Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

DRAGONS team vs roosters

GT0007

Agree. Rein will find it hard tackling the Roosters pack for 80. prob would drop Harrison as I think Mathews offers far more. Runs harder with better lines and also has a decent offload. Not to mention can put on a hit :) Good to see Mary sticking with JDB at lock. He's been fantastic and definitely deserves a starting spot. Plus Mez will give us plenty of impact off the bench, unfortunately not for my SC team :( lol
Feeling more confident this time round against the Nick Politis's...

While Harrison has improved the last month I agree, he does run good lines but his work rate is too low. Given Merrin is 2nd in the tackle count every week and occasionally 1st he should start the game and Au Mau should come off the bench. Au Mau had a good game last week but if u want to reduce Reins workload Merrin has to start. I think Quinlan has been helping Rein from DH and can probably spend a bit more time there to give Rein recovery. I'm all for another hooker if he adds something but we just don't have that player in the club

Matthews is really stepping up and looking like an NRL player. JDB has been outstanding and IMO the best defender in the competition. Back to Rein on that point, he missed a tackle that caused a try but saved a few as well so while he's in the black with his try assist I agree with those thinking he's not what he should be I just disagree to the extent he gets bagged. He's still young and could end up a great hooker

GT0007

I'm of the opinion that this decides both teams years.
Roosters lose this and they are also-rans, finish 5-8, get smashed in a prelim.
We win and we finish 7th, have a spectacular finals run, get smashed in a prelim.
Again just my opinion.

I think everyone has to be careful not to read too much into a solitary game at this point in the year. We should expect to be competitive and have a good run home. If we win 1 of the next 2 that will ease some pressure but if we don't we can still come home off the back of the last 4 games that are winable. While I think we can win all of them u have to allow for losses and clearly u pick the top sides like Rorters and Penrith but we may jag 1 or 2 or those. The danger as always is losing the games we should win

BennyV

While Harrison has improved the last month I agree, he does run good lines but his work rate is too low. Given Merrin is 2nd in the tackle count every week and occasionally 1st he should start the game and Au Mau should come off the bench. Au Mau had a good game last week but if u want to reduce Reins workload Merrin has to start. I think Quinlan has been helping Rein from DH and can probably spend a bit more time there to give Rein recovery. I'm all for another hooker if he adds something but we just don't have that player in the club

Matthews is really stepping up and looking like an NRL player. JDB has been outstanding and IMO the best defender in the competition. Back to Rein on that point, he missed a tackle that caused a try but saved a few as well so while he's in the black with his try assist I agree with those thinking he's not what he should be I just disagree to the extent he gets bagged. He's still young and could end up a great hooker

You.would start Merrin over Ah Mau - meaning you'd want Merrin out on the right edge? No way dude, he is a middle player through and through. I've no issues with him coming off the bench, mainly because of the joint effect that he and Creagh have on the team, we pretty much need 1 of them on the field at all times.

I dont think Quinlan is close to being a dummy half ATM, he jumped in a few times on the weekend and the service was abysmal. Needs to work on that if hes going to play a role there. Rein may end up being a decent 1st grade hooker but there a lot for him to improve. I dont think hell be great. He definitely needs a backup off the bench, and I think that this weekend against the big Roosters pack, that will become obvious again.

I have a strange feeling that our forwards will lift for this one. Call it a hunch?

Gareth, Benji, BMoz, Nightie and a few others should be feeling pretty confident, or even a little bit exited given there recent form, and if that energy and belief carries over into the forwards, then I think the Dragons might just get a narrow victory over the much despised Rorters.

Dragons by 4.

rainman44

I think everyone has to be careful not to read too much into a solitary game at this point in the year. We should expect to be competitive and have a good run home. If we win 1 of the next 2 that will ease some pressure but if we don't we can still come home off the back of the last 4 games that are winable. While I think we can win all of them u have to allow for losses and clearly u pick the top sides like Rorters and Penrith but we may jag 1 or 2 or those. The danger as always is losing the games we should win
We have not beaten a top side all year and for us to think Mary can take us into the future he MUST beat the roosters minus sbw and aubuson and tupou otherwise what will change next year? Mary had the chance against Manly and know its the Roosters.

Jubileeboy

We have not beaten a top side all year and for us to think Mary can take us into the future he MUST beat the roosters minus sbw and aubuson and tupou otherwise what will change next year? Mary had the chance against Manly and know its the Roosters.

Probably could go into the 'Your pick for coach in 2015 argument with GT007, Willow and Godz' but I agree entirely with your thoughts mate.
These next two weeks are the test.

Get2dachopper!

If Mary limits Ah Mau's minutes on the right edge, and Beale can number up of SKD, we should go close to beating them.

I have been a huge critic of Ah Mau all year, although he did play okay last week. In saying that, he tires very quickly and easily falls off players. I'd be putting JDB on that right edge with Merrin back at lock. JDB will stiffen up the defence on that right edge. Ah Mau should be coming off the bench.

jenninga

This x 1000.
To seriously make a go for finals footy we need to win v Roosters and Penriff,then continue with strong performances.
It will give us a clearer indication in regards to Mary as a coach as the honeymoon period is over now.

jenninga

If Mary limits Ah Mau's minutes on the right edge, and Beale can number up of SKD, we should go close to beating them.

I have been a huge critic of Ah Mau all year, although he did play okay last week. In saying that, he tires very quickly and easily falls off players. I'd be putting JDB on that right edge with Merrin back at lock. JDB will stiffen up the defence on that right edge. Ah Mau should be coming off the bench.

To one minute only please.

I haven't been a critic,i just don't rate him as a first grader.May have mentioned that before,can't remember.

Dragonbaal

Watch the rorters win the penalties this week since mini-cello (aka the count) and robinson whinged about JWH being sin binned.

If I am not mistaken, they won the penalty count against us in the anzac day game after not winning one in the first 6 rounds or so

Slippery Morris

Middo gave an interesting stat last night. Saints have lost the last 4 against the Chooks....WOW. And who was coaching them for the 4 games again?

Saints use to have a great record against the Chooks before the last 4 games, he should have mentioned that stat because any stat regarding teh Saints that go back the last 2.5 years are irrelevant. Parra have a better record against the Saints in the last 2 years and they had 2 spoons in that period.

GT0007

Middo gave an interesting stat last night. Saints have lost the last 4 against the Chooks....WOW. And who was coaching them for the 4 games again?

Saints use to have a great record against the Chooks before the last 4 games, he should have mentioned that stat because any stat regarding teh Saints that go back the last 2.5 years are irrelevant. Parra have a better record against the Saints in the last 2 years and they had 2 spoons in that period.

Unfortunately we are stuck with some pretty bad stats under Price, I think it was 3 games now we have lost at Kogarah to nil when never before Price. That game against the Panthers where we were robbed 3 fair tries and got beat 19-0 was demoralising. I wish there was some way to wipe Prices record from our history books.

I think we'll go well against the chooks if we keep our error rate and penalties down

Damo!

Not really, it's always been a seesaw between us with the longest streak being 6 straight, during the Bennett days;

http://www.rugbyleagueproject.org/matches/Custom/OS0tLS0tLS0tLS0tMTEtLW4tLS0tLS0t

It's now been 4 in a row against, we are due!