Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do you want Brad Arthur as coach

• Yes

Votes: 109 48.0%
  • No

Votes: 118 52.0%

T-Boon

I don't think Gutherson is premiership winning captain material just yet. He is better as just another confident merkin in the leadership group than a figurehead and calming influence.

Leaders do not develop in a place like Parramatta because BA is not a leader of men. The most telling sign of this is the player behaviour off the field and the second most obvious sign is the effort on the field. Players respect a leader. The fact they are disrespectful to Brad shows he is not a leader. The fact leaders have gone backwards under Brad also shows he is not a leader of men.

The club is even disrespectful of Brad. They fired a bunch of assistant coaches last year and replaced them with cheap spazes that BA had never heard of. And BA just took it because he is a beta coach. During his coaching we put on a guy as head of football that nobody even knew existed. Brad is beta. Thats what I don't like about him. He is the kind of coach who askes the players why they were not fired up for the game. He did some passive aggressive thing on them (Melbourne game: "why?") and these players are too docile to respond to passive aggressive.

He has gone backwards this year. Started well, now pretty useless.
What are you on about? His minutes are down because we've had no ball to start games but he is still averaging 115 metres, is fourth in the NRL for offloads and leads all middle forwards for LBAs.

T-Boon

What are you on about? His minutes are down because we've had no ball to start games but he is still averaging 115 metres, is fourth in the NRL for offloads and leads all middle forwards for LBAs.

All the good things he has done were at the start of the season he has gone backwards. I have barely noticed him the last 4 weeks. You know it.
He is supposed to be an attacking enforcer get us momentum which we have had none of, he is responsible for that. In part at least together with a couple others.

Do you honestly believe the shit you type? Once Roy got in, he wanted to punt DA as he was the last person linked to DF. The 09 run just prolonged DA’s stay!
Thats correct. Roy wanted DA gone.

But who voted for Spags, I wonder?

And then who put Sharpy and his faction in charge with their votes?

Clearly the fans of the club have had no influence on these appointments so I'm keen to know who you believe opted for the people that have made these decisions

T-Boon

The main problem with have is we cannot wrestle. That is attitude and technique, both of which are BA and Kidwell's responsibilities. Our wrestling technique from point of contact to understanding of how long you can "stacks on" (the answer is a lot longer than we think) for is so inferior to other clubs it is

Brown won back-to-back wooden spoons with his youth policy. And still were shit until he signed Pearce and Klemmer to lead the team.

Kornstar

The main problem with have is we cannot wrestle. That is attitude and technique, both of which are BA and Kidwell's responsibilities. Our wrestling technique from point of contact to understanding of how long you can "stacks on" (the answer is a lot longer than we think) for is so inferior to other clubs it is

I would suggest it is Kidwell's direct issue and where BA comes into it is either accepting it or getting Kidwell help or f**king him off.

If he fails either of those 2 then it becomes his problem.

They started the season ok in defence, it has all gone downhill since the Storm game and we have definitely gone backwards......

As a manager i cannot control every aspect of what my team does, even if i am the best person to do something i have to trust my staff at some point and i don't have time to get into detail on every aspect of the 10 to 20 projects i am either directly responsible for or have involvement in.

Coaches are in the same position, if they bury their head in fixing the defence or offence themselves then they los sight of everything. He needs to manage that and when there is a decline he needs to come up with solutions, that is his job.

Failure to address it (but can't do it over night) will make it his fault and then his superiors need to act and it then becomes their fault when they don't come up with a solution......and so on.

I still believe the team is not fit enough and everything from there is contributing to our issues.

I reckon the comps dam close. And if have a few injurirs like roosters did on friday night you struggle to win.
And why I think Parra will do Souths over easy on Friday night...

Bar storm,souths and roosters i wouldnt fear the rest. Comes down to who has the most of their top 17 available and bounce of ball a lot of times.

What we do lack is fight when we do not get bounce of ball.

On guys like B.Smith he coached at a time where ypu didnt have 16 competetive sides. There wpuld be large gaps between top 5 top 10 mand the bottom 4.
Nowdays I feel even Penrith who are running last are still a very competetive team capable of beating anyone on the day.

Maybe a good indicator would be footy tiping results and what percentage people got correct now compared to 15yrs ago.

In what way am I not making sense? Try challenging my ideas instead of insulting me.

What I have said is defendable. What part of it do you think is wrong?
The bit about Daniel Anderson being sacked because of the fans and then using silly logic that the board are merely fans when we explained that the board got rid of him due to politics and the influence of that Pirtek associate who gained a place on the board. This logic sounds like Pou. Don't be like him. You are much wiser.

Also, the bit about me changing my mind many times about BA when the fact is that I gave him a 2-week reprieve. You've changed your mind about him too. Just because you weren't vocal about it like me doesn't change the fact.

Also the bit about you rejecting viable solutions that I proposed with Hasler, Bennett and Maguire. Remember that? Do you wish we had any of them now? I was ready to sack BA plenty of times last year and appoint any one of them and I copped it from plenty, mostly from you. Yes BA may still turn it around. I hope he does but I don't think he is capable and I think we've made a grave mistake in re-signing him.

Do you want more direct examples or do you want me to stop here?

Eelogical

Considering BA has been re-signed for another two years you guys are emitting a whole lot of C02 for no result. Maybe talking shit takes your mind off things, I know it works for me.

IFR33K

Thats correct. Roy wanted DA gone.

But who voted for Spags, I wonder?

And then who put Sharpy and his faction in charge with their votes?

Clearly the fans of the club have had no influence on these appointments so I'm keen to know who you believe opted for the people that have made these decisions

What was the alternative to Roy? Was it DF? The same DF that clearly stated he couldn’t guarantee the eels would be around in 5 years time? The same one that talked about merging and relocation if I’m not mistaken?

Yes the fans voted them in, but the fans didn’t force their hands into making absolute cluster f$&k decisions time and time again! Not one fan has or was happy with the appointment of certain coaches over the years. Blaming the clubs failures on the fans is disgraceful.

Manly and sharks have won comps in recent years despite being an absolute mess off the field. Storm has won comps after the biggest salary cap scandals in the history of the nrl. But what’s the common denominator between those three clubs? They all had coaches that extracted the best out of their playing group.

What was the alternative to Roy? Was it DF? The same DF that clearly stated he couldn’t guarantee the eels would be around in 5 years time? The same one that talked about merging and relocation if I’m not mistaken?

Yes the fans voted them in, but the fans didn’t force their hands into making absolute cluster f$&k decisions time and time again! Not one fan has or was happy with the appointment of certain coaches over the years. Blaming the clubs failures on the fans is disgraceful.

Manly and sharks have won comps in recent years despite being an absolute mess off the field. Storm has won comps after the biggest salary cap scandals in the history of the nrl. But what’s the common denominator between those three clubs? They all had coaches that extracted the best out of their playing group.
Top post.

Considering BA has been re-signed for another two years you guys are emitting a whole lot of C02 for no result. Maybe talking shit takes your mind off things, I know it works for me.
If we keep losing they will negotiate something and sack him. Make no mistake.

The bit about Daniel Anderson being sacked because of the fans and then using silly logic that the board are merely fans when we explained that the board got rid of him due to politics and the influence of that Pirtek associate who gained a place on the board. This logic sounds like Pou. Don't be like him. You are much wiser.
That's an interesting take on what I said and makes me realise that I can't assume anything when people like yourself or IFR33K are reading my posts.

I was always referring to fans who love the club too much, join a faction and then cant see past their own self interest. You yourself refer to the politics at play due to the Anderson. Those politics exist because fans and members of the club get to have a say about our club and then f**k it up. People on here call themselves fans but the amount of Spags this and Plumber that shit that has gone on in the past is not normal. There are a small amount of very passionate people that have been responsible for a lot of the instability at our club. They call themselves fans. I call them merkins.

Do you think I was talking about Mr and Mrs Jones from Bonnyrigg who just bought their season ticket? Please. Use your brain mate, we all know that's not who I was referring to and I'd appreciate you not putting words into my mouth.

Don't fall into the trap that IFR33K does. You are wiser than that.

Also, the bit about me changing my mind many times about BA when the fact is that I gave him a 2-week reprieve. You've changed your mind about him too. Just because you weren't vocal about it like me doesn't change the fact.
I supported him and then said after a while that it is time for him to go. In both instances it was very matter of fact.

You have gone through several of the same iterations but when you do it you go all out. Either BA is an absolute f**ken genius or a complete deadshit. It's positively bi-polar and not normal to have such extreme reactions.

Also the bit about you rejecting viable solutions that I proposed with Hasler, Bennett and Maguire. Remember that?
That didn't happen. I am on record as saying we should have signed Bennett. Go and check your facts and stop putting words in my mouth again.

Do you wish we had any of them now?
Yes. Bennett.

I was ready to sack BA plenty of times last year and appoint any one of them and I copped it from plenty, mostly from you.
I was just pointing out that most of the options that you put forward didn't feel like an improvement. I was also at pains to suggest that the bigger issue is the way our shitty club has been run.

Yes BA may still turn it around. I hope he does but I don't think he is capable and I think we've made a grave mistake in re-signing him.
"Grave mistake'' sounds like a typical Avenger overreaction, particularly given that you were happy to sign him a month ago.

Do you want more direct examples or do you want me to stop here?
Keep going mate. Hopefully you might land something next time around.