That's fine, because I'll tell you anyway.
From left to right:
'Fantastic furniture'
'Human table'
'Head box'
'Humiliator'
'bartman'
That's fine, because I'll tell you anyway.
From left to right:
'Fantastic furniture'
'Human table'
'Head box'
'Humiliator'
'bartman'
Holden Cup Team of the Year:-
Fullback: Jack Ahearn (Canberra)
Wing: Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith)
Centre: Hymel Hunt (Gold Coast)
Centre: Charly Runciman (St George Illawarra)
Wing: Jonathon Reuben (Canberra)
Five-eighth: Samisoni Langi (Sydney Roosters)
Halfback: Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)
Prop: Matthew Lodge (Melbourne)
Hooker: Michael Lichaa (Cronulla)
Prop: Jake Trbojevic (Manly)
Second-Row: Bryce Cartwright (Penrith)
Second-Row: Corey Oates (Brisbane)
Lock: John Asiata (Sydney Roosters)
Interchange: Mitchell Cornish (Canberra)
Interchange: Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith)
Interchange: David Bhana (Warriors)
Interchange: Cameron McInnes (South Sydney)
Coach: Mick Mantelli (Canberra)
f**ken bullshit!!
What about Kelepi and Junior Paulo?
Is Hymel Hunt related to Karmichael? Surely there is only one set of parents in Australia that would name their kid Hymel or Karmichael?
John Folau
For what it's worth, Parramatta Eels fans, you don't deserve this. The rest of us may look like we're getting a jolly kick out of these unfortunate times, but no-one likes to see a motionless body on the canvas. Not for this long, anyway.
The truth is there aren't many clubs in this part of the world with fans as faithful as you folk. So it's almost criminal you've had to tear our what little hair you have left - particularly if you've been pulling it out since the 1980's.
But as we reach back-to-back Octobers where the imprint of a wooden spoon is slapped on your you-know-where, we'd like to leave you with this little tidbit: The Folau you have stashed in your under-20's side? He hates AFL. And isn't a fan of rugby, either.
It isn't much, but chew on that for a while and we'll see you, this Folau kid and that competitive coach you have there next March. John hasn't quite filled the giant 190-centimetre frame the way his brother did when he last played a real game of footy in 2010. Nor has he quite unleashed that trademark quantum leap that we all fondly remember 'Izzy' for. But It's understandable that the Folau genes run through the kid. As Brad Fittler kindly attested to earlier this year, 'Isreal 2.0' is sharper than his brother and is fairly agile for his size. And, just to reassure you, this Folau intends on sticking it out in rugby league.
"I've tried union. No good at it," says Folau.
And how are you with a Sherrin?
"I played a bit of it back in school. I probably played two weeks of it. It was fun, but I was hopeless. I probably made my team lose a lot. I don't think I'll be going back there again."
Not even for a truckload of dollars and 10 trips around the world?
"No way, I don't think I could do it."
Preparing to celebrate his 19th birthday in two weeks' time, John is saying all the right things Ricky Stuart and David Smith want to hear. While it's natural for some to think Folau may follow the trail blazed by his code-hopping brother, he has learnt from many of the adversities his older sibling has experienced throughout the past few years.
"We all grew up playing footy at a young age and we all loved playing with it. But seeing him go through what he did gave me the desire to set my own goals," he says.
"I don't really want to follow the exact same path as him. but I've decided to set my own goals and see if I can achieve them."
And what are those goals?
"I just want to play first grade, and be consistent at it," he says/ "The main thing that I learnt from him is that you have to be humble, stay level-headed and keep putting God first because He plays a big part in my life and in my family."
Who do you try to model your game on?
I looked up to Willie Tonga and Justin Hodges growing up. I loved watching them play and getting the chance to train with Willie has been exciting for me. He hasn't really been teaching me a lot, but just being on the same paddock as him has given me confidence.
What's training with first grade like?
I've only been training with them for the back-end of this year so I've only had a few sessions here and there but it's another step up and you learn heaps. They're more professional than in 20s, especially with little things like dropped balls. I'm not good at push-ups. But you've got to be hard on yourself, that's the only way to the top.
Since making your 20s debut, you haven't had many wins. How tough has that been on your development?
Yeah, we've had a bad year, and also last year. But the main thing is that the boys are learning every week. That's the main thing.
-Matt Enarnacion
IN THE NAME OF THE FATHER
Inspiration is close to home for young Eel Joseph Ualesi
By Matt Logue
Whenever life gets tough for Joseph Ualesi, he never needs to search far for inspiration. He only has to look at his father, Ken, who needs constant care after suffering a seizure, to keep things in perspective.
"That's why I'm trying my best with footy, to make it for my family," Ualesi tells RLW.
"My mum Pamata is a fulltime carer for my dad because he had a seizure. He just stays at the house and Mum cares for him. He can talk and stuff, but it's just hard for him."
"I was pretty young when it happened, so it has been tough. When I play, in the back of my mind I just want to do it for my dad.:
Ualesi (pronounced Wah-less-ee) has no doubt his father's plight has made him stronger, both as a person and footballer. This was especially the case as a teenage coming up through the grades at Parramatta, when he had to be independent enough to catch public transport to and from training from his home in Ingleburn in Sydney's South-West because no-one in his family had a driver's licence.
"I used to get home around 9pm every night, so it was pretty hard," he says. "I would catch the train with Vai Toutai because he lived in Campbelltown, but it was my only option because no-one drove it my family."
"I started doing that in Harold Matthews, but then in my first year of the 20's I got my P plates. It has paid off heaps not though."
Ualesi is now in his third and final year in the NYC competition and after recently signing a two-year contract extension at the Eels, will commence training with the full-time squad in November. And while Parramatta fans can be excused for feeling a bit disillusioned with their footy club this season, the rise of juniors like Ualesi is certainly cause for optimism. Club insiders reckon the ball-playing lock has all the skills to go on and enjoy a long and successful career in the NRL.
"Joseph has got a lot of potential," Eels coach Andrew Webster says. "The current juniors and talent pool that we've got at Parramatta is fantastic. Joseph is just an example of how important they are and the club's goal is to have these guys playing first grade one day...and being good once they get there."
"He has a great ability to offload the ball and he probably hits harder than most blokes in our team."
Ualesi is one of the most experienced players in the Eels' NYC side and it's why Webster appointed the 19-year-old captain this season.
"Joseph has been consistent this year and really helped the team and been a leader," he explains. "He doesn't say a big speech, he doesn't talk much - he likes to lead by his actions rather than what he says."
"There have been some games this year where he has taken the game by the scruff of the neck and really put us in a situation to win. He runs hard, tackles hard and has got great hands. A lot of people probably don't realise he can pass short, out the back, he makes good decisions with the ball and has got a great offload."
"He reminds me a bit of Joesph Paulo...but he carries the ball like Junior Paulo, too. He is a combination of being really aggressive in his carries and having the ability to offload and be skillful."
"He has got all the tools, he just needs to remain more consistent and I'm sure that will come.'
In your opinion, what's the difference between a lock and a front rower?
How do you feel about the fact that McGill started the game on the bench, with number 8 Winstone Asotasi shifting to lock?
Mate, I don't have an opinion. I'm not a sharks fan, just turned the tele on and noticed Chad playing for the sharks.
Do you believe my comments about the difference between a prop and a lock in the modern game are wrong?
You saw McGill in jersey 13 and assumed he was playing lock?
I reckon your comments are spot on, as far as some props and some locks are concerned. To be honest I think 'prop' and 'lock' are redundant terms these days. I think there are a few different types of tight forwards in the game and different teams use different combinations of those types.
Plenty of teams only use one 'prop', for example.
Agree.
Chad did play as a loosie today, whereas; Parra seem to play him tight.