Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels 60th Birthday Presentation

Tyler Durden

club will must not promote game day events because this will attract noisy smelly footy people to the game. they will want to park in the leagues club car park. they might go into the leagues club before the game. they might even get the idea that it would be nice to go to the leagues club after the game, have a drink and a meal, and maybe come up with the ridiculous idea that they could actually meet the players after the match.:lol: :lol: :lol:

these noisy smelly people dressed in their footy jerseys will scare away all the good and decent people that come to our leagues club and donate their hard earned wages to our poker machines. these good and decent people might go to another place and never return in case they come across these footy fans in the leagues club. this will have a terrible impact on our profits:shock:

Hellsy

MarkInTheStands said:
As for Chaining Parra Power to win. I have already suggested that EGJ and either 3DG or Shinobi would be the best candidate to "Re-Record" Either Parra Power to win, or even more traditionally Click Go the Eels.

:LOL: :LOL:
Me thinks Shinobi mite be a bit too heavy for the footy song
:LOL: :LOL:

Eric and Dad would be a great idea though as they are part of the history and current future of Parra. I reckon Eric Snr would be chuffed at the idea, he is really into his music and has some new songs of his own as well. Like father, like son in the music talent... and on the footy field

Nikki

OHMIGOD!!! I'd love a Shinobi version.. Imagine all the oldies up in the stands when the first chords get strummed out on the guitar.. SWEET!!! Hahaha.. Or those kids with their Megaphone. I am still talking about them! Ha, Mum is sick of hearing it already.

MarkInTheStands said:
Same could be said for the events, So prove to them why you need it. Prove to them why the club is out of step.

they only have to go to Leichardt today to do that..they also should check out a Bulldogs and Souths home game.

MarkInTheStands said:
And why should it be open to the public. This is an event for them. For the Past players to get together and enjoy old camaraderies. How would you like the general public being invited to an old school reunion ?

Your not an ex player or coach of this club. You don't get in the Door. Even our Football manager can't get in the door. Playing for this club is an exclusive thing, and the club want to keep that exculsive club feeling in these events.

check out what happened at Leichardt today..I'm sure we could of done the same against the Sharks.

The ex players can have their get together and piss ups in private but it would of been nice to have paid tribute to Barry Rushworth in more detail in front of a home crowd.

fish eel

I agree the former players function should be a closed event.

It would be good however to seen some form of recognition at the game, even if just a video treatment.

eelavation said:
check out what happened at Leichardt today..I'm sure we could of done the same against the Sharks.

The ex players can have their get together and piss ups in private but it would of been nice to have paid tribute to Barry Rushworth in more detail in front of a home crowd.

You don't have to convince me of that, it is the club you have to convince and maybe the old timers themselves.

eelaholic

in the recent survey the club requested members to complete, I suggested tributes on game day to players, both past and present

hope it doesn't fall on deaf ears!

Captain BF

Having read a few of your posts, i agree that the function should be a closed event. I would love to go to one, but i have never played for the club (unfortunately).
I wonder though if it would be too much of an intrusion to get an interview with a few of the guys to be shown on the big screen at the next home game. I don't need to know the players life story, just what they are up to now, what it meant to them to play for Parra, there favourite team mate, or a favourite anecdote...stuff like that.
Perhaps also a group photo of everyone that could be taken in the middle of the function, after everyone is there and before everyone has had too many....

I used to love the Golden Oldies... they were all so funny! I have one on video that we bought from the club in the early nineties.... I may have to watch it tonight....
If i remember correctly, it was the one were John Kolc used a ladder to get on top of a scrum...

Hindyscrack said:
beleive it or not, signage isnt there for the benefit of the 10-20,000 spectators on the day

I understand that.
But, how many people watching the footy are going to see that sign when it is flashed up and think "Wow, I might go to the Leagues Club one day"? :roll:
Money is better spent in newspapers, advertising deals etc....
Maybe we get a discount, or maybe it's free, considering we are their only major tennant.

Nikki

Ok, back on the old timers theme.

Just watchin the Cowboys run onto the field and Bowman for his 200th game. It looked like what I assume to be old players lining the field as he ran on. Great stuff, and the fact that Bowman is the first to hit 200 is a great honour.

I still dont see why we cant have one game a year that we can remember our greats. They all get invited to the Ray Price Lounge, their only job of the day to form a guard of honour as the First Grade team runs out. Highlight packages can be shown on the big screen between games..

Hellsy

and the Golden Oldies! I luved that little game :LOL: :LOL: as BF said, Kolc used to run on top of the scrum :LOL: :LOL:

Nikki said:
Ok, back on the old timers theme.

Just watchin the Cowboys run onto the field and Bowman for his 200th game. It looked like what I assume to be old players lining the field as he ran on. Great stuff, and the fact that Bowman is the first to hit 200 is a great honour.

I still dont see why we cant have one game a year that we can remember our greats. They all get invited to the Ray Price Lounge, their only job of the day to form a guard of honour as the First Grade team runs out. Highlight packages can be shown on the big screen between games..

I agree Nikki.

Unfortunately, we ain't that proactive anymore.
I'd love to know who the over paid star is who is in charge of things like this??