Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Doncaster

barney gumble

The great Takeover Target gave me a profit for saturday.

What a great race the doncaster was, a wall of horses flying towards the winners post. My tip theseo wasn't amongst them though.

Billy Gunn

Yeah backed it during the slipper carnival, it paid $9 for the place, don't think it can do it here in the doncaster thouogh.

Went f**king close......I had it at 50's fixed odds from about 6 weeks ago.

Whobe was the run of the race though and the winner was brilliant, hats off to joe Pride for the improvement he has got out of him

Ice777

Pretty good win mate, to bad i had nothing in the TAB account :roll:

Cheers for that mate. Sorry it's the first time i've been on since her run i've been on annual leave. Was very happy with the way she won last start and looks to have a bit of ability. She pulled up well and is running on Saturday Sires Produce in Adelaide which is a Group 3, it's another step up in class and distance (1600m) but hopefully she'll be able to give a good account of herself and the jockey thinks she'll get the extra trip. Whatever happens it'll more than likely be her last run this prep and we'll tip her out until the Spring.

Hopefully she gets the chocolates again and be able to fill your TAB account ;-)

Evenflow

Cheers for that mate. Sorry it's the first time i've been on since her run i've been on annual leave. Was very happy with the way she won last start and looks to have a bit of ability. She pulled up well and is running on Saturday Sires Produce in Adelaide which is a Group 3, it's another step up in class and distance (1600m) but hopefully she'll be able to give a good account of herself and the jockey thinks she'll get the extra trip. Whatever happens it'll more than likely be her last run this prep and we'll tip her out until the Spring.

Hopefully she gets the chocolates again and be able to fill your TAB account ;-)

Any word on how your horse is going? I'm guessing it's been spelling as it's been outa couple months now. Hopefully she's not injured as I notice it didn't run in Adelaide back then.

Ice777

She's running on Saturday at the Valley in the William Crockett stakes or the arrow services plate or whatever they call it now. While she's been working well on the track I can't see her winning on Saturday.

Black caviar is in the same race and going by her first 2 starts she looks to be a real topliner and pretty special. She's also fave in the guineas in the early market so I reckon the rest of us will be running for second. As long as our one puts in a good solid effort first up we'll be happy and we'll see where we take her from there.

Evenflow

Was just looking at the form and saw there's only 6 in the field so that should help a bit. That said most of them look to be fairly smart and is a pretty decent field I reckon.

Ice777

That's one way of looking at it but as you said it's a pretty decent field besides black caviar with a listed race winner and a blue diamond placegetter. There were 18 noms for this but only 6 acceptors so I'm tipping black caviar mightve scared most of them away lol

Any I think a few of these will bill a bit slick for us first up over 1200. We're working ours towards the oaks which is 2500 so we're just hoping she's competitive tomorrow and we'll be happy with that. Whether she's good enough for the oaks we don't know yet but that's the main aim right now and we'll find out after her next few runs.

Evenflow

I hope you had plenty on your horse mate! I've been looking out seeing when it would be back and she scored well first up with the big weight so that was a nice little earner for my pocket and i'm guessing yours as well :)

Your filly looks to have a bit of talent judging by that run, she kept finding and hit the line strongly with an extra 3 kg's on then second horse and 2kg's on the third which made the win even more impressive against some good up and comers. Any idea where she's headed next? Wherever it is i'll be on for sure, i reckon she might have a few wins in her and a good race at that.

Congrats and good luck next start ;-)

I hope you had plenty on your horse mate! I've been looking out seeing when it would be back and she scored well first up with the big weight so that was a nice little earner for my pocket and i'm guessing yours as well :)

Your filly looks to have a bit of talent judging by that run, she kept finding and hit the line strongly with an extra 3 kg's on then second horse and 2kg's on the third which made the win even more impressive against some good up and comers. Any idea where she's headed next? Wherever it is i'll be on for sure, i reckon she might have a few wins in her and a good race at that.

Congrats and good luck next start ;-)
I also had a bit on it, very nice win first up. Vanity next start i would think.

Ice777

Good to see Faith lined your pockets as well boys. Was very happy with what she ended up paying in a 6 horse field but not sure the bookie was that we all hit on track :lol: If she was trained by Freedman, Hayes, Price, Moody etc she'd have been half the price or less but i wouldn't have her with anyone else.

She will indeed be nommed for the Vanity on Saturday and barring any bad luck she'll run. I've spoke to Johnny a couple times since last week and she came through the race well. He said the most pleasing thing about the win last week was that he (deliberately) didn't have her fully wound up and fully fit yet she still got the chocolates with the 59kg so there's still improvement in her.

That said she'll need every bit of it stepping up to group 3 company next start. You never know if they're up to it until you run them but we think she earned her chance at least. She was just too small last prep and wasn't ready for it but in the 4 months spelling she put on about 60kg so she's much stronger at least and more ready.

Noms for the race will be finalised tomorrow arvo so we'll have a much better idea who we're up against. Like i said we don't know how she'll handle the step up in class but John thinks she'll give a good account of herself and hopefully there'll be bigger and better things ahead.

Whatever happens we're staying away from Black Caviar like the plague, it was no coincidence ence we put ours in a week earlier than her first race :lol: She'll turn out to be an out and out superstar and while i'll be happy to say we raced against her once as we did last prep i'll be even happier not to race her again.

Anyway i hope our one can get the money for us again on Saturday ;-)

Evenflow

I see your horse drew barrier 12 of 12 which sucks. It'll make it harder to win but i still think she's good enough to put in a big show.

Ice777

I wish i was as confident as you EL lol I'd have been much more so if she drew a decent gate but like you said will make it much harder to win, especially given no horse has won the vanity from a double figure barrier.

From the 1400m chute there's only a couple hundred metre straight before the turn so all we can hope is she jump well and Brad can possy her a couple off the fence, oh and some cover would be nice as well, is that asking too much? But yeah depending on how the race pans out we don't want her to be caught 5 wide going around the bend because i doubt she'll have muc left at the last 100m of the long Flemington straight.

I'll have a good go each way even with the gate but i'll be more hoping than anything else. As long as she doesn't have a gut buster and comes through it well so she can race on i'll be happy with that. If she can go one or two better than that it'll be a massive bonus.

Tough draw, she has won me some dosh so i'll be a having a nibble each way. Good luck, Johnny Mcardle seems like a top bloke as well.

Ice777

Cheers Hiney lets hope she gets the chocolates. You're a good judge, Johnny is a top bloke for sure. He came down from Warrnambool when he was 18 which was about 18 years ago now to play footy and stayed with my cousin and we've been good mates ever since.

He's just one of those real genuine blokes who has time for everyone and i doubt anyone would have bad word to say about the big fella. Though i will say when he's pissed you can't shut the bastard up :lol:

Cheers Hiney lets hope she gets the chocolates. You're a good judge, Johnny is a top bloke for sure. He came down from Warrnambool when he was 18 which was about 18 years ago now to play footy and stayed with my cousin and we've been good mates ever since.

He's just one of those real genuine blokes who has time for everyone and i doubt anyone would have bad word to say about the big fella. Though i will say when he's pissed you can't shut the bastard up :lol:
:lol: Good stuff, i've followed his horse's since Hollow Bullet. Just when ever he's interviwed seems like a top down to earth bloke.

andrew057

What a fantastic run Ice, especially running 3 wide with no cover the entire race. Hit the line very strong. Good stuff.

Ice777

Cheers for that boys much appreciated. Given the run she had we honestly couldn't be happier with running a place. Brad's instructions was to try and get her across a couple off the fence before the turn but if he couldn't get her into a place where she could be a genuine winning chance. *edit*

She jumped just fairly and couldn't get across 3 wide with no cover. As soon as i saw where she was i honestly thought he would just let her run around and not over exert her. She ended up 5 wide around the turn coming but we were rapt how she boxed on great and hit the line better than any of them i thought and like you said Andrew with no cover throughout. We were never going to beat the winner with the run we had but it'd be interesting how the finish would've ended up had we drawn a decent gate.

Judging how she hit the line she's definitely looking for further so at this stage we're looking at a 1500m race at the Valley in a couple weeks then there's talk of heading to Sydney which i'd love to do. She didn't handle the Valley at her only start there but we might just have to give her the run anyway to keep her fit for the races beyond that.

Hollow Bullet which Hiney mentioned did the Sydney trip after winning the Vanity a few years back coming 4th in the Coolmore and winning the Arrowfield then 4th in the Oaks. I'm not sure if Faith will follow the same path or if she's even up to it but Johnny is keen to get up to Sydney to have crack. If she's even half as good as HB then i'd be very very happy.

*Cheers again boys lets hope she can line our pockets ;-)

Last edited by a moderator: