Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dog caught in cap dispute- Again

***MH***

ibeme said:
bedsy said:
dog4life said:
alright if all you fams are calling us dogs cheats for a technical breach then why arnt the clubs who had technical breaches in 2004 labelled cheats aswell??? they all went over the cap. Its really sad how all these bulldog hating people just think that they know everything about every scandal & that they cant get their hate out of the way for nothing more than a technical breach. People need to get a life instead of blowing things out of proportion.
I'm not calling them cheats... I just find it impossible to believe they didn't know he did a commercial.

The first they knew of it was when they saw it on tv, according to this report. As Kaz said, they'd have to be pretty dumb to try to think that a national commercial for one of their sponsors wouldn't go unnoticed. Sonny Bill's management who have questions to answer.

I find it hard to believe that the bulldogs were unaware of this commercial, i mean... it was shot at belmore, they turned the field lights on, he is using training equipment while a teammate or trainer in bulldogs training gear is holding the tacklebag. So unless gatorade took their cameras to a training session to take random shots of players in action for promotional reasons without telling the bulldogs or getting permission from them is highly unlikely.

RB30DETT

How often would a player manager not want to talk to the press???

Gavin Orr, looking after his own pocket once again.

Broncodroid

Sunday Telegraph said:
The Bulldogs, seeking answers themselves, say they didn't know about the advertisement.

But Schubert made it clear at the annual conference last month that it is the responsibility of each club to inform the NRL of any third-party sponsorship arrangement with players.

It is also written in the standard NRL players' contract that the individual must inform his club of any such sponsorship.

Whatever way you word it, there has been a breach of some sort and I would expect more fines for the Belmore club.

Unlike the first cap scandal, this seems not to be a blatant attempt to cheat the cap. From the outside looking in, it seems this was a mistake albeit a costly one for Canterbury.

melon....

Its not the size of the breach that worries me...fo I believe this one is minor. The thing that is problematic is the

Just fine them and the suspended half mill. Better still kick them out and bring back Norths.

planeteels

FOR BULLDOGS FANS - THIS IS BASED UPON A BREACH BEING DETERMINED!!

My Concerns (ASSUMING IT IS PROVEN TO HAVE HAPPENED & IS IN FACT A BREACH!!!) is that for a Club who in recent years had an Entire season blown away due to incompetence in relation to Intentional Salary Cap breaches, has allowed for such a thing to happen again albeit 'A MISTAKE' (ASSUMING IT IS PROVEN TO HAVE HAPPENED!!!).

Regardless of whether or not it was Intentional and who is at Fault, is irrelevant!!! The Bulldogs in particular HAVE NO EXCUSES that could minimise such a Breach purely due to 'a mistake' or 'it happening unknowingly'.

Fact is...

1. The Bulldogs and ONLY THE BULLDOGS are responsible for their Salary Cap!! And if they cannot police it correctly, they must deal with the consequences!!

2. Bulldogs are Sponsored by Gatorade & Cadbury/Schweppes, meaning that any type of paid advertisement by their Players forms part of the Sponsorship and in turn any monies paid to players forms part of the Salary Cap.

3. If a player is paid money for an advertisment irrespective of Sponsorship etc, THE CLUBS ARE DUTY BOUND to inform the NRL of such payment/s REGARDLESS!! Once reported, Auditors determine whether or not the payments affect the Salary Cap.

4. Regardless of if it is 'allegedly' a "Mistake", fact is the Bulldogs are the Leaders in Salary Cap Scandal as a result of the happenings in recent years. As a result of previous experiences the Bulldogs SHOULD have been the last team to allow themselves to get into such a situation again. And the fact that they have again 'POSSIBLY' Breached the Cap means that they have NOT LEARNT FROM THEIR WRONG DOINGS and Bulldogs Club Management at most levels is INEPT. Even if it was/is proven to be a mistake by SBW &/or his management, then it is still the responsibility of the Club to educate/communicate with the Player and his management as to the process they operate under. And if the Club has failed to do so, it is still the Fault of the Bulldogs!!.

5. If a Breach is determined to be true, then the Bulldogs should have the book thrown at them, regardless!! I'm not sorry for saying that Bulldogs Fans should be ashamed of their Club and that their Club deserves full penalty for such a Breach, however, there really is no excuse this time.

I await judgement. 8)

1. The Bulldogs and ONLY ...

1. Bulldogs are Sponsored ...

2. If a player ...

Counting like a true Parramatta supporter :clap:

Oh, and if you want judgement, you're a complete moron. This is a technical breach no different to the 15 or 20 odd handed out since the SC rules came into heavy effect around the turn of the century. Only 2 or 3 teams have escaped penalty since then, the Dogs are no different. History is irrelevant- this breach should be looked at in it's own right, not as a reflection of or as part of the 2002 cheating.

planeteels

dodge said:
Oh, and if you want judgement, you're a complete moron. This is a technical breach no different to the 15 or 20 odd handed out since the SC rules came into heavy effect around the turn of the century. Only 2 or 3 teams have escaped penalty since then, the Dogs are no different. History is irrelevant- this breach should be looked at in it's own right, not as a reflection of or as part of the 2002 cheating.

Mate, ur missing the point.. The Dogs are Different... ATechnical Breach is still A BREACH!!! Don't make excuses for your Club's inept management. I know it is hard to see other supporters bagging your club but you really need to understand that whatever format the breach takes, it is a BREACH!!!

FACT IS, YOUR CLUB ARE PROVEN CHEATS WHEN IT COMES TO THE SALARY CAP. IF THEY HAVE MADE A MISTAKE THEY SHOULD STILL RECEIVE THE MAXIMUM PENALTY THAT HAS BEEN SUSPENDED. IF THE CLUB CANNOT CONTROL WHAT THEIR PLAYERS DO, THEN ANY PENALTIES ARE DESERVED.

I wanted to avoid saying it.. BUT.. From the looks of things, the Bulldogs aren't much good at controlling anything... even Crowd Behaviour..

Zef

A two week old story about an audit of a third party agreement just like audits the game's had just about every year since the SC for one club/player or another given a sucker headline by a journalist who just caught up...

... and he caught himself some suckers.

Zef

HA! HA!

So we were being devious & sneaky over this aye Melon? Trying to hide it from everyone? Brush it under the carpet and see if we could pull a swifty on you's all?

Well, you know - it would've worked too if....

only they hadn't shown the f***in' commercial on TV!!!!

Once they did that - the game was up!

melon....

Zef said:
HA! HA!

So we were being devious & sneaky over this aye Melon? Trying to hide it from everyone? Brush it under the carpet and see if we could pull a swifty on you's all?

Well, you know - it would've worked too if....

only they hadn't shown the f***in' commercial on TV!!!!

Once they did that - the game was up!
And yet your dumb ass Management continues to use "we wernt aware.."

Zef, tell me. Why would an intelligent and purposefully placed manager of a club with a very poor history of deceit and bad management, continue to use and continue to "not know" what his players are up to?

youd think with the trouble the Bulldogs are all about, and the large magnifying glass that hovers above them, the CEO would make it evident to his staff that he and others must know in no uncertain terms what monies and dealings players are getting involved in.

Winning a premiership DOES NOT ERASE the fact that your club is only 2 years out from the greatest and most decitful rort the game has seen.

Your club should still be treated with caution. Other sex scandals and the way they were handled only add to that " unruly" persona your club so beautifully represents.

One Premiership and you think its over? People dont forget the Fithy of the Dogs. Why? Because the Dogs wont let us...they keep f**king up.

Zef

Well now that the papers have got hold of it - we may as well face facts and admit the game's up and we're busted.... again. So I may as well tell you's the real story behind it all.

See, it was all Whispering Mal's idea. He brought SB and Gavin Orr in one day and told him about his brilliant idea to squeeze an extra $50K out of the salary cap.

"Gavin" Mal said, "I want you to go out and organise some 3rd party sponsership for SB". Mal paused dramatically for effect before continuing "... and as a matter of fact I want you to organise said 3rd party sponsership with Gatorade."

A stunned silence fell over the room before Gavin interrupted "... But Don Whispering Mal Noad, Gatorade sponsors The Dogs... and it's made by Cadbury Schwepps - another significant Sponser of The Dogs. Godfather... I implore you to reconsider..."

"Silence young Gavin" Whispering Mal whispered, "I know you're going to worry about being audited for 3rd Party Sponserships, but I do have a plan - a very cunning and discreet plan."

"Yes, Don Noad?"

Again, Whispering Mal pauses for dramatic effect.... "We're hoping they won't find out."

SB could stay silent no longer "Hey Bro Whuspering Mul, I ruspuct yuo like heaps bro. But I hupe yuo gut us a buck-up plun there bro becuz I'm nut too shure abuot Plun A."

Whispering Mal shot SB a staer, "Indeed SB I do, if they do find out I'll put into effect Plan B - We'll just say we didn't know about it."

And we would've got away with it too if only they didn't show the f***in' commercial on TV!!!

Big Mick

People forget the same shit happened a couple of years ago at the Knights.

Cars and crap like that where given as payment, wasn't it?

What about Brad Fittler's money that he received from Wizard as a sponsorship?

Its all the same go. This is minor and its typical media beat up - "Hey league has been quite this off-season, lets find some shit and blow it out of all proportion so we get idiots to start shit with other fans and in turn give us more stories for the future" :roll:

God guys, get a grip, NRL are looking into it, let them take care of it, then you can pass ur judgement.

ozzy_ozman

Big Mick said:
People forget the same shit happened a couple of years ago at the Knights.

Cars and crap like that where given as payment, wasn't it?

What about Brad Fittler's money that he received from Wizard as a sponsorship?

Its all the same go. This is minor and its typical media beat up - "Hey league has been quite this off-season, lets find some shit and blow it out of all proportion so we get idiots to start shit with other fans and in turn give us more stories for the future" :roll:

God guys, get a grip, NRL are looking into it, let them take care of it, then you can pass ur judgement.
:clap: :clap: :clap:

well said...

kelly_patrol - have a read of Big Mick's post.

Then wake up to yourself.

VWS Mick, you've hit the nail on the head. :clap:

Grantwhy

planeteels said:
1. The Bulldogs and ONLY THE BULLDOGS are responsible for their Salary Cap!! And if they cannot police it correctly, they must deal with the consequences!!

As long as the Players can earn individual sponsorships that is not 100% true.

planeteels said:
2. Bulldogs are Sponsored by Gatorade & Cadbury/Schweppes, meaning that any type of paid advertisement by their Players forms part of the Sponsorship and in turn any monies paid to players forms part of the Salary Cap.

Agreed.

planeteels said:
3. If a player is paid money for an advertisment irrespective of Sponsorship etc, THE CLUBS ARE DUTY BOUND to inform the NRL of such payment/s REGARDLESS!! Once reported, Auditors determine whether or not the payments affect the Salary Cap.

Assuming the Club is 1) aware of the payment and 2) how much it was.

"We're still waiting for the details from Sonny's management team.

"I'm not sure how much money it is. I don't believe it's a lot, there's only one commercial involved, so I don't think it's a major long-term contract.

"But it does have the potential to push us over the cap."

Orr, of Pacific Sports Management, did not return calls from The Sunday Telegraph.

From memory, Orr isn't one of the more respected Player Managers (from fans perspective). I could be wrong on that :?:.

It is also written in the standard NRL players' contract that the individual must inform his club of any such sponsorship.

that might bring some 'intresting times' for Orr and Williams? (assuming the Bulldogs weren't informed ..... maybe Cadbury Schweppes could also be asked if they informed the Bulldogs of the payment to Williams?)

planeteels said:
4. Regardless of if it is 'allegedly' a "Mistake", fact is the Bulldogs are the Leaders in Salary Cap Scandal as a result of the happenings in recent years. As a result of previous experiences the Bulldogs SHOULD have been the last team to allow themselves to get into such a situation again. And the fact that they have again 'POSSIBLY' Breached the Cap means that they have NOT LEARNT FROM THEIR WRONG DOINGS and Bulldogs Club Management at most levels is INEPT. Even if it was/is proven to be a mistake by SBW &/or his management, then it is still the responsibility of the Club to educate/communicate with the Player and his management as to the process they operate under. And if the Club has failed to do so, it is still the Fault of the Bulldogs!!.

That bit i just bolded .... doesn't that go against your first point?

planeteels said:
5. If a Breach is determined to be true, then the Bulldogs should have the book thrown at them, regardless!! I'm not sorry for saying that Bulldogs Fans should be ashamed of their Club and that their Club deserves full penalty for such a Breach, however, there really is no excuse this time.

If the Bulldogs knew? Definately. I wouldn't be surprise to see them start the season on negative premiership points (if that is possible).
If the didn't? Action will still be taken against them but probably not the whole book :p.

planeteels said:
I await judgement. 8)

Me too :). You got any popcorn? :nwave:

Kelly Patrol

:lol: :lol: @Dodge.You really are the worst kind of fool.

I want heavy punishment because they have been here BEFORE.They are ALWAYS upto no good.If ANY other club had the track record of the Dogs,I would demand heavy punishment over this incident.

I hope this has cleared things up for you.clownshoe.

p.s.I will be phoning David in 25 minutes.

Dogaholic

Kelly Patrol,
want heavy punishment because they have been here BEFORE.They are ALWAYS upto no good.If ANY other club had the track record of the Dogs,I would demand heavy punishment over this incident.

What ever you say princess :roll:

JK

bedsy said:
Jake the snake said:
The Bulldogs, seeking answers themselves, say they didn't know about the advertisement.

That's what I find hard to believe out of the whole thing.

...until they saw it on tv with the rest of us.

Why is that so hard to believe? Do they follow SBW with a couple of Bulldogs HQ representatives? Or should we all believe that player managers have full disclosure with the Clubs? Now who has there head in the sand! :roll: