Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons vs Manly Real Comparison

dougieswim

Last night was interesting to compare the two clubs as they stand. Both have won the premiership in the last two years, both to me, the most interesting thing was both clubs have new coaches that have taken over from "master coaches".

Both coaches were assistants and done exactly the same job of coaching on the field during the game as assistants.

Why club seems to be in a better position for the future though??

Bring back choc

Last night was interesting to compare the two clubs as they stand. Both have won the premiership in the last two years, both to me, the most interesting thing was both clubs have new coaches that have taken over from "master coaches".

Both coaches were assistants and done exactly the same job of coaching on the field during the game as assistants.

Why club seems to be in a better position for the future though??

Haha is this a joke?? Even Kleenex can't escape the true answer to this one.
The comparison is embarrassing for us. Manly were busted, tired from origin, missing Williams and matai and king and they were never really in doubt last night. They have strike all over the park. Big forwards, smart dummy half, creative backrowers that chime into the backline using quality ball skills, a world class fullback, form centre in the comp at the moment.. What else?? They've won more comps than us recently.

Oh and they have retained most of their squad.

As I said.. Comparison is embarrassing for saints.

dougieswim

I think Manly will go through what the dragons are experiencing this year with their older players in a couple of years time if they are not careful but they have made the clever signings of DCE and Foran for the future which will be a very big selling point for them in recruiting other players.

The Dragons are missing a combination atm to stand up and be that sellling point to others. Maybe Beale, Stanley and Rein or King could become that??

The comparison is embarrassing for us. Manly were busted, tired from origin, missing Williams and matai and king and they were never really in doubt last night. They have strike all over the park. Big forwards, smart dummy half, creative backrowers that chime into the backline using quality ball skills, a world class fullback, form centre in the comp at the moment.. What else?? They've won more comps than us recently.

That sums it up alreight.

hardbaby

I thought there was very little between the sides tonight. They won for two main reasons: the right side attacking edge (Stewart brothers and Lyon really exploited a lack of pace and lack of communication in our left side of Hornby, Cooper and Nightingale) and Foran's ability to force line drop-outs (a skill we seem to have lost). They built pressure and worked over a weakness. We didn't. But a good effort once again.

Absolutely.

Said this in other threads (unfortunately we have multiple threads being started with similar random thoughts):

The players are definitely trying their hearts out. But in many ways they made it hard on themselves.

Our repeats sets at the goal line were rare, while Manly were able to force repeats sets on us on numerous occasions. The majority of the game was played in our half with around 43% possession.

To put it simply, Manly beat us with their last tackle options close to the line. This allowed them to build the pressure and open up opportunities. Those opportunities created a hat trick of tries to Oldfield on Cooper/Hornby/Nightingale's side.

In any case, it was a big improvement on last week.

trudge

Style at right 5/8 and Chase at right centre could be Stewartesque in time.

For the 10 mins they played together in the Charity Shield there were a couple of backyard trick passes.

dougieswim

Absolutely.

Said this in other threads (unfortunately we have multiple threads being started with similar random thoughts):

The players are definitely trying their hearts out. But in many ways they made it hard on themselves.

Our repeats sets at the goal line were rare, while Manly were able to force repeats sets on us on numerous occasions. The majority of the game was played in our half with around 43% possession.

To put it simply, Manly beat us with their last tackle options close to the line. This allowed them to build the pressure and open up opportunities. Those opportunities created a hat trick of tries to Oldfield on Cooper/Hornby/Nightingale's side.

In any case, it was a big improvement on last week.
If you had understood the thread willow it wasn't based on last nights performance. It is about the situation both clubs are in at the moment for the future after winning a comp and changing coaches. Anyways didn't take long for you to once again have your little digs.

dragoncountry

you would need to compare them with us at this time last year, we had only lost 1 game i think going into origin, so we were miles ahead. unfortunately it was all down hill from there. manly will go through the same.( i hope)

If you had understood the thread willow it wasn't based on last nights performance. It is about the situation both clubs are in at the moment for the future after winning a comp and changing coaches. Anyways didn't take long for you to once again have your little digs.
Touchy little fella aren't you?

I know what the thread is about dougie. I was responding to hardbaby who was making a similar analysis. Is that OK with you?

TheRev

I think Manly will go through what the dragons are experiencing this year with their older players in a couple of years time if they are not careful but they have made the clever signings of DCE and Foran for the future which will be a very big selling point for them in recruiting other players.

The Dragons are missing a combination atm to stand up and be that sellling point to others. Maybe Beale, Stanley and Rein or King could become that??

How Manly managed to retain Foran & DCE, and possibly the Stewart Brothers and so on.. blows my mind.. thats 4 players who should be on about 600k+, maybe not quite that for Brett, but frankly Brett was the one who put on both tries last night to sink us.

dougieswim

Manly are about to dump a few though and bring some younger guys in. Watch for T-Rex, Kite, Rose to go in the very near future. They just lost a great young player to Penrith. Stewart bros aren't guaranteed to be at the club past their current contracts and will have to take the pay-cuts to do so.

Fire

f**k me, OP raises some interesting points. I never thought of me old China's Pricey and Tooves like that.

Don't get all the worry about the future though, the club is tip top shape, those who think different are f**ked in the head.

p.s. When Tooves has the earphones on they fair dinkum look like two neopolitan ice-cream containers on his head.

Fire

Have a f**ken sook ya f**ken sook!

64 Dragon

f**k me, OP raises some interesting points. I never thought of me old China's Pricey and Tooves like that.

Don't get all the worry about the future though, the club is tip top shape, those who think different are f**ked in the head.

p.s. When Tooves has the earphones on they fair dinkum look like two neopolitan ice-cream containers on his head.

Toovey at his best reminds me of Bellamy at his worst!

Fire

Very true. See him up at Brisbane throw the water bottle when they won, it's up there with Ricky punching his mate in Origin last year.

Give me cool customers like Bennett and Price any day.