Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dogs get tough on alcohol

Nathan B said:
To the contrary...

It's tough to take such jibes seriously when they're coming from the supporter of a club with the relevance of a Commodore 64.

your as bad a dodge! :lol: :lol:

While it shouldn't make a difference and it wins you the argument - Souths have a sponsorship deal with Arrive Alive. An organisation that probably wouldn't touch our club with a 22 foot semi trailer.

Cletus

Timmah said:
So you're now assuming if a player has a binge the night before they're going to drive to their recovery session?

Going by the Bulldogs recent record on drink driving, yeah.

Raider_69 said:
your as bad a dodge! :lol: :lol:

I actually disagree with that post of Nathan B, there's no point insulting you.

Onan the barbarian said:
Going by the Bulldogs recent record on drink driving, yeah.

So because it happened once this year and once last year, you're assuming it's going to continue to happen.

Great attitude.

Nathan B

Timmah said:
I actually disagree with that post of Nathan B, there's no point insulting you.

Read it again.

I was insulting the Canberra Raiders.

Who? You know that club who wears green and plays out of our nations capital. No? It'll come back to you...

Nathan B said:
Read it again.

I was insulting the Canberra Raiders.

Who? You know that club who wears green and plays out of our nations capital. No? It'll come back to you...

And I disagree with your sentiment. Bagging Canberra gave you no points in the argument, just made you look silly ;-)

Nathan B

Timmah said:
And I disagree with your sentiment. Bagging Canberra gave you no points in the argument, just made you look silly ;-)

There's nothing wrong with looking silly.

No...It's just a bit of fun. Someone said a smartarse comment about our club bringing the code into disrepute; they deserved a smartarse comment back...and I gave them one.

I think they beg to differ mate... the problems at our club are a bit more serious than not winning games or having the worst coach known to the NRL.

Nathan B

Timmah said:
I think they beg to differ mate... the problems at our club are a bit more serious than not winning games or having the worst coach known to the NRL.

You're spending FAR too much time in here. I reckon 95% of whats posted in here about the Bulldogs is absolute crap. (What ever happened to all those cans and spit being projected in the direction of those Souths cheerleaders...someone got hit with a yoghurt chew and it all fizzled out didn't it.) What we have to deal with at the moment doesn't come close to being a Raiders supporter. Not even close.

The problem is that there IS sh*t happening. Yes, the media, and some of the lesser characters on this forum beat a lot of it up, but things are still happening.

Reni Maitua DID drink drive.
There ARE crowd issues at our games, whether it's fans of our club or others baiting ours. (That said I still have doubts, particularly given the fact NOTHING has been mentioned about the supposed bashing post-game vs Tigers outside the ground that Voss and Johns "saw")
Sonny Bill DID drink drive last year.
The players still acted against club guidelines at Coffs, despite it becoming clearer than its unlikely anything happened in the way of sexual assault/alleged rape.
We DID cheat the salary cap in 2002 and 01.
And our management IS still up the sh*t.

Our problems are most definitely off-field mate, and definitely more serious than anything Canberra has at the moment.

curious dodgey, you know all this, occasionally we catch you out admitting to this, yet you defend your clubs limp wristed attempts to solve the issues... whats the go?

Because it's all critical sh*t. The people of this forum sit back here with their opinions, spout all this knowledge, and offer no solutions. They seem to have all the judging capacity available to man, but f**ked if they'll offer a solution or try to help. "It's up the Bulldogs"? Give me a f**king break. People can ramble on about making own beds and lying in them, but at the end of the day, this isn't just for the good of our club, it's for the good of our game. For each of the sixteen clubs, for every junior club, the ARL, NRL, CRL, NSWRL, QRL, WARL, VRL... you know what I mean.

In summary, the people of this forum generally use any event such as this as a tool to give sh*t to the supporters on here, who, for the most part, generally agree that something needs fixing. The good supporters, for want of a better word, who go to the games, support the blue & white through EVERYTHING, and don't cause trouble. As much as you all might like to pick at me and think I'm annoying as pie, I am one of those people. I've never been part of any crowd violence. The only sin I'm guilty of is supporting a club that has made well over it's fair share of mistakes. I'm not playing a sympathy card, because I don't deserve sympathy. But to continually give me and others sh*t because someone in our club has f**ked up yet again, it's got to end.

Now, in terms of the actions and so on - each based on their own merit - let me start with Reni as an example.

People need to understand that Reni was on his own leisure time when the event happened. As his job does not encompass driving as a prerequisite skill, the club has no grounds to sack him on. They are more than entitled to give him a warning, which they have done, as well as a fine ($10k, announced tomorrow). Contract negotiations have also been suspended, and I'll place my bets that at tomorrow's announcement, they'll tender his release. Quite frankly I'll be disappointed if they don't. If that isn't the club acting, I don't know what is. Further to that, any measure that discourages binge drinking IMO is a good start. Maybe ill-informed, maybe a little too high the reading of 0.10 - but it's a start. The measure can easily be toughened from there, and they're also conducting random breath testing through the week at training as well. The way you've carried on like a pork-chop, it's almost like the club has released a press statement indicating that Tooheys New longnecks will be distributed at the entry to Belmore Oval.

Back to Reni, the clubs actions are there in black and white, and it isn't as if they've failed to act. An interim suspension followed by a fine and possible release from contract is a pretty hefty punishment, given he still has a court appearance and possible jail term/large law enforcement-based fine to face.

Things like crowd violence are always dubious. The Souths incident was covered in part by SMH, and otherwise was subject of a whinge by a very questionable journalist in the way of one R. Hadley. The same man who took the liberty of leaking a police report regarding Coffs Harbour, and has chucked numerous tanty's for any number of reasons. Nothing apart from a sketchy and ever-changing complaint from Spud's wife and a few hard heads on this forum was ever really mentioned. Don't you think if it happened the Telecrap would've been all over it like Lleyton on Bec?

The Tigers game, I don't want to get into. Ink will have me for breakfast in five seconds. I know what I know about that night, and that's that IMO. Anything else, well - measures again have been taken. No Friday night footy for the 'Dogs.

I don't know what else I can say. I planned to ramble on for ages and have a poignant yet victorious finish, but I'm just worn out.

Maybe I am burying my head in the sand. Maybe I'm making excuses. To be honest, I don't really care what you think I'm doing.

All I know is I'm defending my club and myself on this forum, and to me, that's all that counts.

hrundi99

Nathan B said:
You're spending FAR too much time in here. I reckon 95% of whats posted in here about the Bulldogs is absolute crap. (What ever happened to all those cans and spit being projected in the direction of those Souths cheerleaders...someone got hit with a yoghurt chew and it all fizzled out didn't it.) What we have to deal with at the moment doesn't come close to being a Raiders supporter. Not even close.

You're in denial mate. Dodge isn't.