Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Doueihi

Nutz

It's some sport isn't it. I love watching it but it's insane.
That's how I feel too.
It's the risk players undertake and I reckon nearly 100% of fans love the combative brutality of contact sport and we should promote it, and not restrict it too much.
Whilst we have come along in leaps and bounds as far as players welfare goes, I still feel really strongly about having a golf cart converted into a stretcher carrier. Total cost of cart, with all the fittings and fixtures such as oxygen bottle, and a heart start defibrillator ect would be under 20k.
It's a pretty good investment considering the duty of care that's required.

Certainly can’t begrudge players for earning as much as they can

I sort of do. I'm not someone who wants to be the richest or have too much stuff. I think they should do more to ensure players safety though.

I don't begrudge players earning a good income though. It's more the guys that try and screw over the club for every cent they can get.

Nutz

I don't begrudge players earning a good income though. It's more the guys that try and screw over the club for every cent they can get.
The amount of accountability, responsibility, and effort that a player demonstrates = $ imo.

Luai is trying, therefore he should succeed.

WA Tiger

That's how I feel too.
It's the risk players undertake and I reckon nearly 100% of fans love the combative brutality of contact sport and we should promote it, and not restrict it too much.
Whilst we have come along in leaps and bounds as far as players welfare goes, I still feel really strongly about having a golf cart converted into a stretcher carrier. Total cost of cart, with all the fittings and fixtures such as oxygen bottle, and a heart start defibrillator ect would be under 20k.
It's a pretty good investment considering the duty of care that's required.
I wonder if they asked if he wanted one.. He did look a bit groggy but he’s a tough c trust me.. He may have said no..only one of his arns was being assisted . The lady stood completely separate. He may have said something to that effect

Tiger Ted

I sort of do. I'm not someone who wants to be the richest or have too much stuff. I think they should do more to ensure players safety though.

The unscrupulous agents who are guilty of screwing clubs when taking adv of there powerful bargaining power esp re player contracts with weaker clubs are amongst the most overpaid grubs in society

Nutz

I wonder if they asked if he wanted one.. He did look a bit groggy but he’s a tough c trust me.. He may have said no..only one of his arns was being assisted . The lady stood completely separate. He may have said something to that effect
Yeh WA, I totally get that, but people who are kneed in the head like that can't make sensible decisions.
I think any player that lays prone on the ground for several minutes and in Disneyland gives ample time to see the video. From what I saw, it's a no brainer, excuse the pun. You don't move the guy.
It's also medical education.
Eg would you make a patient walk 50-100m if he has a heart rate of 200bpm (tachycardia)
Or if a bloke has a compound fracture like a snapped femur sticking out of his leg, would you make him walk.
Often, we place more emphasis on minor injuries while brushing over life threatening injuries.
The nrl should fit the bill for 20 medicabs, it's their game.
I'm tapping away getting obs done from my ambo and she said sign off, so I'm off 🥵

WA Tiger

Yeh WA, I totally get that, but people who are kneed in the head like that can't make sensible decisions.
I think any player that lays prone on the ground for several minutes and in Disneyland gives ample time to see the video. From what I saw, it's a no brainer, excuse the pun. You don't move the guy.
It's also medical education.
Eg would you make a patient walk 50-100m if he has a heart rate of 200bpm (tachycardia)
Or if a bloke has a compound fracture like a snapped femur sticking out of his leg, would you make him walk.
Often, we place more emphasis on minor injuries while brushing over life threatening injuries.
The nrl should fit the bill for 20 medicabs, it's their game.
I'm tapping away getting obs done from my ambo and she said sign off, so I'm off 🥵
Well he won’t be coming off on an e bike as from now on

gordsy

The unscrupulous agents who are guilty of screwing clubs when taking adv of there powerful bargaining power esp re player contracts with weaker clubs are amongst the most overpaid grubs in society
Agents are responsible for some of it but at the end of the day you're a man, so act like one.

Tiger Ted

Agents are responsible for some of it but at the end of the day you're a man, so act like one.
Many players couldn’t tie there shoelaces without instructions from the agent.They are beholden to the scum & unfortunately loyalty to ur junior club has been superseded by the life changing money players can earn & hence signing with the highest bidder.Additionally in the Pacific Islander communities the players have the obligation of financially assisting parents.Conversely I would’ve taken out a loan to pay Keith Barnes to allow me to play 1 game in the halves with the whiz at the 8th wonder in the 80’s.

WA Tiger

Many players couldn’t tie there shoelaces without instructions from the agent.They are beholden to the scum & unfortunately loyalty to ur junior club has been superseded by the life changing money players can earn & hence signing with the highest bidder.Additionally in the Pacific Islander communities the players have the obligation of financially assisting parents.Conversely I would’ve taken out a loan to pay Keith Barnes to allow me to play 1 game in the halves with the whiz at the 8th wonder in the 80’s.
Gary Freeman yeeeup! Skillfull Courageous and yap yap

Tiger Ted

Gary Freeman yeeeup! Skillfull Courageous and yap yap
The brilliant whiz was tough as teak & 1 heck of a competitor.He was 1 of my favourite players to have played for Balmain.I was livid when in ‘91 the lowlife shock jock coach who is currently holed up in the toaster building preferred his effeminate & pathetic rah-rah pet Brian Smith ahead of the whiz at halfback which ended up costing us the irreplaceable whiz who signed with the rorters for the ‘92 season.Unsurprisingly to everyone except the repugnant Balmain coach Whiz was the Dally M player of yr in ‘92.

Nutz

Vic has already posted this as a radio interview with AD on 2026 signings thread.
If he can repeat last years efforts, we will have a good chance at Top 8.
I think his main attribute by far is his competitiveness. He's too good a player to be left out of the 17. Now that Latu is still on the mend, ½ it is, a no brainer.
I think even if Latu was ready, AD would have got the gig. Apart from recovery from his surgery, he seemed to be still not ready.
Luai is a natural ⅝ and he'll stay there for stability. He's played with May and could be a a real lethal combo.....looking good!

WA Tiger

AD will be the key to our top 8 hopes this year. If he can stay on the field the sky is the absolute limit. He has EQUAL parts Leadership, Skill , on the spot inventiveness, courage and he will be someone the team can follow with just the right mix of fear and leadership. Luai has the leadership but weather it’s due to his street upbringing, childhood etc (although always respect for overcoming that) he’s got the resulting anxiety that you just can’t shake..
AD has the killer mix of having had an incredible (that we saw in the sheds) supporting family and ofcourse he’s a Leo tiger.(The apex of being a Boss).
Luai will be as happy as a pig in mud now AD’s got his hands on the wheel in the halves. With less of a load, a clear head and a new calm, Luai can return to his best with his ability to terrorise the opposition with the skill, courage and unpredictability, with his passing and kicking game and deft dummy’s that can confound, demoralise and ultimately break the opposition..
AD is maybe the most skillfull player we have. Luai for sure is thereabouts and when he’s on (as with AD) and clear headed can match AD for impact. This combo at 6 and 7 with a bit of luck could light up the sky, Literally. Then it’s a toss up for player of the year

AD will be the key to our top 8 hopes this year. If he can stay on the field the sky is the absolute limit.

Here is the thing. I was a massive fan of him and then he showed me the following points - slow lateral speed, poor decision making with the ball, awful defense, inconsistent application and big talking when he was underperforming.

Last year he was great but this guy has looked good and not delivered on so many occasions.

I can't rely on him.

Luai has played at all levels of the game and played great footy. Api has shown the ability to win games by himself.

I know you won't like the talking out of both sides of my mouth but AD was significantly better than both of our captains last season.

We need the entire spine to stand up this season. Bula has to prove he is elite. Api and Luai have to perform to their best which is elite level. AD or Latu or both have to step up.

We need every player contributing. If they do we can have a ripper of a season. If not we'll be lucky to make the 8.

WA Tiger

Here is the thing. I was a massive fan of him and then he showed me the following points - slow lateral speed, poor decision making with the ball, awful defense, inconsistent application and big talking when he was underperforming.

Last year he was great but this guy has looked good and not delivered on so many occasions.

I can't rely on him.

Luai has played at all levels of the game and played great footy. Api has shown the ability to win games by himself.

I know you won't like the talking out of both sides of my mouth but AD was significantly better than both of our captains last season.

We need the entire spine to stand up this season. Bula has to prove he is elite. Api and Luai have to perform to their best which is elite level. AD or Latu or both have to step up.

We need every player contributing. If they do we can have a ripper of a season. If not we'll be lucky to make the 8.
That’s cool. Posts for me are a signed document showing your knowledge and how you see the game/ players. It’s something one of us can look back on later and say “hang on what about when you said this”? That amuses me.