Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels, Dogs fight over Keating

84 Baby

Oh and by the way at least Andrew Ryan can retire saying he won a comp.
That's why I don't think the Canterbury fans were punished enough.
The 2002 season lead up: Bulldogs fans - "Look how great we are, blah blah blah, we've won 18 of 20 games, your team is crap, blah blah blah"
After the rort is discovered: Bulldogs fans - "Youse are just jealous of how successful we are"
Every other NRL fan just points and laughs, couple of snide remarks. I guarantee the backlash towards the Bulldogs was no more than what everyone else copped in the 5 months leading to it.
Then after 2004: Bulldogs fans - "Look how great we are, blah blah blah, at least we won 2004"
No you weren't punished enough. Not the club, not the players and not the fans. Your 5 year old son was tormented. How much tormenting did he do in 2004, or you in 1995?
And on Pay, Dymock, Smith & McCracken, we wouldn't have signed them had you guys decided not to sell out. I must have missed Brisbane selling out in 2008 when you picked up Ennis, Eastwood, Stagg and Hannant. Every team signs players from other clubs, it makes the offseason more interesting, but Bulldogs buy more than anyone and had the audacity to claim they are bred not bought

Do you remember Pay,Dymock,McCracken,Jason Smith? Give us Mateo and we will call it even!! Oh and the coffs harbour scandal was a whole load of bs but hey ppl like you wouldn't understand.

Do you?? Or did your big brother tell you all about it.....

The Engineers Room

This will be an interesting year for our halves. We have Keating and Mortimer both off contract and unless Keating plays in the 7 and cements that spot I can't see both of them staying.

Let's also keep in mind that whatever the Dogs fine was, they probably saved in paycuts players agreed to to keep them under the cap from 2003 onwards. The Dogs were not punished enough as they were ultimately rewarded for rorting the cap 2 years later. The 2002 salary cap issue will go down as the biggest scandal in recent rugby league memory, and you Dog fans take pride in that because that's what most league fans are going to think of when they recall the Bulldogs of the noughties.

Great the club have picked up their act now, but for a club that once prided itself on players they developed itself, to simply headhunt established players from other clubs is going to draw criticism.

born an eel

that's my point, all the letters were there only shuffled around to disguise what was really going on, just as all the money was the same only shuffled around to.......#-oyou know what i meant :D

myeels1

its all apart of footy parra fans, suck it up
Mate your so called puppy dogs need to get there juniors sorted .Trying to buy premiership just like manly cant bring up your juniors have go and pinch over clubs juniors.Why dont you have some faith in your juniors like we do .:eek:

dogs4life

Mate your so called puppy dogs need to get there juniors sorted .Trying to buy premiership just like manly cant bring up your juniors have go and pinch over clubs juniors.Why dont you have some faith in your juniors like we do .:eek:

Our juniors are fine, for your information we won BOTH junior comps last year I guess it's just a pity they are too young to play first grade!!

84 Baby

Our juniors are fine, for your information we won BOTH junior comps last year I guess it's just a pity they are too young to play first grade!!
Bulldogs junior grades have always been near the top. The issue appears to be getting those "great" juniors to go onto play 1st grade. Parra, Saints, Newcastle never seem to have that issue. There's obviously a massive issue with the Bulldogs and Canterbury Juniors, probably akin to the one at Souths & Souths Juniors

born an eel

where is the incentive for the juniors when there club announces that they are chasing anyone that is coming off contract. They may be trying to up the contract price that we have to pay but how does this effect the kids waiting for their shot.

We have lost a few good juniors when they didn't feel they would get a shot at the NRL and I would imagine that would be the same for junior players at the dogs.

84 Baby

where is the incentive for the juniors when there club announces that they are chasing anyone that is coming off contract. They may be trying to up the contract price that we have to pay but how does this effect the kids waiting for their shot.

We have lost a few good juniors when they didn't feel they would get a shot at the NRL and I would imagine that would be the same for junior players at the dogs.
Agreed but how many junior bulldogs of recent years do you see playing for other NRL clubs?