Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels game.

So what about:
Wingers JP and Macdonald
Centres Lomax and Herbert

Now we have size, great footwork, lots more speed, good defence and great skills with the ball.
How about Wingers Lomax and JP
Centres McDonald and Mann
Now we still have all the ingredients you describe plus an accomplished centre pairing that has lots of FG experience.
Mann is wasted on the bench.

getsmarty

How about Wingers Lomax and JP
Centres McDonald and Mann
Now we still have all the ingredients you describe plus an accomplished centre pairing that has lots of FG experience.
Mann is wasted on the bench.

Lomax will end up being Right Centre...if we had a coach with any clue, that is where he would have already been tried/shadow training... In terms of talent, leaves Aitken for dead...

So just put Macdonald on the wing or Mann on the wing.

Mann oh Mann - the poor sod , one of our most gifted players and still cannot get a start .
I know that his previous game he made some mistakes but I put that down to not playing but warming the bench .

His confidence must be shot to pieces , if only the maestro would allow him a permanent position in the squad as he has done with Atkins I am sure that he would improve out of sight.

Back to the match , I believe that tonight we shall see a different performance from our boys and the Dragon forward pack will tear the Eels a new gas relief valve - big Red V by 4 ! :innocent:

Life's Good

No point debating who should & shouldn’t be in, it’s futile until we have a coach not in denial that we need an overhaul.
Anyway, I just hope we find some intent tonight because whilst other teams are building for finals footy, we look like we just want the season to be over.

Go Saints.

getsmarty

Mann oh Mann - the poor sod , one of our most gifted players and still cannot get a start .
I know that his previous game he made some mistakes but I put that done to not playing many games as other ha e done .

His confidence must be shot to pieces , if only the maestro would allow him a permanent position in the squad as he has done with Atkins I am sure that he would improve out of sight.

Back to the match , I believe that tonight we shall see a different performance from our boys and the Dragon forward pack will tear the Eels a new gas relief valve - big Red V by 4 ! :innocent:

Last time he gave Mann a permanent spot he ended up being leading try scorer for the season after only playing around half the games...But the coach had a light bulb moment ...play Mann in the forwards....LOL

Unbelievable stuff.

Lomax will end up being Right Centre...if we had a coach with any clue, that is where he would have already been tried/shadow training... In terms of talent, leaves Aitken for dead...

So just put Macdonald on the wing or Mann on the wing.
My reasoning is rather short term.
We are looking for an out of the box solution that will take us into the finals with at least a competitive 1-5
Next year we can take a different direction under a different coach hopefully.
At that point Lomax will have had some serious exposure to FG and right centre would be a good fit.
I agree that he has a lot more all round talent than Aitkin.

TruSaint

My reasoning is rather short term.
We are looking for an out of the box solution that will take us into the finals with at least a competitive 1-5
Next year we can take a different direction under a different coach hopefully.
At that point Lomax will have had some serious exposure to FG and right centre would be a good fit.
I agree that he has a lot more all round talent than Aitkin.

Your reasoning is fine mate.

Thing is we have a coach under contract ( I know thats means zip nowadays ), for next year. I cant see us sacking him.

This Year?

We should put 50 on the merkins but reality is Mary has caused our rep players to be run ragged. Add to that a few players that don't give a shit then you have what we will see tonight.

If we start the side to side crap from the start of the game it will drive me insane.

TruSaint

Eels playing ok of late.

Nothing to lose. Yep our players have been playing busted as you said, but I cant see a blow out.

I will be impressed if we can contain them to 12-14 points, which show that our defensive desire is back. That mindset has been missing.

Will be happy with a close win, will be extra happy keeping them to 1-2 tries ... Hot arvo out here at Homebush.. will be interesting to see what happens tonight.

This Year?

Eels playing ok of late.

Nothing to lose. Yep our players have been playing busted as you said, but I cant see a blow out.

I will be impressed if we can contain them to 12-14 points, which show that our defensive desire is back. That mindset has been missing.

Will be happy with a close win, will be extra happy keeping them to 1-2 tries ... Hot arvo out here at Homebush.. will be interesting to see what happens tonight.
It will be interesting. It's getting to the point where the penny has to drop sometime and today could see us slip out of the top 4. Surely they have something to play for after a great start to the season. It breaks my heart watching us squander another season so please wake the f**k up Saints and absolutely give it to em.

Life's Good

It will be interesting. It's getting to the point where the penny has to drop sometime and today could see us slip out of the top 4. Surely they have something to play for after a great start to the season. It breaks my heart watching us squander another season so please wake the f**k up Saints and absolutely give it to em.
The point about ‘....something to play for...’ is interesting.
Seeing that last year & this year we’ve had plenty to play for yet come up with snake eyes really makes me question how convinced the players are in Mary.
All well & good to say he’s a good man manager(not saying you are) but the facts are when it comes to the crunch we can’t deliver - Souths, Parra, Bulldogs last year, Warriors x 2, Tigers this year.
We’ve got the squad but not the smarts. Its almost like Mary can be bracketed with Stuart. Good coaching in patches but after a while the players switch off.

Last time he gave Mann a permanent spot he ended up being leading try scorer for the season after only playing around half the games...But the coach had a light bulb moment ...play Mann in the forwards....LOL

Unbelievable stuff.

That was indeed the case getsmarty , I do recall him scoring quite a few tries when he was on the wing . Took the ball well and showed a clean pair of heels, plus his defense was much better .

But unfortunately the maestro still cannnot see the benefits of having a player with those very skills that the team is in desperate need of at this time . It’s make or break now and that being the case the coach should be exploring all avenues to ensure a win .