. No childish tantrums.

Just the truth, and accepting ownership of piss-poor performances, and taking accountability.

Instead, this idiot blithers on about how the effort was there, and how proud he was, when we've conceded 30+ points for the third time in four matches.

He is the figurehead of our club, and he has to go.

T-Boon

I'd be harassing roughly in this order:
Bellamy
Bennett
Cleary
Fitzgibbon
Payton
Slater
Robinson
Flanagan
I realize some of those are unavailable. They are all upgrades. If none of them are interested after we give them everything, they want then keep Brad Arthur for another year.

What happens if we finish 6th next year. Win one finals game and then knocked out? Do we keep going with him again?

I just feel we need a change. Billy Slater would be first choice. I wouldn't be against Dean Pay

Absolutely not.

He has shown he is incapable of delivering consistency during the season.

He's had 10 years - time to go.