Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dugan is our target for 2013

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/dragons-keeping-the-door-open-for-dugan-20111122-1nsyy.html
Dragons keeping the door open for Dugan

Michael Chammas

November 23, 2011

ipad-art-wide-jamie-20soward-420x0.jpg
Back into it … as Jamie Soward went through his paces. Photo: Orlando Chiodo
THEY don't have a regular fullback, and St George Illawarra may be contenders to secure Canberra superstar Josh Dugan when he comes off contract at the end of next season.
The Dragons are still privately seething over Tim Moltzen's decision to turn his back on the club to remain at the Wests Tigers, but it may well prove a blessing in disguise.
Moltzen's backflip, as well as Darius Boyd's defection to Newcastle and Mark Gasnier's premature retirement, have opened the door for the Dragons to make a huge play at Dugan for 2013. Dugan is not in a rush to sort out his future and is believed to be waiting for the new television deal before exploring his options.
Advertisement: Story continues below
art-353-trent-20merrin-200x0.jpg
Trent Merrin cools off. Photo: Orlando Chiodo
Dragons chief executive Peter Doust yesterday denied having already made contact with the NSW No. 1 but said it was an option the Dragons were keen to explore.
''A quality player like Josh Dugan, one would have to be considering him,'' Doust said. ''You would look to see if we can deliver to his expectations as well as him delivering to our expectations and fit within our Dragons plan.''
Wayne Bennett's successor, Steve Price, wasn't willing to look beyond next year but admitted a player of Dugan's talent would be of interest to the club. ''The Dragons footy club is always on the lookout for high-profile players and Josh Dugan is one hell of a player,'' Price said. ''You're always looking at players who have got the calibre to turn a game.''
art-353-josh-20dugan-200x0.jpg
Josh Dugan. Photo: Lannon Harley
If the NRL manages to strike up a television deal in excess of $1 billion, Dugan could become one of the highest-paid players in the competition, with several clubs set to join the race for his signature due to an expected salary cap increase. The Dragons aren't the only team the Raiders will be fighting off for their prize possession, with Sydney Roosters eyeing Dugan as a long-term replacement for veteran Anthony Minichiello.
Dugan is highly regarded among the seven Dragons he played with during State of Origin this year and wouldn't be short of friends if he was to jump ship to the joint venture, with former teammates Daniel Vidot - with whom he won an under-20s premiership in 2008 - and Josh Miller now in Wollongong.
Kyle Stanley, Jason Nightingale and Bronx Goodwin are in a three-way battle for the fullback position next year, with captain Ben Hornby declaring his days at the back are over at the Dragons' first training session of the new campaign in Wollongong yesterday. It emerged that Chase Stanley, Beau Scott and Vidot are the front-runners to replace Gasnier at right centre.
Price was quick to stamp his own identity on the team and step out of the shadow of Bennett. ''Wayne Bennett's going to go down as one of the greatest coaches in the history of rugby league, as we all know,'' Price said. ''I've got to be Steve Price. I can't be Wayne Bennett.''
Price shot down suggestions his hands-on role as a trainer had caused tension between him and some of the players. ''What happens on the field stays on the field,'' he said.
The Dragons are still working on a proposal to take legal action against the Wests Tigers and player manager Martin Tauber in the aftermath of the Moltzen saga.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...n-for-dugan-20111122-1nsyy.html#ixzz1eTjJwtMC

Minh

I think we'd be in a position to make a big play for a big name player in 2013 salary cap wise who knows they are not easy to come by. Hope we pursue Moltzen and his manager for compensation.

ShaiGuY

Lol - we've been linked with Brett Stewart, Billy Slater and Josh Dugan... who else is off contract? - Karmichael Hunt will be as well won't he??~~

gypsy

Lol - we've been linked with Brett Stewart, Billy Slater and Josh Dugan... who else is off contract? - Karmichael Hunt will be as well won't he??~~

Billy Slater? lol. Wouldn't count that one, I hear that journalist has since retired.

Slippery Morris

Wow Josh Dugan to Saints. That would be one of the best signings the Saints have made in 10 years. He is a freak and will fit in well at the Saints.

Slackboy72

Not convinced yet about Dugan. Yes he had a great 2010 but unless he can replicate that then he's a risky buy.

Bring back choc

Gypsy just stop tugging yourself off mate.This ain't about you believe it or not. Stop laughing at your f**king billy slater thread you wanker. Move on would ya!

Dugan is exactly who we need and I hope he in fact is out # 1 target.

RedVDave

Like I mentioned previously with Saints having a lot of spare money in the bank we will be linked to just about every player comming off contract.

st.phil

Dugan is the real deal and would be a good fit - couple canberra lads headed across of late...he's real "tight" w vidot and goodwin apparently (although i doubt bronx will be with us next year if he doesnt crack it) and it ain't that dramatic a move from Canberra to the Gong / southern Syd. Would prefer him to any fullback in the comp as of today - CHASE HIM DOWN!

RedVee

someone mentioned K'michael?
Heard that one a few weeks ago, filed it immediately into the round filing cabinet.

gypsy

Dugan is exactly who we need and I hope he in fact is out # 1 target.

That's actually the first thing you've ever said that shows signs of intelligence.
I get the feeling it was an accident though....champ!
Maybe we can have a word to him when you officially re-open the markets next year.

Ausguy

i think the next year would be wise to watch him regarding injuries, he sure is prone at the moment. great talent but geez he is soft.

gypsy

I think Ausguy means soft as in injury prone and unable to handle injury.

Injury prone and soft are two very different things. Seeing the way Dugan put his body on the line proves he's certainly not the latter of the two.